We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just loved it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio

Save Saved
You added Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotels.com Expedia.com
and 4 more sites!
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Mtr Sur de Si Como No, Manuel Antonio National Park 94-6350, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Dusseldorf, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“just loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

the hotel is directly on the main road to the nationalpark but once you enter the open complex it is very quiet. between the different parts of the hotel they arranged a beautiful garden, where you see tucans, monkeys, frogs (those you hear mostly) and there is a nice poolarea as well as a good restaurant. the staff was so very friendly and helpful and always very eager to make your stay as comfortable as possible.
the rooms are spectacular! lots of space and nicely arranged!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    421
    119
    25
    6
    3
See reviews for
127
330
13
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

The Falls is one of those places you might not notice as you pass down the street. But once you enter, you'll be glad you did. Its one of those places that truly accomplishes comfortable luxury.

The room groupings are spaced out well to increase a feeling of solitude. Our room was generously sized for a "standard room" with a patio, hammock, large shower, tv/dvd, queen bed, safe, and our favorite item - a dehumidifier! That dehumidifier was a great perk that our other resort did not offer. It was really helpful considering all our rain soaked clothes from hikes during our stay in Arenal. The furnishings in the room were well chosen to really give a sense of luxury. Definitely a nice touch.

The grounds are comprised of a beautiful jungle garden where a number of animals and birds may visit. Sitting at our room's patio felt peaceful and secluded from the developed road outside which leads to Manuel Antonio. There is a little walkway that connects all the rooms while meandering through the garden. A central feature is a series of waterfalls - although they were not operating when we were there. The hotel booklet indicated that they are scheduled for renovation soon.

One of the best perks is the restaurant. We would have eaten there every night had we not wanted to get out and explore the area. In my opinion, it was the best food in the area. Granted, we didn't visit the most expensive restaurants. The chef can often be seen on the dining floor. If you see him, be sure to ask about his favorite dishes. The menu rotates often, so he has many off menu items and can usually make any recent special for a custom order. At night, the surrounding jungle and table appointments make for a rather intimate setting.

The Falls is located within close walking distance of anything you need - even Manuel Antonio. You can also take a bus for 50 cents each way. There is a bus stop just out front. We chose to walk to the beach/park then take the bus back to save energy walking up the hill. Otherwise, we walked to all the restaurants and shopping we visited. Transportation will likely be needed for nearby excursions, but some include it.

Service was very helpful and friendly as the Costa Rican culture seems to be. They were happy to help with recommendations for restaurants, activities, transportation, reservations, etc. The smaller size of the resort means you may get to know the names of the staff or other guests if you want. You may even see an owner as they seem to be often around and very involved.

There's a high level of attention to detail throughout this resort. Its definitely a place we would go return to and recommend.

Room Tip: Standard rooms have a one person hammock and may be more tucked away. Rain storms may be louder in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

The Falls Resort was clean and had a great breakfast and wifi. It was convenient to walking to some of the highly rated restaurants we wanted to try. (Be careful walking on the road though). We had a little sitting area in front of the room where we could leave our bathing suits to dry. The grounds are nice. The pool is small but it looked like the kids enjoyed it. There wasn't anything that I didn't like about it, but it didn't "wow" me. It is a good, solid, reliable choice for Manuel Antonio.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

This hotel is surrounded by the jungle, it is a perfect place to spend your vacationhere. In the morning you can see a lot of wildlife in front of your cabina and hear the howling of the howler monkeys.. The service was great, the cabinas very clean, and the workers very friendly. I would stay here again....

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed 4 nights at the Falls Resort at the end of Oct early Nov. We loved the spacious rooms and found them quite unique. They were very clean and private (didn't hear our neighbors). It's not a "Resort" in the way I had come to define resorts. It's a smaller, quaint and beautiful piece of property with the rooms tucked into the lush rainforest gardens. The staff is friendly, knowledgable, and very helpful. I can tell they are well taken care of and respected by the owners. They helped coordinate our activities and made sure to come get us when our transporation arrived. Inquire about zip-lining, it was fabulous. Nicely located between Manuel Antonio and Quepos. ATM and bus stop close by.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, New Jersey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We (thankfully) stumbled on the Falls by word of mouth and BOY, were we pleased. The owner Scott does an incredible job of keeping this garden oasis picture perfect. From the moment we arrived, Joanna was very accommodating to our needs by providing us with the perfect room. We shared the 3 bedroom apartment, which was awesome. It was like our own little hideaway. It never even felt like a hotel! As soon as we settled in, Ricardo and Scott had us sample some appetizers and drinks. Rarely do you see the owner of establishments mingling with the guests and going out of their way to make your stay enjoyable. We saw Scott all the time and he was always incredibly engaging. Ricardo is such a hard worker- I don't think he ever sat still. From serving food, to bartending, to cleaning the dining room- he is such an asset. We dined in the restaurant for dinner and the complimentary breakfast. I have never seen a complimentary breakfast quite like this one- we all left feeling completely stuffed and satisfied. Beyond the service though, was the sheer beauty of this property. We felt like we were in another world. We went swimming in the up-lit pool at night and were completely relaxed. There was a little bar crowd that night too so it added some fun to the mix. Just walking around you can see a million plants and trees along with the jungle inhabitants like lizards and frogs. I am so grateful that we stumbled upon the Falls. It was such a unique property that set the tone for an amazing trip.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We spent 4 nights at The Falls and we loved every moment of it! Positioned on the mountain just a short bus ride to the National Park we found thr gardens very tranquil we didn't worry about not having sea views.

The pool is small but very relaxing, just near the bar and surrounding by lush rsinforest gardens and plenty of wildlife. We were fortunate enough to see monkeys snd lizards in the hotel grounds -even a little porcupine tuvked up in the rafters of our balcony on the morning we had to leave.

The room was huge (we had one of the larger rooms up the stairs which go up from the restaurant) with lovely decor and was always bery clean. Air con, fan, mozzy net - we slept perfectly each night.

Big thanks to the staff who were fantastic, oh and do yourself a favour and get one of the in house massages!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio

Also Known As:
Falls Resort At Manuel Antonio Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Falls Resort At Manuel Antonio Hotel
Falls Hotel At Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort At Manuel Antonio Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park
Address: 50 Mtr Sur de Si Como No, Manuel Antonio National Park 94-6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 48 hotels in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica is an amazingly beautiful and tranquil garden and waterfall setting within walking distance of this famous little town's best restaurants and gorgeous beaches. White faced capuchins, sloths, toucans, and the endangered mono titi monkeys frequent the trees overhead, while blue iridescent morpho butterflies and hummingbirds bustle about the garden. Whether you are seeking an adventure of a lifetime or just want to relax in one of the most beautiful places on earth, the Falls Resort may be the perfect place for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.