We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Monkeys swing by, bartenders and staff were great, rooms were excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio

Save Saved
You added Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Mtr Sur de Si Como No, Manuel Antonio National Park 94-6350, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Monkeys swing by, bartenders and staff were great, rooms were excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

We had the opportunity to stay here on our first vacation to CR. The place is a little hard to get to via driving from San Jose Airport, BUT thats no their fault. We took the scenic route and arrived at the Falls hotel at about 6pm at night.

The staff checked us in quickly and seamlessly and we had room number 10. The rooms here are great, AC, flat panel TV, bar, a nice bathroom with Bath and Body Works soap. The TV was an Insignia brand which immediately clued me in that the owner of designer of the hotel was an American. The bed had a great towel figurine along with flower petals along with a mosquito net. There was also a nice closet with ample space, a safe deposit box and a couch.

Upon checking in we had a small dinner at the restaraunt that night. The food there was good but the dessert was really good. I love Creme Brulee, and the one they make there is made with brown sugar and is really good (I had it 3 times) The bartenders here are very friendly and speak great English. We met Ramez and he was a really nice guy. He had great recommendations (KopiKopi for dinner), and like to conversate with us each night when we came back from our activities which made it nice. We also scheduled different activities through the front office which included Zip-lining/canopy tour, and a guided tour through Manuel Antonio Park.

The location of this hotel is nice, yes it takes a while to get to since its up near the Avion (the plane restaraunt) and the El Gato Negro (another restaraunt), but it has a nice view and the rooms are very isolated and quiet. The garden is quite nice and you have the possibility of seeing Birds, a resident Agouti, a huge resident Jesus Christ Lizard (and smaller ones), Frogs, Toads, more lizards, Orb Spiders, and the best of all Capuchin Monkeys.

The best experience here was probably seeing a group of about 15 monkeys come through the hotel while we were relaxing at the pool. They hung around for about 30 minutes before moving on through the jungle.

We also ended up meeting the owner of this place who had made one his business trips to check in on the hotel. He was very nice (forgot his name) but he originates from Denver. He checked in and asked us if everything was good at the hotel. I would not hesitate to stay at this place, just because the staff was very friendly, the location was nice and the amenities were great. We even got a credit of $50 towards our food bar which helped out a little bit. I booked directly through their website for this offer.

Room Tip: Stay in the isolated rooms, the farther away from the entrance the more quieter it gets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

596 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    438
    123
    25
    7
    3
See reviews for
131
339
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, FL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

We rented the 3-bedroom apartment here for our party of 4 adults and a toddler. This place more than met our expectations. We've stayed in many places in CR as our mother lives there and we visit frequently. The apartment was recently remodeled (or at least seemed to be) with nice amenities, clean rooms and bathrooms, and a large kitchen. This place is smaller and quieter than the big resorts, which we always prefer. Great staff and lovely gardens. Don't overlook the restaurant! Honestly some of the best food (and cocktails!) we've had in CR for the price. Great breakfast. The resort needs to update its website...it doesn't do the place justice!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

We stayed at 5 different hotels on our recent trip to Costa Rica and my opinion is that this is a very nice hotel. The property is beautiful upon leaving the open air lobby you take a cement walkway through the vegetation to your room. The room is large with its own walk in closet with a traveler's safe inside. The bed was comfortable and rather romantic surrounded by a mosquito net (don't worry you don't need to use it the mosquitos aren't bad). The large walk-in shower was definately newer with beautiful light stone walls and pebble tiled floors. And you have your own vereanda with two chairs and a table to enjoy your morning coffee to the calling of the local birds. Also you have a fridge to cool off your much needed bottles of water. The staff was very nice and helpful and let us leave our bags behind the counter after we had chceked out while we spent the day exploring Manual Antonio preserve, since you don't want to leave your belongings in the car. My wife and I had an excellent experience.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011 via mobile

Don't be deceived by the modest front of the hotel. The grounds are so beautiful and well maintained. There are tons of animals that are wandering around the gardens. The rooms are huge! There is a hammock in the front and a cute mosquito net that can be used over the bed. The bathroom is very big and new looking. All the rooms are scattered around the grounds so it feels very private and secluded. The breakfast is so yummy and is included with the rate. Everyone is so nice at the hotel and very helpful. This was our favorite in costa rica :)

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

this hotel is amazing. beautiful grounds. VERY friendly/helpful staff. the room was unbelievable. i can't even explain it!!! we loved it so much. everything about this stay was wonderful. would definitely recommend it to friends and family. the food was great. the infinity pool was beautiful. we had a hammock on our porch. we borrowed two movies from the front office, but only had time to watch one. the bathroom was huge!! loved the bathrobes!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

We were greeted by towel swans and a fabulous room!

Upon your arrival, you are led to a comfortable sitting area which then opens up to a jungle paradise with lots of birds and lizards; their bar and dining area; and a negative edge pool which gives the impression you are swimming into the jungle. It's not the biggest pool, but is still very refreshing. The property has a hot tub (this appears to be sort of an after thought) which doesn't appear to get very hot. We were greeted by a raccoon when we were sitting in the tub. The access to the bar makes it easy to grab a drink and relax and absorb the pool and jungle.

Our room (#21), although not the most secluded on the property was just what we needed - it opened up to the jungle with easy access to their excellent dining room. The room had lots of space and nice touches including the walk in shower done in stone (see pics).

The food was REALLY good! The dning staff got to know us and would fix things which they would adjust as they weren't on the menu (we had a vegetarian in the group). They always had a special which was wonderful. The biggest downside was that it was closed on Sunday evening (that's where having some power bars with us came in handy as we were too tired to venture outside to find a restaurant - just as well - there was a typical jungle thunderstorm)

It would appear that there were several couples staying during our days, but every now and then we would see a small family like ours.

For what it's worth, the beach is a bit of a LONG hike away if you are walking and don't mind a pretty steep hill. However, the bus service has a stop not very far from the hotel room and is a great deal at roughly 50 cents per rider. We used the bus a few times.

It was a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

We stayed here for most of our honeymoon on the recommendation from friends who stayed in March and loved it. We also very much enjoyed it. Walking in, I was not expecting what I saw: almost a jungle oasis! An infinity pool surrounded by trees and cottages. It is a beautiful place. On our bed, there was a heart shaped towel and, in a tall iced bottle holder, a complimentary bottle of wine because it was our honeymoon. That was a great touch!
We stayed in the standard room and it was very nice. On our second last day, there were other guests in the room beside us and we could hear them through the walls. We didn't mind, but you might if you get a noisy neighbour!
Breakfasts were enjoyable. We did not eat lunches or dinners at the hotel; there are many restaurants near by and a grocery store about a 20 minute walk away.
The beach is about a half hour walk away down the hill. I'd suggest taking the bus- back up especially. The ocean was very rough when we went but it was that time of year. We enjoyed the pool at the hotel a lot more than the rough beach. Plus, monkeys were hanging out in the trees one day!
The hotel will arrange adventure trips for you. There is a book of many adventures in the hotel room.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio

Address: 50 Mtr Sur de Si Como No, Manuel Antonio National Park 94-6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 48 hotels in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica is an amazingly beautiful and tranquil garden and waterfall setting within walking distance of this famous little town's best restaurants and gorgeous beaches. White faced capuchins, sloths, toucans, and the endangered mono titi monkeys frequent the trees overhead, while blue iridescent morpho butterflies and hummingbirds bustle about the garden. Whether you are seeking an adventure of a lifetime or just want to relax in one of the most beautiful places on earth, the Falls Resort may be the perfect place for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Falls Resort At Manuel Antonio Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Falls Hotel At Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort At Manuel Antonio Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.