We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious, Very Comfortable, and with a beautiful view!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pacifico Colonial

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Pacifico Colonial to your Saves list
Pacifico Colonial
Manuel Antonio Road | Next to Tulemar bungalows, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Spacious, Very Comfortable, and with a beautiful view!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2010

We stayed at Pacifico Colonial for the last 3 nights of our stay in Costa Rica. It was worth the price. This condo had every comfort of home and was very close to a grocery store and restaurants (within walking distance).
We had previously stayed in Manuel Antonia at a beachside hotel that was not as upscale as this condo. We were really not looking for a place right on or very close to the beach. We had a car but the bus and taxis stop right outside of Pacifico Colonial.
We were able to do all our tours and fishing which were set up with the help of Trini and Melissa (both are very helpful and fluent in English).
The free high speed internet was great and allowed us to catch up with things back home. The infinity pool is beautiful and overlooks a preserve. Monkeys and iguanas are visible throughout the day.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and it was the most comfortable place we have stayed at in Costa Rica (we have been there 4 times)!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
55
21
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arundel, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
119 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2010

We stayed here as a birthday celebration vacation. The condo had a full length balcony, which we went out to for each meal, to enjoy the views over the rainforest and down to the ocean. We were treated to sights of the monkeys and toucans nearby in the trees each morning. Each evening, we watched the glorious sunsets over the ocean, sometimes followed by a dramatic thunderstorm with spectacular lightning. It was certainly a romantic place to relax together. The condo was very spacious, with colonial furnishings, artworks and all the kitchen facilities we could need. The balcony kept drawing us out to admire the views again and again. We had a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2010

We were in Manuel Antonio during one of their most busy vacation times in Costa Rica (the holy week, when everyone goes to the beaches from San Jose). We had driven almost 5 hours from Arenol to stay 4 days in Manuel Antonio. Not thinking we would have that much of a problem, I did not book ahead. The Falls (a very nice boutique hotel just down the street of Pacifio Colonial) helped me find, just by chance, a place at Pacifico Colonial (after there had been a cancelation). We arrived the next morning and couldn't believe our good fortune! The condo has 10 untils total, all with a HUGE gorgeous porch, over looking one of the best views of an ocean I have ever seen (and I have traveled around the world). The condo itself is absolutely gorgeous well decorated, and just feels great to be there. The pool isn't going to provide you opportunity to do 'laps' but it is kept very clean, and is pretty to look at and does the trick of cooling you off after a long days adventure with the tons of activities around the area. There are also great restaurants in walking distance. Across the street is one very good Italian restaurant that makes the best pizza's ever (get the chicken/pesto pizza, you will flip for it). Sorry I can't remember the name of the restaurant off the top of my head. Christina and Trini are right on the 3rd floor (which is street level) and is always there to provide you with help. They really went above and beyond for us our entire stay and made us not just feel like quests, but like we belonged there and were part of the place.

I cannot say enough good things about Pacifico Colonial, accept you will not find a better place in the area (as well as outside the area) . And I cannot believe how reasonibly priced they are. The building is only 4 years old, and anywhere else in the world you would be paying top dollar to stay in an such a luxurious place.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michiana
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2010

We spent 10 days in Costa Rica and put 1500 miles on our rental SUV. The highlight of the trip was the last 3 days in Manuel Antonio. We took a chance and pulled into the Pacifico Colonial, because they had a sign out that said "Vacancy". I talked to the lovely Sales/Rental person, Melissa Klassen. She was so sweet and showed me a unit they had available. OMG! This was a 2000sf unit with 2 bedroom and 2 baths. It was so beautiful and over looked the ocean. It had a kitchen to die for and stained glass windows and wrap-around balcony. I can't believe we lucked out and got this unit. The whole staff was professional, helpful and just a joy to talk with. It was within walking distance from 2 great restaurants many other places of interest. I would love to go back and stay there for a week!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2010 via mobile

P.C. is the most amazing place! We read that it was beautiful, but when we walked in we were in awe! The view, the monkeys every morning, the huge porch, the chef!!!!! Let's not forget the staff- friendly, helpful, and knowledgable ! This place sounds too good to be true - but believe me it's not. WOW !!!

  • Stayed March 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2010

Stayed five days in the penthouse. It is the finest unit I have ever rented and I've been traveling for years. The website makes it look like a beautiful unit, but it is nicer than even those photos. The balcony, which is huge and gorgeous, overlooks rainforest and a fifty mile view of the coast. Monkeys travel below the balcony each morning and evening. Sunset from the balcony is like in the movies. Each bedroom is beautiful with immense bathrooms. Best staff you can imagine. I wanted to propose to Christine who set up anything with a smile and great advice. Do yourself a favor and stay here.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2010

This is the first time I have ever reviewed a hotel on Trip Advisor. Quite simply, I was motivated to write a review about Pacifico Colonial because of the quality of our recent stay. My wife and I wanted to spend 5 relaxing days and nights in Manuel Antonio and a friend of mine had recommended Pacifico Colonial. I e-mailed Melissa who could not have been friendlier or more responsive. Extremely professional. A quick note for anyone who feels uncomfortable about doing a wire transfer instead of being able to use a credit card to secure your reservation. It is very simple and it is completely legitimate.

Once we arrived at Pacifico Colonial we were immediately impressed by the quality of the accommodations and service. Christine greeted us at reception and gave us a great summary of some of the highlights of the area. This would be a recurring theme throughout our stay. Between Christine and Trini, we were constantly given great advice about restaurants, activities, directions, etc. and the two of them could not have been nicer people. They both really helped make this a special vacation for us. Thanks to you both! But they were not alone. The entire staff at Pacifico Colonial is top notch. In addition to Trini and Christine, the 24-hour security guards are all very friendly and good at their jobs and the cleaning staff is phenomenal. you won't find cleaner accommodations at any 5-star hotel. They even keep the giant balcony spotless which is great because we spent a ton of time soaking up the incredible views from our balcony.

Finally, I would be remiss if I didn't say a few words about the location. Pacifico Colonial is in the perfect location in Manuel Antonio. It is situated on the main road at the top of the hill that leads down to the main beach in Manuel Antonio and the National Park. This is where you want to be. There are many great restaurants (and sunset-viewing locations) within walking distance of the property. The main grocery store and 2 banks (with ATMs) are also a short walk away. I checked out a number of other hotels while in Manuel Antonio and I think that we wouldn't have been nearly as satisfied with any other accommodation. Pacifico Colonial is truly a special place!

As far as restaurants go, if you're adventurous and you are looking for a true taste of Costa Rica, ask Trini to give you directions to a somewhat remote barbecue joint called Koki's. This was by far the best (and most authentic) meal we had in Costa Rica. Koki is doing some good things on that grill of his.

Finally, for those who are curious, we stayed in 4 North which is a great 2 bed, 2 bath condo with over 2,000 square feet. It was extemely spacious for just the two of us, but we could have comfortably accommodated 2 more adults and 1-2 kids.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pacifico Colonial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacifico Colonial

Address: Manuel Antonio Road | Next to Tulemar bungalows, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Manuel Antonio, this new condominium is said to be the most high-end condo in all of Costa Rica. Two, three or four bedroom units are available either individually or combined offering the sweet comforts of home gilded with all the luxuries and modern amenities inlaid within the most beautiful design. There is cable television in every bedroom, high speed internet (Ethernet and wireless), a large 42 inch plasma-screen in the living room, phone, dishwasher, microwave, laundry facilities, central air-conditioning, elegant ceiling fans and a state of the art elevator to get you there. This accommodation is wheelchair accessible to all suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Pacifico Colonial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacifico Colonial Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Pacifico Colonial Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pacifico Colonial, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.