We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfull service and excellent location close to the parc.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Prats Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Manuel Antonio National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Prats Hotel
Save
You added Villa Prats Hotel to your Saves list
10 metros de entrada manuel ant. nat park, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Wonderfull service and excellent location close to the parc.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

We arrived at Manuel Antonio without booking in advance. After going from hotel to hotel (which were expensive and offered basic accomodation) someone adviced us hotel prats. Considering that this area is touristic, vila prats offers great value for your money. Its located close to the parc, rooms are basic but clean and te A/c works perfectly. But more importantly the service was friendly and helpful, thank you Josue!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    28
    9
    5
    3
See reviews for
16
21
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We needed a cheap place as close to the national park as possible. Prats fits the bill as it is only 50 meters from the park entrance and 300 from the beach. Only a couple of parking spots in front of the hotel which was fine as we saw no other guests. Impression on arriving was of a very modest, rather run down guest house, a bit different from their website. Reception was reasonable although had we needed assistance it might have come up short. We were on the third floor, room six, which means a lot of narrow stairs to climb, the receptionist did not help us with our suitcases either going up or coming down. He did give us the basics though, where to eat, where to buy our entrance tickets. The room, despite being very basic was fine, clean sheets, towels, electric shower in a roomy box, a good air conditioner, not much lighting as the bulbs were burnt. Mattress was fine. There are plenty of spaces to retreat to and a swimming pool out back but we used none of these during our two day stay. No breakfast as this is served only in the high season. We saw the clerk again to hand in our key, and he was pleasant. In all, the basics, i. e., somewhere safe to sleep, which is what we wanted, so I can recommend this place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Carlos, Costa Rica
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

You park in an alley because this is the hotel entrance and there are only four small spots. And i mean small!. Pay more to go somewhere nice, I promise you you will be glad you did! The rooms are dingy and dirty. If you have kids they will be so miserable here. The kids that I saw were there were absolutely miserable. If you are expecting hot water, forget it! I feel sorry for the workers there because they seemed nice. The good reviews had to have come from people who liked the workers or knew the owners. I hope they improve this hotel because it is at the entrance of the Park. I never write negative reviews but I surely wish someone would have warned me. I will say again how sorry I am but I have to tell the truth.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, North Dakota
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

You could not ask for better service!!! Jaun and a young Mr. Blue eyes were awesome!!! They would help us get our tours each day by calling ahead for us. They would tell us the price and then book it for us if we liked it. We had CLEAN rooms each day--- thanks to Morielos:) We would stay again!!!! excellent breakfast too:)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sweden
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We had a familyroom for 4, with a kitchenette that worked well for cooking breakfast and a simple lunch. There was plenty of space in the room and two balconies two sit on. The room, and the hotel,was very clean and we felt very safe here. There is a small pool that we didn´t use so much as the beach is so close by. The family who owns the hotel are really nice. We spent New years eve here and there was fireworks down on the beach. Restaurants and National park entrance is just around the corner so the location couldn´t be better!

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesport, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We (six guys) rented 3 rooms the end of Jan/early Feb. The rooms were clean, shower worked well and the air conditioning was superb. Very cozy hotel with 8 rooms. The help were amazingly helpful from getting us some beer, giving us directions,letting us use their safe deposit box and using their shower upon leaving late in the day on our last day. Juan was so friendly and helpful through out our stay. His english was remarkable. Causeway was most helpful also. Their breakfast was well worth the $5.00 each morning. THe hotel is very close to the beach and entrance to the park just as we wanted. You can't go wrong choosing their hotel to stay and the price is very reasonable.
Phil J. New Jersey

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We travel on a bare bones budget and have had wonderful experiences at the value priced accommodations we have stayed at all over the world. This was not one of those places. The location is convenient to the park but that is the only good thing about it. We did not feel safe, the room was not clean, the overall property seemed to be in a general state of disrepair and the service was basically non existent. Breakfast was included if you were willing to wait an hour to see if anyone showed up to cook it. Parking was very tough given the extremely small area to navigate. Parked the car when we arrived and did not move it again until we left. Really was not convenient to any restaurants or anything else other then the park. Would definately stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Prats Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Prats Hotel

Address: 10 metros de entrada manuel ant. nat park, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All our rooms come with air conditioning, private bath hot water cable TV, and refrigerator. Our mini studios have a full kitchen all rooms have a double bed and single some have a sofa bed and a beautiful pool. From September to March our restaurant is open. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Prats Hotel Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Prats Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.