We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in perfect location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Prats Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Manuel Antonio National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Prats Hotel
Save
You added Villa Prats Hotel to your Saves list
10 metros de entrada manuel ant. nat park, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
sweden
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in perfect location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We had a familyroom for 4, with a kitchenette that worked well for cooking breakfast and a simple lunch. There was plenty of space in the room and two balconies two sit on. The room, and the hotel,was very clean and we felt very safe here. There is a small pool that we didn´t use so much as the beach is so close by. The family who owns the hotel are really nice. We spent New years eve here and there was fireworks down on the beach. Restaurants and National park entrance is just around the corner so the location couldn´t be better!

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    28
    9
    5
    3
See reviews for
17
21
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leesport, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We (six guys) rented 3 rooms the end of Jan/early Feb. The rooms were clean, shower worked well and the air conditioning was superb. Very cozy hotel with 8 rooms. The help were amazingly helpful from getting us some beer, giving us directions,letting us use their safe deposit box and using their shower upon leaving late in the day on our last day. Juan was so friendly and helpful through out our stay. His english was remarkable. Causeway was most helpful also. Their breakfast was well worth the $5.00 each morning. THe hotel is very close to the beach and entrance to the park just as we wanted. You can't go wrong choosing their hotel to stay and the price is very reasonable.
Phil J. New Jersey

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We travel on a bare bones budget and have had wonderful experiences at the value priced accommodations we have stayed at all over the world. This was not one of those places. The location is convenient to the park but that is the only good thing about it. We did not feel safe, the room was not clean, the overall property seemed to be in a general state of disrepair and the service was basically non existent. Breakfast was included if you were willing to wait an hour to see if anyone showed up to cook it. Parking was very tough given the extremely small area to navigate. Parked the car when we arrived and did not move it again until we left. Really was not convenient to any restaurants or anything else other then the park. Would definately stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Rather uninviting from outside - looks tatty and is sited on a gravel track. Big room, clean, hot water and A/C. Room rather in need of decoration. No breakfast as the cook 'didn't turn up'. Strong smell of sewers pervades the area. Convenient for the National Park.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

This hotel is perfect if you are looking for clean, affordable lodging steps away from Manuel Antonio. The rooms are clean and they give you two towels-one for the beach and one for the shower. The staff was very kind and bilingual and the Wi-Fi signal is excellent. I 100% recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I honestly hate complaining. I have stayed at many places including hostels in Africa so I can handle basic accommodations. Even accommodations that are not 100% clean doesn't bother me. Having said that, the room we rented in November 2012, was disgusting. I understand that this place is cheap and you get what you pay for, but it was truly filthy. I should have asked for my money back and left but we were tired when we arrived (after messing up our reservations to stay somewhere else) and chose instead to only stay one night. The bed linens were not clean and I instead slept on my jacket. We were very disappointed :(
To try to end on a positive note, the location is great and very close to the entrance of Manuel Antonio Park.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

I was really skeptical about staying at this hotel because a lot of glowing reviews came from people that have only reviewed this one property. I know some hotels get their friends to write them good reviews to bump their stats so I was a little on the fence. I dedided to try it anyway and I'm glad that I did because the price was right, the room was comfortable and the distance to the park entrance & the beach were wonderful. The service wasn't spectacular, not bad, just low key. Sometimes we'd stand at the front desk looking for some help and there would be no one around, then another guest told us that they lived upstairs and we needed to ring a bell by their door to get their help. It would have been nice to know this when we checked in. Sometimes we found that the language barrier was an issue, but that's partly our fault for not practicing our Espanol before going on our trip. At some point in our trip I lost my bank card and they let me into their house to use their phone to call my bank, which I found very helpful. The property was safe, some reviewer commented that it's down a sketchy back alley, but I would disagree about the sketchy part. Yes, it's just off the road, down an alley, but we didn't feel unsafe for one second. It was lit and you needed a key card to access the building. Manuel Antonio was probably our least favorite destination because the prices are so high and it's really touristy, but if you are coming here and you're on a budget, Villa Prats is a good option. Just don't expect a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Prats Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Prats Hotel

Address: 10 metros de entrada manuel ant. nat park, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All our rooms come with air conditioning, private bath hot water cable TV, and refrigerator. Our mini studios have a full kitchen all rooms have a double bed and single some have a sofa bed and a beautiful pool. From September to March our restaurant is open. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Prats Hotel Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Prats Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.