We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Private, clean, affordable, and oh so lovely!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Plaza Yara

Save Saved
You added Hotel Plaza Yara to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Plaza Yara
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio National Park 322-6350, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Private, clean, affordable, and oh so lovely!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stumbled upon this little gem while traveling the country on our recent honeymoon. We had the sweetest junior suite with a jungle view and, the best part, it was only $75/night during the high season! The staff was amazing. The art gallery was full of beautiful paintings done by a local artist. The national park is only about 5-10 minutes away as is the public beach. We have this on our list of "must revisit" hotels.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    253
    80
    13
    1
    1
See reviews for
68
182
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

The location of this small hotel was perfect and mid-way between town and the beaches of Manuel Antonio. The rooms were spacious and the prices were a deal. The breakfasts were delicious and fulfilling with fresh ingredients and were perfect on the back veranda overlooking the rain forest. The staff were friendly, hospitable and definitely helpful suggesting activities and things only the locals might know about. Many thanks especially to Javier who gave us the best tips for beaches, restaurants and local customs.

Room Tip: spend the little extra money and get a large suite. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

WOW! We stayed here Dec 4 - Dec 7 of 2012. Our room was only 100 sq ft smaller than our house, about 720 sq ft. It was very clean. The bathroom was clean and had lots of room. Loved the walk in shower. The breakfasts were great. Location is between Quepos and Manuel Antonio Park.
The service was friendly and excellent. We will be staying here again on our next trip.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We spent four days at Hotel Plaza Yara at the end of November. The staff is wonderful. They are extremely helpful and friendly. The hotel is very conveniently located. It's easy and cheap to take the bus to the beach, Manuel Antonio Park, or into Quepos. The beach and park area can get very crowded with tourists. There is a very nice supermarket a short bus or car ride toward the beach. The hotel's room rates are very reasonable for the size of the room, the great breakfast, and the location. One morning, a troop of monos carablanca (white faced monkeys) visited us. You can see all kinds of critters and birds from the covered veranda. The rooms and bathrooms are very clean. The property is well tended. There is a cute pool behind the hotel. The pizza joint located in the hotel is good. Next door is a bar/restaurant called Salt and is owned by John from Brooklyn. Fun place. Lots of other restaurants and clubs located near the beach. It was a fun little trip ... not the easiest place to get to from Philadelphia. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are nice and quiet, shielded from the street noise because of the enclosed exterior...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pedro, Costa Rica
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

What a nice place! We really enjoyed our time there...just far enough from the craziness of central Quepos and Manuel Antonio, and yet close enough to be convenient. We loved the spacious room, the amazing bathroom and shower, and the comfortable bed. We also enjoyed having a mini kitchen that actually had a full size coffee maker with plenty of coffee, sugar, and cream...not just those little packets that hardly make a full cup each for two.
We would DEFINITELY return. The breakfast was wonderful, the cost was reasonable, and the overall service was very good. Our only disappointment was the overpriced pizza at the pizza restaurant in the same plaza. However, the other restaurant named "Salt" was very good, and they give hotel guests a discount. Can't wait until our next trip back.

Room Tip: Not sure if all rooms are the same, but the shower in #7 is amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

My husband, I, and our 3 kids are from California and were looking for a nice place to travel to during Thanksgiving week. We arrived to Plaza Yara on November 22 (2012) and stayed for 3 nights. Javier accepted us with a big smile on his face and took us to our room. He made sure that we have everything we needed in the room and was extremely nice to us. The room was so beautiful and really exceeded our expectations. It was very spacious, very clean, and very well designed. Breakfast is served in the hotel outdoor dining room which looks like a big beautiful porch in the Jungle. They have 3 options for breakfast all of which are very good. I personally liked the fruits with the granola and yogurt. Their coffee is very tasty and they serve toasts with butter and hot or cold milk chocolate to the children. Jonathan, the guy who was in charge of the dining room provided us with an EXCELLENT service. What a nice guy!! He was always there to make sure we are satisfied and if we asked something we would get it right away.
Before arriving to the hotel I wasn’t sure that we made the right decision. I have to admit that we are quite spoiled and have very high standards when it comes to choosing a hotel. two days before we arrived to Manuel Antonio, I emailed the Plaza Yara guys and told them that we might stay for one night only (instead of the 3 we reserved). However, after spending one night there, and experiencing this magnificent hotel we didn’t want to leave. I haven’t checked the other hotels in Manuel Antonio, but from what I saw, I think that Plaza Yara is way more luxurious and pampering than how it might look on the internet. Additionally, the beaches are only 5-7 minutes drive from the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I stayed in may 2011. What a great place to stay!! worth every penny!! The accomodations were wonderful. The rooms are very spacious with a little kitchenette. They are also very clean and the outside covered balcony was so calm and relaxing. What a beautiful place! The breakfast brought to you in the morning is delicious and just great. the location is also great because youre only a short bus ride away from all the action. or you can even walk! Also, Nelson was always sooooo helpful! I would definitely stay there the next time I visit. Great place!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Plaza Yara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza Yara

Address: Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio National Park 322-6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 48 hotels in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Plaza Yara 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Plaza Yara is located only five minutes to Manuel Antonio National Park. Hotel Plaza Yara offers all suites feature custom made bamboo furniture,queen size beds,kichenettes and spacious baths. relax on the balcony and enjoy the jungle views with variety of wildlife with passes daily including monkeys,sloths,iguanas and exotic birds. Hotel Plaza Yara offers the possibility for you to enjoy your stay in comfort,casual elegance and in tune with nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Plaza Yara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Plaza Yara Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Plaza Yara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.