We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feeling like family at the Oasis.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Oasis

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Oasis to your Saves list
Hotel Oasis
300 Meters South of Playa Carmen Intersection, Mal Pais, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Mal Pais
San Diego, California
1 review
“Feeling like family at the Oasis.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2011

I could have stayed anywhere in Mal Pais but from now on my choice will be “Hotel Oasis”. I was greeted with a big “welcome” smile. My room was clean and comfortable. The location is great with the beach across the street and everything else I needed just down the street. I came back to my room in the afternoon to find my bed made and clean towels every day. You can tell they take pride in their service are very helpful in getting you relaxed and comfortable. I saw that they had added a beautiful wood deck expanding the pool area. I plan on coming back soon and when I do I will be staying at the “Hotel Oasis”.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    15
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
35
52
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
vermont
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2011

We have stayed here four times. With and without kids, with groups of other families (one year we took over the whole place), and have recommended it to friends on their honeymoon. Marianne and Haim are fantastic, the staff is friendly, the place is always clean and accomidating, and surf lessons with Haim were great. The prices are the most reasonable in the area - especially for what you get. Your own kitchen, taxi and reservation assistance, maid service, laundry on site, and a pool.

We highly recommend the Oasis and wouldn't stay anywhere else in Mal Pais or Santa Teresa.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Tisbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2011

In the past I have rented private houses in Playa Carmen and other Hotel rooms in Santa Teresa. I was looking for a small not to busy place with a pool to get away from a stressful work load. and 7 years ago I started spending Thanksgiving, Christmas and New Years at Oasis.
Close 10 min. natural walk to the beach, restaurants, bars and markets. The fishing village is a 5 min drive south and great fishing is a 15 minute beautiful boat ride to Cabo Blanco weather its at 6 AM for sunrise or returning at sunset.
The cabanas have no telephones, free wi-fi & cable TV and the best service is Maritza who heads the Domestic Engineering Department for Marianne and Heim. Cabanas are cleaned, sheets and towel's changed daily. Taxi's are a short phone call away. Parking is a separate area away from lodgings.
Marianne, Heim & Maritza have always made my friends and I feel like this was our home away from home. Personally looking forward to my next visit. Keep in mind my rating values may differ from yours.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beach haven, nj
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2011

Iv been to the Oasis in mal paid 3 times now and will be returning again. I had a huge trip booked across all of central America and in less then one week I canceled all plans called Marianne (the owner and most resourcful women ever) and said I'm in Guatemala and I want to be at the oasis.. Within 2 days I had a plane, a room , a car, and dinner reservations with one phone call Marianne took care of everything. The Oasis is just outside of playa Carmen which gives you the option to head to bed or to town. Anytime I have ever had amy problem Marianne and her husband Haim drop everything and fix immediately. They are two fantastic people with an awesome hotel.. I will continue tO come for years to come..

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2010

went to costa rica on a surf trip with some friends and we had the chance to stay at oasis in mal pais. haim the owner was amazing giving as tips where to surf and when.
Accommodations are very comfortable, kitchen, Free WI-FI, Cable TV at a very affordable price, We had a great time

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yakima
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2010

This being my seventh trip to Costa Rica it is getting harder and harder to find a great hotel for an economical price. Hotel Oasis is definitely one of those places. The price was great and located within walking distance to town and the beach in five minutes. Nice little bungalows/cabins that were very clean with air and hot showers. Great little patio with kitchenette and hammock for those rainy days. The kids loved the pool and found lots to do on the grounds of the hotel. Best of all was the willingness of the staff to help answer questions and even helped us print out and fax our next hotel reservation! You could pay a lot more to stay in a similar hotel but why? Great Hotel!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2010

The place feels like a small hamlet rather than a hotel, and our teens loved the pool and atmosphere, not to mention the excellent surf and huge beach.The hosts were kind and available, while service was respectful and consistent.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mal Pais
0.9 mi away
Hotel Vista de Olas
Hotel Vista de Olas
#2 of 9 in Mal Pais
4.5 of 5 stars 399 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel The Place
Hotel The Place
#6 of 9 in Mal Pais
4.5 of 5 stars 136 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Moana
Hotel Moana
#4 of 9 in Mal Pais
4.5 of 5 stars 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Indigo Yoga Surf Resort
Indigo Yoga Surf Resort
#5 of 9 in Mal Pais
4.5 of 5 stars 17 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#17 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.0 of 5 stars 327 reviews
4.5 mi away
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
#7 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 stars 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Oasis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oasis

Address: 300 Meters South of Playa Carmen Intersection, Mal Pais, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Mal Pais
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Mal Pais
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mal Pais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oasis is a cozy, friendly, family-owned hotel in Mal Pais (or Malpais) on the southern tip of the Nicoya Peninsula. It is located just a mile away from the Cabo Blanco Nature Reserve, and steps away from the Pacific Ocean.Costa Rica’s famous Playa Carmen and Santa Teresa beaches are a five minutes walk away. Both beaches are considered some of the best surf spots in all Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Oasis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oasis Hotel Mal Pais
Hotel Oasis Costa Rica/Mal Pais

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Oasis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.