We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mal Pais Surf Camp & Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mal Pais
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mal Pais Surf Camp & Resort
Save
You added Mal Pais Surf Camp & Resort to your Saves list
Lista de Correo, Mal Pais, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We (family of three) traveled to Costa Rica for 3 weeks and spent 17 days at Mal Pais Surf Camp.
First off, Doug the owner, is very mellow and patient. I asked a ton of questions via e-mail and he was on top of it and friendly.
LODGING:
There is something there for everyone. We choose the cabinas for our trip & they were a perfect place to use as a base. Costa Rica is full of adventure, there is no time for "indoor" action.
So our cabina was perfect for lunch & sleeping. Plus they have a community area that is a good place to take a break from the sun.
***NOTE: the ranchos are pretty cool in person.

This really is a special place. Every single thing there is excellent.
The staff
the pool
the bathrooms are clean
the food is amazing!

Ross is a wonderful surf instructor. I told him that my husband got a sun burn and when we returned from the beach there was a piece of aloe vera on our porch in front of our cabina.
THANKS ROSS!

I could go on & on. Such a lovely place!

The food & the pool and the friendly staff are all excellent!

Just keep in mind to order food an hour before you might be hungry. Everything slows down when on vacation and their restaurant does get busy. Think ahead!

Room Tip: you can camp or rent a house with ac. something for everyone!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    19
    0
    3
    2
See reviews for
8
23
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leyburn, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Doug and his staff are great and welcoming for the second you pull up. There is a great range of accommodation to suit the level of holiday you are on. The restaurant was only open for brekkie during our stay as it was close to the end of the busy season but it really isn't a problem as you are in walking distance many alternatives. As the Surf Camp isn't on the beach it's not the best place for sunsets anyway, so for the evening, you are better off heading down town most nights. The brekkies were great though and there always seemed to be someone willing to make us up a smoothie or milkshake when we were hanging out by the pool, which is easily one of the better pools at any of the resorts in this area. The honesty system for beers, boards and water is great and the communal area is good for table tennis, pool, wifi and meeting other people staying at the resort. Very good value for money, great for surfing lessons, surf area tips and for those travelling from far a field who don't want to bring their boards on long long haul from the UK. Good selection of boards for rental. Thanks Doug and team.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keystone, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014 via mobile

I have traveled the world and never stayed anywhere quite like this. We stayed in the ranchero rooms which were a mazing. They were completely open so you could feel the refreshing breeze. There's a mangotree you canhelp yourself to and wildlife everywhere. The staff is great and they have giant locker s to lock away all valuables

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskoka
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

My wife and I stayed in a cabina with shared kitchen from March 18, 2014 to April 1, 2014. We had an awesome time. My wife didn't surf, but thoroughly enjoyed hanging around the pool, meeting people and feeding iguanas. The room and kitchen were very clean, the restaurant had great food. The number of monkeys hanging around the camp was insane. It is an easy walk into town by road or by beach.
Ross and Douglas were great hosts.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Chill, fun, open-air resort with cabins with pool, surf boards, good food, and great hosts! In your own little jungle garden right by the beach, and close to the awesome town. Best vacation to date - thank you Ross & Doug!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocoa Beach, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Wow what a little nugget!! Mal Pais Surf Camp is a small professionally run resort. Real fun surfing right in font of the place at all sizes. Super friendly people and great food, clean pool. All the surfboards you need right here on premise If your in Mal Pais be sure to check it out.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amsterdam
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

We had a great time here, clean, easy going (honor system for drinks and boards) food was okay. Very close to beach, quiet at night with howler monkeys and squirrels and iguanas all around. The pool is big, the outdoor shower cool and nice people to talk to. Close, that is, walking distance to the strip with the restaurants and bars. We will be back for the all hard wooden houses!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mal Pais Surf Camp & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mal Pais Surf Camp & Resort

Address: Lista de Correo, Mal Pais, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Mal Pais
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Mal Pais
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Mal Pais Surf Camp Hotel Mal Pais
Mal Pais Surf Camp And Resort
Mal Pais Surf Camp & Resort Costa Rica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mal Pais Surf Camp & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.