We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Oasis

Save Saved
You added Hotel Oasis to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Oasis
300 Meters South of Playa Carmen Intersection, Mal Pais, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 hotels in Mal Pais
West Tisbury, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“My home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2011

In the past I have rented private houses in Playa Carmen and other Hotel rooms in Santa Teresa. I was looking for a small not to busy place with a pool to get away from a stressful work load. and 7 years ago I started spending Thanksgiving, Christmas and New Years at Oasis.
Close 10 min. natural walk to the beach, restaurants, bars and markets. The fishing village is a 5 min drive south and great fishing is a 15 minute beautiful boat ride to Cabo Blanco weather its at 6 AM for sunrise or returning at sunset.
The cabanas have no telephones, free wi-fi & cable TV and the best service is Maritza who heads the Domestic Engineering Department for Marianne and Heim. Cabanas are cleaned, sheets and towel's changed daily. Taxi's are a short phone call away. Parking is a separate area away from lodgings.
Marianne, Heim & Maritza have always made my friends and I feel like this was our home away from home. Personally looking forward to my next visit. Keep in mind my rating values may differ from yours.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    74
    9
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
27
36
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
beach haven, nj
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2011

Iv been to the Oasis in mal paid 3 times now and will be returning again. I had a huge trip booked across all of central America and in less then one week I canceled all plans called Marianne (the owner and most resourcful women ever) and said I'm in Guatemala and I want to be at the oasis.. Within 2 days I had a plane, a room , a car, and dinner reservations with one phone call Marianne took care of everything. The Oasis is just outside of playa Carmen which gives you the option to head to bed or to town. Anytime I have ever had amy problem Marianne and her husband Haim drop everything and fix immediately. They are two fantastic people with an awesome hotel.. I will continue tO come for years to come..

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2010

went to costa rica on a surf trip with some friends and we had the chance to stay at oasis in mal pais. haim the owner was amazing giving as tips where to surf and when.
Accommodations are very comfortable, kitchen, Free WI-FI, Cable TV at a very affordable price, We had a great time

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yakima
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2010

This being my seventh trip to Costa Rica it is getting harder and harder to find a great hotel for an economical price. Hotel Oasis is definitely one of those places. The price was great and located within walking distance to town and the beach in five minutes. Nice little bungalows/cabins that were very clean with air and hot showers. Great little patio with kitchenette and hammock for those rainy days. The kids loved the pool and found lots to do on the grounds of the hotel. Best of all was the willingness of the staff to help answer questions and even helped us print out and fax our next hotel reservation! You could pay a lot more to stay in a similar hotel but why? Great Hotel!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2010

The place feels like a small hamlet rather than a hotel, and our teens loved the pool and atmosphere, not to mention the excellent surf and huge beach.The hosts were kind and available, while service was respectful and consistent.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vermont
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2010

We had a tremendous stay, convenient to town, close to beach, but quiet and private. The cottages were clean and comfortable with hotplates and fridge. The owners, Haim and Marianne were incredibly helpful and friendly, and also provided great surf lessons for our whole family. I would recommend this for anyone.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
claireallouise
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2010

Go go go! It was incredible. The owner was so helpful and friendly. The bungalow was clean and comfortable. I'd highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Oasis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oasis

Address: 300 Meters South of Playa Carmen Intersection, Mal Pais, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Mal Pais
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Mal Pais
#1 Best Value Hotel in Mal Pais
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mal Pais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oasis is a cozy, friendly, family-owned hotel in Mal Pais (or Malpais) on the southern tip of the Nicoya Peninsula. It is located just a mile away from the Cabo Blanco Nature Reserve, and steps away from the Pacific Ocean.Costa Rica’s famous Playa Carmen and Santa Teresa beaches are a five minutes walk away. Both beaches are considered some of the best surf spots in all Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Oasis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oasis Hotel Mal Pais
Hotel Oasis Costa Rica/Mal Pais

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Oasis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.