We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Plaza Yara

Save Saved
You added Hotel Plaza Yara to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Plaza Yara
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio National Park 322-6350, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
De Lutte, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

During our five weeks stay in Costa Rica visiting our children, we made a trip to Manuel Antonio National Park. We stayed in the Plaza Yara hotel about 4 km from the park entrance. Nelson, the very friendly general manager offered us a big room at Plaza Yara II. Altough everything was new and nicely decorated there was no balcony. After bringing that up Nelson gave us another large room directly at the pool area with a nice view into the forest were a sloth was in a tree.
Staying here for four nights we can highly recommend this hotel. Perfect location, very good service, three choices breakfast, clean and daily well treated room.
Situated between Quepos and Manuel Antonio, Plaza Yara is the place to start your visit to the national park and several beautiful beaches. We will come again.

Room Tip: Ask for the room directly at the pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    253
    80
    13
    1
    1
See reviews for
68
182
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

I went on a girls trip and we stayed here for 4 nights. It is a beautiful hotel with fantastic staff and the bus line to the beach is right down the block.

It's not walkable to the beach which at first we didn't like but then we quickly realized that he beach at Manuel Antonio is horribly touristy. So we were very happy that it was a little ways from the beach. It was easy to get there and was only 50cents to ride each way.

Hotel has beautiful jewelry and art to purchase and was clean and had breakfast included!

Great find!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atenas, Costa Rica
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I recently took a job in Costa Rica and moved here from the States. I was interested in visiting Manuel Antonio so I could familiarize myself with the area before bringing friends and family down for a visit. I booked Plaza Yara based on the reviews and the price (I am on a budget!). I must say, it FAR EXCEEDED my expectations! The rooms are HUGE and very clean. The bathroom had a shower that could have fit 4 people in it! The property was well maintained, compared to others along the road (from Quepos to Manuel Antonio). Breakfast was standard, but it was included with the room rate! The view from the dining area was beautiful.

The staff at Plaza Yara were very helpful! It was my birthday when I checked in and they remembered to wish me a Happy Birthday. I would absolutely bring friends and family to stay here. It is a real gem! Can't beat the price, either!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights during our whirlwind tour of Costa Rica. Overall, it was a very nice hotel & exceptional value.

Pros:
The rooms are huge and lovely. The bathrooms are as well.
Good location between Manuel Antonio and Quepos. (sorry, no ocean view, but the back of the hotel is right against the forest and you're sure to see wildlife).
SUPER friendly and helpful staff.
Good food.
Price is right.

Cons:
Bed was a little too soft/squeaky.
We saw quite a few ants in our room. Not a huge deal, and fairly understandable given that it's right next to the jungle. But, worth noting nonetheless.

Overall, a great place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Thomas, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

If you need a comfortable place to stay, great service and an awesome breakfast this is your place! The room was big and comfortable, the shower was really cool, you have 3 choices for breakfast, American, Typical and fruit and yogurt. Jonathan and Javier working the front desks were very helpful, knowledgeable and friendly. We were close to the top of the mountain but within a very short driving distance to Manuel Antonio National Park and to Quepos. There was a nice pool but we didn't get time to use it. Highly recommend staying here if you are in Manuel Antonio.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor, end room, can't comment on any other rooms, there was alot of traff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We had an incredible stay at Plaza Yara! My boyfriend and I stayed here for 2 nights in July 2012, and it was the highlight of our trip to Costa Rica. First of all, it's true - the rooms are HUGE and BEAUTIFUL! Tons of space, very comfortable beds, sleek bathrooms with a large shower, and a kitchenette with complementary coffee, tea, and popcorn! The service was wonderful - Javier and Jonathan are both as charming and helpful as all the reviews say. They provided excellent advice, gave us great recommendations (and directions!), and were so helpful with everything from carrying our luggage to calling restaurants in Spanish for us.

The hotel itself is also beautiful. There is an art gallery next to reception with some stunning work by local artists, a pizza restaurant, that will deliver to the room and a very cute pool! (The pool is small, but clean and nice.) Breakfast was delicious, and served on a beautiful patio overlooking the jungle. Breakfast is made to order and there is a choice of eggs/rice/beans, eggs/bacon, or fruit/yogurt, all served with coffee, tea, fruit, and pastries.

Finally, the hotel is in a prime location, situated on the road between Manuel Antonio and Quepos. It's very quiet and in a beautiful location, with views of the jungle. The bus between Manuel Antonio and Quepos stops right next to the hotel, or a cab will cost $4-6 to Quepos, and maybe $8-10 to Manuel Antonio (although we just took the bus). We are so glad we stayed here, as opposed to a hotel in Quepos (not as nice or spacious) or closer to the park (too commercial). We are still raving about Plaza Yara! I really can't say enough good things about this hotel - we only regret we didn't stay longer!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nelsonmonge, General Manager at Hotel Plaza Yara, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Greetings from Manuel Antonio.Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel and for your kind words and compliments.Our staff always gives the best to make our guests stay as pleasant as possible.We will let them know about your review and attach a copy to their files.They will appreciate it as much as we do.We are so glad you enjoyed our facilities,our breakfast sorrounded by the forest and our costa rican artist collection displayed in our art gallery.
Would be a pleasure to welcoming you to Costa Rica again!!!
Saludos y PURA VIDA!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

My wife and I stopped here for one night while travelling between Monteverde and Corcovado. We arrived just as it was getting dark. We parked, and I walked to reception to check in. Javier was at the desk, and offered to help bring in our luggage.
I have a neurological condition that makes me quite unsteady, and while walking to the car, I fell down hard and hurt myself a bit. He helped me up, told me to go back to reception, and helped get all of our luggage into the hotel. He also showed my wife how to set the bright head lights so they would stay on. The manual was all in Spanish and we had not been able to find or decipher this.
My wife was looking for a store where we could get a sloth t-shirt as a gift for our son, and he called around and found one for us. We asked if he knew of the details of getting checked in for a boat ride to Drake's Bay from Sierpe as well as arrange for parking. He contacted a friend who provided this information. Because their restaurant was closed for renovation, he made recommendations for local eating establishment after asking what type of food we would like to eat. Javier's thorough helpfulness made us very glad that we stayed here.
The room was very large and included a comfortable bed, a small refrigerator and microwave, a balcony with a view of the jungle, and a safe. The air conditioning was very effective, and the bathroom was well stocked.
Breakfast was served on a covered patio overlooking the jungle behind the hotel. They offered 3 breakfasts: typical Costa Rican, American, and fruit/yoghurt. Those that we ate were good.
Though we only stayed one night, this seems to be a great place to stay, about halfway between Quepos and Manuel Antonio beach.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Plaza Yara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza Yara

Address: Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio National Park 322-6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 48 hotels in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Plaza Yara 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Plaza Yara is located only five minutes to Manuel Antonio National Park. Hotel Plaza Yara offers all suites feature custom made bamboo furniture,queen size beds,kichenettes and spacious baths. relax on the balcony and enjoy the jungle views with variety of wildlife with passes daily including monkeys,sloths,iguanas and exotic birds. Hotel Plaza Yara offers the possibility for you to enjoy your stay in comfort,casual elegance and in tune with nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Plaza Yara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Plaza Yara Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Plaza Yara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.