We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gato Negro Restaurant

Gato Negro Restaurant
Km 5, on the way to Manuel Antonio. | in front of Airplane Restaurant, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica
50627771728
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $120
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Maryland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011 via mobile

My wife and I visited this restaurant on our visit to Manuel Antonio Park. Our lunch was included with our tour with Swiss Travel. The food was excellent and the staff was super nice. We will definitely go there again.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    15
    9
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Muskogee, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Just OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

We ended up here because our first few choices were closed on that particular day. The food was decent and the service was OK, but the prices were a little high for what we got. My wife ordered a Cuba Libre and they charged us for both the Pepsi and the rum. The menu is more French oriented, and it just wasn't what I was in the mood for. It was our least favorite and most expensive meal in MA.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuel Antonio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Bad Service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

Food was ok but take forever to get it even if the restaurant was empty

  • Visited September 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Delicious Meal, Efficient Service and Nice Ambiance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2011

We took advantage of the 50% off Sunday dining. Unlike other reviewers, we enjoyed our meal immensely. One of us had the sea bass in garlic sauce and the other steak au poivre. The sea bass melted in my mouth and the sauce was outstanding. We had pepper steak previously in other restaurants but what was served at Gato Negro was a 10. The restaurant wasn't crowded and the waiter was attentive. I would recommend Gato Negro, especially on Sunday night.

  • Visited March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A good meal and good price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2011

A very decent Italian Restaurant. It wasn't somewhere I would rush back to, but filled the need for our food requirement and price.

  • Visited March 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gato Negro Restaurant also viewed

Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Gato Negro Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gato Negro Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.