We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem in Manuel Antonio” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Plaza Yara

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Plaza Yara to your Saves list
Hotel Plaza Yara
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio National Park 322-6350, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
SPECIAL OFFER!!!
Paris, France
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A gem in Manuel Antonio”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed here 2 times during our recent trip to Costa Rica.
The rooms were enormously stylishly decorated with a little kitchenette. The bathroom was tip top with a walk-in shower.
Everything was very clean and outside the windows (or balcony) you could sometimes watch travelling monkeys.
The staff was very nice and helpful.

This was by far the best hotel (of many) we stayed at in CR. It's located near Quepos (5 mins) and the beaches and Manuel Antonio national park (10 mins) with the frequent bus.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    349
    101
    18
    1
    1
See reviews for
95
243
25
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at the Plaza Yara in December. The hotel is immaculate and the rooms were huge. We had a newly decorated one which opened out onto the pool, it was lovely. Very clean rooms,bathroom & communal areas. The staff at Plaza Yara are exceptionally friendly and helpful and the breakfast were great. Would recommend having a vehicle though as not walking distance to restaurants and bars.

Room Tip: Ask for the pool room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

One of our best Hotels in Costa Rica, the rooms were clean, had everything you need (AC, fridge, coffee machine...) and last but least we had big windows with a beautiful view in the dschungle. Especially Javier from the office was very helpful - Special thanks to him!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stumbled upon this little gem while traveling the country on our recent honeymoon. We had the sweetest junior suite with a jungle view and, the best part, it was only $75/night during the high season! The staff was amazing. The art gallery was full of beautiful paintings done by a local artist. The national park is only about 5-10 minutes away as is the public beach. We have this on our list of "must revisit" hotels.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

The location of this small hotel was perfect and mid-way between town and the beaches of Manuel Antonio. The rooms were spacious and the prices were a deal. The breakfasts were delicious and fulfilling with fresh ingredients and were perfect on the back veranda overlooking the rain forest. The staff were friendly, hospitable and definitely helpful suggesting activities and things only the locals might know about. Many thanks especially to Javier who gave us the best tips for beaches, restaurants and local customs.

Room Tip: spend the little extra money and get a large suite. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

WOW! We stayed here Dec 4 - Dec 7 of 2012. Our room was only 100 sq ft smaller than our house, about 720 sq ft. It was very clean. The bathroom was clean and had lots of room. Loved the walk in shower. The breakfasts were great. Location is between Quepos and Manuel Antonio Park.
The service was friendly and excellent. We will be staying here again on our next trip.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We spent four days at Hotel Plaza Yara at the end of November. The staff is wonderful. They are extremely helpful and friendly. The hotel is very conveniently located. It's easy and cheap to take the bus to the beach, Manuel Antonio Park, or into Quepos. The beach and park area can get very crowded with tourists. There is a very nice supermarket a short bus or car ride toward the beach. The hotel's room rates are very reasonable for the size of the room, the great breakfast, and the location. One morning, a troop of monos carablanca (white faced monkeys) visited us. You can see all kinds of critters and birds from the covered veranda. The rooms and bathrooms are very clean. The property is well tended. There is a cute pool behind the hotel. The pizza joint located in the hotel is good. Next door is a bar/restaurant called Salt and is owned by John from Brooklyn. Fun place. Lots of other restaurants and clubs located near the beach. It was a fun little trip ... not the easiest place to get to from Philadelphia. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are nice and quiet, shielded from the street noise because of the enclosed exterior...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel Costa Verde
Hotel Costa Verde
#19 of 49 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 1,035 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#4 of 49 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 stars 1,022 reviews
1.2 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#7 of 49 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Condotel Las Cascadas
Condotel Las Cascadas
#17 of 49 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 320 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel La Mariposa
Hotel La Mariposa
#12 of 49 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 934 reviews
1.3 mi away
La Mansion Inn
La Mansion Inn
#11 of 49 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza Yara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza Yara

Address: Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio National Park 322-6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 49 Hotels in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Plaza Yara 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Plaza Yara is located only five minutes to Manuel Antonio National Park. Hotel Plaza Yara offers all suites feature custom made bamboo furniture,queen size beds,kichenettes and spacious baths. relax on the balcony and enjoy the jungle views with variety of wildlife with passes daily including monkeys,sloths,iguanas and exotic birds. Hotel Plaza Yara offers the possibility for you to enjoy your stay in comfort,casual elegance and in tune with nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Plaza Yara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Plaza Yara Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Plaza Yara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.