We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barba Roja Restaurant

Barba Roja Restaurant
100 meters north of Hotel Villas el Parque, Manuel Antonio National Park 6061, Costa Rica
506-2777-0331
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $5 - $38
Cuisines: American, Sushi, Seafood, Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Scenic view, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: A Manuel Antonio tradition since 1975, Barba Roja Restaurante is the local hangout, as well as the best sunset view in the area. Open for lunch and dinner, 7 days a week. Please join us for Happy Hour every day from 4-6. Every Tuesday and Friday we have live music, Wednesday is ladies night and karaoke. Enjoy our 5 big screens every day with your favorite sports programming. We offer a variety of cuisines from around the world at good prices.
Wichita, Kansas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Loved it!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

I only wish we would have discovered this place sooner. We probably would have eaten here every night. The food was amazing and service just as good. we ate here the last 2 nights of our trip and both nights they had really good specials. Makes me hungry thinking about it!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    234
    158
    39
    19
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sparta, New Jersey
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“One of the more lively places to visit and eat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We've visited several restaurants prior to Barba Roja and most were moderately to completely busy, but Barba Roja had more a jovial atmosphere to it and quite a few patrons at the bar. I guess anything with a Pirate Theme has to be fun! We visited after sunset but it appears the location is perfect to savor them (and Happy Hour runs from 2PM to 6PM so you can drink up while you await it). Since it was dark, we did have some difficulty reading their menus, black text on a gray background, so if you don't have the best eyesight bring along a flashlight! William, our waiter, was very polite and attentive and in CR style not on top of you at every moment. When I asked about how good the night's Rib Special was, he insisted he go get a piece of the wood used to smoke the ribs so we can take in the aroma of the wood (very much like cinnamon!). They serve sushi too and according to the folks at the table next door, it was good. Overall, worth a try!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trumansburg, NY
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great Sunset -- Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

This may be the best place to see the sunset in Manuel Antonio. We saw 3 sunsets from this restaurant and had two meals here. On Friday nights they have barbq which was excellent. My wife had the hamburger which was also excellent. Portion side here is huge. Happily we had access to a fridge so we took half of each meal home.

Our second meal here we tried smaller dishes I had the beef lollipops (beef wrapped around bread sticks) and the eggplant. Both excellent.

The service was superb and friendly.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A great surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

Short menu = fresh food! . Excellent service and beautiful view of the sunset! Drinks are a little expensive but you can go to the happy hour. Great atmosphere on tuesday (live band). Would defenitively go back.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
“Still great?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Great to still see the good reviews, I was here about 25 years ago and it was great then. We ate there two nights in a row because it was so good, and I ordered the same plate, tuna steak and pecan pie for dessert, still the best I have ever had till this day.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barba Roja Restaurant also viewed

Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Barba Roja Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barba Roja Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.