We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Far from the beach, no ocean view, not very friendly, nice rooms, nice garden, way to expensive. Great distance from el avion wh” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio

Save Saved
You added Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Mtr Sur de Si Como No, Manuel Antonio National Park 94-6350, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Far from the beach, no ocean view, not very friendly, nice rooms, nice garden, way to expensive. Great distance from el avion wh”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

It is impossible that so many people found this resort very good. We have been to 5 other resorts in this country and there is no way this even comes close to a very good hotel. These are just people that have not been anywhere else or just dont want to say they had a crappy stay just to look good in front of their friends and family.

Not all staff was friendly. The breakfast buffet was ok. Not much variety. The noise from the A/C compressors and motor for the newly upgraded waterfall was so annoying and not relaxing at all.

The showers had no pressure. We stayed in room 4 at the end of the resort. Where there was the most noise from the hotel next door, the fridge compressor dying out and fan ticking all night. We had no wifi. Thank god for the T.V. We couldnt use the hammock because it was only for 1 person.

The restaurant was way too expensive, there was hardly anyone there and why would you go when you have two decent restaurants across the street with awesome views and decent food.

The most disapointing was the hospitality of hotel managment. We had problems with the shower which we asked to be fixed. It was temporarily fixed by giving us a little trick to turning it on. We had to use a trick! which practically never worked and heat regulation took at least 5 minutes to get comfortable. You would think you would be offered an upgrade to another room. No wait. There is no upgrade. All rooms are the same. Not only that. After waiting patiently for some kind of act to make us happy for the inconveniance we had to pay for the stupid postcards that were 75 cents each. Unbelievable.

Do not stay here. This a kickback hotel that trip organizers get paid for to recommend people. The price is too expensive. We heard people that were in a private hostel room for 15$ a night bragging about their view comparing this hotel!! Tripadvisor was very misleading on this one. We met other couples that were disapointed as well.

It is unfortunate for the few staff that were nice to be working at a hotel receiving such a bad rating.

Either than that. The pacific coast is infested with hustlers trying to sell you everything. Some surf junkies charging you too much for a lesson. Souvenir shops ripping you off. Gay guys being hired to sell you stuff for a commission. Which we saw get into a fender bender which was pretty funny. Do not walk down to the beach. Risk of getting runned over!

We took a trimaran sunset sails. It was a scam because we were told it was an all day cruise but actually had a morning and afternoon tour. They say it is a half day tour but when they pick you up at 8, pick everyone else up and get to the boat it 9:15. You cruise along tr coast which is very nice. If your lucky youll get to see some whale or dolphin fins and maybe the head of a turtle. The snorkeling was boring. There was two types of fish. We were back by 12.

Pacific has become americanized. The locals understand now how to make money off people. If you want to relax go to the carribean where everyone is relaxed! The beaches are gorgeous and more private and the food is the best!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greatwater, Owner at Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Thank you for your comments. In addition to being an owner, I am an avid user of TripAdvisor as well, and your commentary serves as a good lesson to others. Make sure that you refer to each hotels website before making your reservation, as most are like ours and give great explanations about the availability of wi-fi (available in the lobby for now and in a few of the Deluxe Suites), and the location (those "in the know" prefer our area amongst the restaurants and above the mosquito zone of the beach). If you compare the Falls Resort to others, especially those immediately across the street, you would find that our rates are substantially (40-70%) lower than those hotels. While most of our guests rave about the proximity to such a robust jungle garden and its inhabitants, those willing to pay a much higher rate can enjoy some wonderful views. If you visited our hotel website for example you could find room descriptions that would let you know of our four Suite types: Standard (the one you selected), Deluxe, Double Deluxe, and Apartment. If you review restaurant sites you would also find that of the several great restaurants in town, our prices are notably lower. That being said, i must agree in part with your thoughts about Manuel Antonio being Americanized, as it is certainly the most popular national park-resort town in the country and has become more "built up" in the past decade. I also love the Caribbean, but the Caribbean is still a bit more dangerous than most families would prefer. By using the hotel websites to compare potential hotels it will also help keep comparisons between luxury hotels with a/c, private baths, walk in closets, flat screen TVs, etc. not bunched together with hostels that offer an open air room filled with hammocks and shared with 5 to 7 other people and a common toilet and shower. While this can be a great experience too, it is just not comparing apples to oranges. I believe TripAdvisor users who compare hotel sites in addition to reviews can later offer reviews that are more helpful to future guests. By the way, I understand from the Manager that you would have been offered a free upgrade if we had rooms available. We are not perfect, but we are always working to improve. Thanks. Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    455
    127
    25
    8
    3
See reviews for
140
351
15
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

This place was very disappointing .... Far from beach, no nice views .... The rooms are ok ...Hardly any Water pressure.... Not all the staff is friendly ....this place was the wort place I stayed at in Costa Rica would never stay here again would never rommend to anyone .... KEEP AWAY !!!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greatwater, Owner at Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
We as well as our staff try to treat our guests like family; and as part of that we work tirelessly to be as patient as possible with guests who are disruptive, but I must take full responsibility for those guests who were kept awake by you and your partners screaming and yelling late at night, and for your loud and boisterous attitude toward employees, guests and others. What is perhaps more appalling than you and and others in your group conducting drug transactions on our grounds, is the fact that you would have the audacity, perhaps while still under the influence when looking at your grammar and spelling, to disparage our hotel publicly after such behavior. We do not promote nor permit drug use in or around our hotel; and while some Americans assume that it is somehow legal in Costa Rica, we can assure you that it is not. We don't really care what you do in private, but when it affects other paying guests it creates a problem. If I had been on site during one of your tirades, I have to say that you would have been asked to leave. We have not had guests quite like you in four years of owning this hotel. While we love getting constructive comments, your comments and your visit just left us aghast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

My husband and I stayed here two nights. The hotel owner was very nice, as were the hotel rooms. The pool is a little on the small side, but there were not that many people hanging out around it so it was fine. The restaurant/bar was usually pretty quite and not crowded at all. Good food at a good price. We enjoyed our stay here, but it was a little too quiet for us.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greatwater, Manager at Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Thanks for your comments and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado, USA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Our family of 6 stayed in the apartment at The Falls for 8 nights in July. We loved everything about this hotel. The location is excellent, just 1 mile to the beach with easy bus access. Close to restaurants not that you'll ever want to eat anywhere else, the food in the restaurant at The Falls is superb.

The hotel staff is really the best part of the place. Sara, Jorge, Johanna and Andrea (I can't believe I have forgotten her name!) in the office were super helpful with booking excursions, giving ideas on what to do and just plain friendly. Ricardo, Luis and Andreas in the restaurant/bar are gems! Excellent service and a real feeling of warmth from all the staff. We were able to meet the owners while there, and now I understand why this place is so great. They are attentive and want their staff to be happy along with their patrons.

We stayed in the beautiful, functional apartment. It was very well equipped, had comfy beds and was located at the front of the hotel. We met some new friends (this hotel seems to bring in very fun people!!) and were able to peek in their room, it was beautiful! Very luxurious bedding, beautiful bathrooms and in the back of the hotel, which is lush and GREEN!! We spent every afternoon at the pool with our new found friends, while at the pool you will most definitely see the monkeys. There are a lot of monkeys in Manuel Antonio!!

Our stay in Costa Rica couldn't have been better. It was more than expected. The hotel was great, people are so kind throughout the country, very clean (it's a very "green" area), climate was perfect, and easy to get to. We can't wait to return!

Room Tip: If not traveling with a large family, the regular rooms would be recommended. Rooms 6 & 11 lite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Beautiful hotel and excellent staff. We really enjoyed our stay and would recommend this hotel to couples traveling. We were able to see wildlife on the hotel grounds and enjoyed the free breakfast buffet every morning.

Room Tip: Standard rooms were plenty spacious and beautiful. I'm glad we opted for the lowest price room b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We just got back from staying at The Falls and just loved it. The staff were all so friendly and helpful. the rooms were great. We stayed in number 25 which was on the street (only 24 and 25 are), but it was very big, clean and could comfortably sleep 5 people. The garden is amazing so beautiful for a daily stroll looking for Monkeys, sloths, agoutis and bats. The pool was lovely. the bus stop to go down to the park and beach is right across the street and costs about 70 cents. The restaurants was really excellent and much more reasonable than many others nearby. I just can't recommend it enough.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

When traveling abroad it's very hard to be sure about the hotel you are booking and there can be lots of surprises. I booked 4 nights in a Deluxe Room at The Falls resort based on reviews I read, location and a little bit of wishful thinking.
We arrived in San Jose and were greeted by our driver that was arranged through Jorge (the Falls front desk staff). They were great about returning my emails when I had questions. We got to the hotel after a three hour drive and were very impressed. Jorge was anticipating our arrival and our room was amazing. Five minutes after checking in, a group of monkeys made their way through the trees that fill the grounds.
The hotel room was amazing, the staff was exceptional and we had a great time in Manuel Antonio. The only reason I didn't give five stars was because the prices are definitely aimed at the gringos. The rooms are worth it but the prices at the restaurant and bar are not much different from the prices in California. During a thunder storm my girlfriend and I split a steak and had a few rounds and it ended up at $80. I guess Costa Rica in general just isn't cheap like it used to be. That's not the fault of The Falls Resort though, it's everywhere. I would definitely go back there and would recommend it to everyone.

Room Tip: Deluxe Room had a kind bed, a walk-in closet and a separate bathroom with a huge walk-in shower. Ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greatwater, Manager at Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Hey Guys,

Thanks for the kind words. We are really pleased that you had I really like when we have the opportunity to use a review, good or bad, to give more insights into our region of Costa Rica or the country in general. Prices in Costa Rica do vary sometimes depending on the strength of the dollar, and how rural an area you are visiting. More important, is to remember that Costa Rica has a sales tax of 13% (some of the CR politicians have spent too much time in high tax states in the US I guess), and in all restaurants in the country (by law) you will see a charge of 10% "Servicio" which is essentially a mandatory tip. Sooooo....when you get your bill the number you see at the bottom is 23% higher than the underlying tab from the restaurant. As for additional tipping, some countries are not use to tipping at all, though most add 5-10% depending on service. Thank you for your visiting with us, and for allowing me to add some traveler tips in for future guests. Please also check us out on Facebook where we will be offering specials for return guests, and passes to our new Canopy Tour opening this winter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio

Address: 50 Mtr Sur de Si Como No, Manuel Antonio National Park 94-6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 48 hotels in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica is an amazingly beautiful and tranquil garden and waterfall setting within walking distance of this famous little town's best restaurants and gorgeous beaches. White faced capuchins, sloths, toucans, and the endangered mono titi monkeys frequent the trees overhead, while blue iridescent morpho butterflies and hummingbirds bustle about the garden. Whether you are seeking an adventure of a lifetime or just want to relax in one of the most beautiful places on earth, the Falls Resort may be the perfect place for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Falls Resort At Manuel Antonio Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Falls Hotel At Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort At Manuel Antonio Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.