We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Low key chilled out vibe.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Oasis

Save Saved
You added Hotel Oasis to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Oasis
300 Meters South of Playa Carmen Intersection, Mal Pais, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 hotels in Mal Pais
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Low key chilled out vibe.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here at the end of February. It was great!!! Marianne was very helpfully but left you to yourself. Short walk to the beach and town. The pool is wonderful and staff are very friendly. Only down side was no air conditioning which made it a bit uncomfortable a couple of nights. It would be easy to just get lost down here though. Mal pais is amazing!!!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    73
    9
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
27
35
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012 via mobile

A friend and I shared a non-airconditioned bungalow at the Hotel Oasis the last few days of January and first few days of February. We were extremely pleased with our stay. The ceiling fans were more than sufficient to keep us comfortable in the evenings. (We were out and about during the daylight hours.) Also, being set higher up on the hillside, we enjoyed the gentle breezes that came through the grounds of the resort. Although the beds all came with mosquito nets, we found that our stay during the dry season made them unnecessary. The bungalow came with a small fridge, hot plate, and dishes with drying rack. I missed not having a microwave, but not significantly as the only meal we ate in the bungalow would be primarily fresh fruit and juices purchased at local grocery stores. There is no restaurant on site or poolside bar, but proper planning and a well stocked fridge took care of that. The owner of the hotel was extremely friendly and helpful in setting up any activities we wished to participate in...a service level not frequently associated with hotels in this price range. The pool and hotel grounds overall are clean and quite pretty. I would recommend Hotel Oasis without reservation for those looking for a quality experience at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

We stayed at Oasis for a week out of our five weeks trip and we had a blast there. Its very beautiful with lovely owners who made us feel welcome and helped in every thing we needed. Its very close to the surf and there is a beautiful pool to chill when coming back from the beach. If we are ever in Mal Pais again we are definitively staying there.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormond Beach, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

This was our second time at Hotel Oasis in Mal Pais, Costa Rica. The owners are super friendly and very welcoming. They speak several languages and the hotel is appropriate for singles, couples and families. The rooms are clean and comfortable, with a choice of A/C units or ones cooled by ocean breezes. It's only a short walk down to the beach and into Santa Teresa. Several restaurants serving excellent food are close by. If you don't feel like eating out, each room has a kitchenette. Mal Pais is a nature and surfer lover's dream, and the Hotel Oasis is a big part of that dream.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2011

Minutes from the beach, this isn't really a hotel, more like a collection of cottages. Each of the 4 cottages had beds for 4 people, kitchen, bathroom and balcony. They were all centred around a pool.

the service here was wonderful. It is very clear that Marianne and Haim love this place and it is their home. They work to ensure you have everything you need and they are very accommodating. Each day my villa was cleaned and the dishes washed and put away. It was wonderful to have a kitchen to make meals.

Less than 5 minutes was the centre of Santa Teresa with the shops and restaurants. Oh, and did I forget to mention the beach... definitely one of the best beaches I have ever seen. It is natural and wide and very open. One day I had about 100 metres of beach to myself for the entire day. The sunsets are unforgettable.

Enough about the beach, more about the hotel - it was a wonderful experience and a very good value. If you are a group of 2, 3 or 4 people you must consider this wonderful place for your stay in Santa Teresa/Mal Pais. It is only dollars more than a hostel, but it is truly an oasis!

Oh, and there is WiFi and cable tv in each villa!

Room Tip: they are all great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2011

I could have stayed anywhere in Mal Pais but from now on my choice will be “Hotel Oasis”. I was greeted with a big “welcome” smile. My room was clean and comfortable. The location is great with the beach across the street and everything else I needed just down the street. I came back to my room in the afternoon to find my bed made and clean towels every day. You can tell they take pride in their service are very helpful in getting you relaxed and comfortable. I saw that they had added a beautiful wood deck expanding the pool area. I plan on coming back soon and when I do I will be staying at the “Hotel Oasis”.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vermont
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2011

We have stayed here four times. With and without kids, with groups of other families (one year we took over the whole place), and have recommended it to friends on their honeymoon. Marianne and Haim are fantastic, the staff is friendly, the place is always clean and accomidating, and surf lessons with Haim were great. The prices are the most reasonable in the area - especially for what you get. Your own kitchen, taxi and reservation assistance, maid service, laundry on site, and a pool.

We highly recommend the Oasis and wouldn't stay anywhere else in Mal Pais or Santa Teresa.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Oasis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oasis

Address: 300 Meters South of Playa Carmen Intersection, Mal Pais, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Mal Pais
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Mal Pais
#1 Family Hotel in Mal Pais
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mal Pais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oasis is a cozy, friendly, family-owned hotel in Mal Pais (or Malpais) on the southern tip of the Nicoya Peninsula. It is located just a mile away from the Cabo Blanco Nature Reserve, and steps away from the Pacific Ocean.Costa Rica’s famous Playa Carmen and Santa Teresa beaches are a five minutes walk away. Both beaches are considered some of the best surf spots in all Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Oasis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oasis Hotel Mal Pais
Hotel Oasis Costa Rica/Mal Pais

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Oasis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.