We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best drinks in town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ronny's Place

Ronny's Place
Manuel Antonio | Quepos, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
2777-5120
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $35
Cuisines: Costa Rican, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Located in the middle of a 90 acres farm, where restaurant is the only building, you can find our Restaurante y Mirador Ronny´s Place, a beautiful "rancho" at farm´s highest mountain peak, allowing for a magnificent view of a 2 bay private beach and horizon.Our privileged location, make us the only restaurant in town where you can see the sunset 365 days a year.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best drinks in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

First off the view at sunset was awesome, but that's pretty standard anywhere in Manuel Antonio. The seating in the restaurant is open so you can enjoy the view and the breeze.The drinks were probably the highlight of the evening. The sangria is as good as they say and they have fruity mixed drinks served in coconuts and pineapples which is just what you want on a tropical vacation. We had the seafood pasta and the surf and turf. Tasty but a little pricey. The service is a little slow but friendly and it just gives you more time to enjoy the view and sip on your pina colada. Really wish I would have known about the flaming dessert, guess that will be for next time.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OurPleasure, General Manager at Ronny's Place, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Bronwyn E,
Thank you!!!
Actually not having seen the flaming dessert is the perfect reason to come back!!!!!
We will be waiting for you!!!!!!!!!!!!

Saludos y regrese pronto,
Ronny's Place's Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

647 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    289
    218
    93
    24
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“A fun night at Ronny's Place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

We are on our honeymoon in Costa Rica, and last night we ate at Ronny's Place. It was recommended to us by our hotel, and additionally, when I pointed it out to my husband when we drove by earlier in the week, our cab drive piped up that it had great food and a great view. After our dinner last night, we agree! We arrived too late to see the sunset, but with its view over the water, we can tell it would be fabulous. The food was great, a good deal ( especially compared to some of the other places around here), and above all, the people were so nice. Ronny, the owner, spent lots of time at our table- what a delight he is! He even brought over a fun drink for us in a coconut as a surprise for our honeymoon. We loved our beautiful, delicious evening at Ronny's Place!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OurPleasure, General Manager at Ronny's Place, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Lovinojm.....
THANK YOU!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Felicidades!!!!!
Ronny's Place's Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poway, CA
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“A good choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

Had the Mi Lugar chicken brochette... Very nice with a fresh pineapple salsa. Sangria was very good as well. They don't list fruit on the menu, but they should, as it's a nice option for the kids or as a side. Prices were a bit higher than I'd expect, but I'm quick to point out that EVERYTHING, EVERYWHERE in ths area is priced above expectations. Not Ronnie's fault the prices are kinda high, they're just being competitive.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OurPleasure, General Manager at Ronny's Place, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Craiginsd,
Thank you for taking some time to write a review on our place.
We will definitively see what we can do about the fruits, or what to do to make parents and kids feel more comfortable with our menu.

Thank you for the suggestion.

Saludos y Hasta Pronto!!!!!!!
Ronny's Place's Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telluride
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Best hole in the wall restaurant in Manuel Antonio. The meat and seafood it great, along with the worlds best sangria (not a joke, its the best). Get the flaming show desert and watch the waiters pour fire on the floor and the desert. AMAZING!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OurPleasure, General Manager at Ronny's Place, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Chadlajara,
What an AMAZING review!!!!

THANK YOU!!!!!!!!!!!

Mucha Suerte
Ronny's Place's Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Great view & Service, Average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

If you want authentic Tico food as opposed to high priced tourist restaurants this is a good place to go. It's off the main road a bit but worth the hike to get to. It has a great view so it's a perfect place for sunset cocktails, but we thought the food was just average. Friends and I were there in February after a fishing tournament because we heard so much about it but the sea food was average at best.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OurPleasure, General Manager at Ronny's Place, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Chris A,
Thank you for your review on our restaurant,
Sorry to hear that you were not satisfy with our food.
We hope you'll give us another chance, if you'll come back for the next fishing tournament.

Thank you again,
Ronny's Place's Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ronny's Place also viewed

Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Ronny's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ronny's Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.