We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tight Space, Great Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Agua Azul

Cafe Agua Azul
Villas del Parque, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
+506 5067775280
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $5 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Lake Bluff, Illinois
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Tight Space, Great Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We loved our meal here. The salad and soup were amazing and huge. We both had red snappper which was fabulous. The brownie with ice cream for dessert was super rich but yummy. View was great, but space a little tight. There was a huge party next to us and any time anyone had to get up from that table, my husband had to get up too and move his chair.It wasn't a deal breaker though and we genuinely enjoyed our meal. The kid behind us ordered a hamburger that had to be the largest burger I have ever seen in my life. It was so enormous I asked him if I could take a picture of it. It was our last meal before heading home and a great way to end the week.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

806 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    446
    229
    94
    25
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Amazing Tuna!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

We stopped here for dinner and were not disappointed. It was busy so we had to wait at the bar for a table which didn't take long.

I had Panko crusted tuna with wasabi and ginger which was quite simply the best plate of food I have had here in Costa Rica. My partner had grilled tuna which he loved. Calamari with olives for starters was shared as the portions are generous.

The seafood here is fresh and cooked in the kitchen which is open to the restaurant. There is a great atmosphere in the evening and we did try to return another evening but the place was closed. I would definitely recommend a visit.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Good food and diligent service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I came for a bite around 7pm and the place was filled, but the waiter attended to me right away. I had a salad, well prepared with lots of dressing. The sun had set so I didn't get to enjoy the view, but the bar itself has a pretty nice atmosphere, thanks in part to the open kitchen. Good place.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great food - spotty service...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

The plantain tower was outstanding. I highly recommend it. My husband loved his panko crusted tuna - he got one of the last pieces of the night, so come early if you want tuna. I enjoyed my Costa Rican snapper with green papaya. It came with a wonderful citrus sauce. The coconut crusted fish came with a pineapple slaw that was mostly cucumber - not a favorite and definitely unexpected. It lacked flavor and was a disappointment - don't order it. The kitchen staff was very nice and helpful, but our waiter seemed to disappear several times and we sat for long periods with empty glasses.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Hamburger”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stopped in for a burger after touring Manual Antonio park. The restaurant has a fantastic view and great atmosphere and was perfect for a quick bite before heading to the beach.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Agua Azul also viewed

Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Cafe Agua Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Agua Azul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.