We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bijou in Malpais!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel The Place

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel The Place to your Saves list
Hotel The Place
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   200 mts from Hotel Frank's Place direction Mal Pais, Mal Pais, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Mal Pais
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Zürich
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Bijou in Malpais!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2009

I did spent 2 weeks at this very nice place, which I call it's a "Bijou". The pool is outstanding! The hotel is located very near to the center of Malpais and the beach is very close. I love the rooms, which are decorated with heart and each bungalow shows up in a different style. I love little Boutique-Hotels as "The Place" and the service is friendly with a warm atmoshpere. I only can recommend that hotel. The staff was very helpful in booking and find your activities.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    28
    9
    8
    4
See reviews for
22
53
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norway
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2009

Firstly, I'm very surprised after reading some of the other reviews.
Anyway, we spent two weeks at The Place and loved it, -the service, the bungalows, the food... the works. When travelling is always nice to have someone "local" to trust. We did several "expeditions" while there, and when we asked the staff at The Place for tour recommendations we always got very helpful, but even more importantly, honest answers.

Go, it's the place!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2009

This was the most expensive hotel we stayed at on our visit to Costa Rica and it was not worth the money. While the room was nicely furnished it was dusty and bug infested (we were visiting at the end of the dry season). The pool was not clean and the courtyard again was coated with a layer of dust. The upside was a friendly staff, but they did not compare to the level of service we recieved in the two other hotels we visited on our trip to Costa Rica (Pura Vida in Alejuela and El Silencio Del Campo in La Fortuna). I would advise travelers to look elsewhere for a hotel to stay at in Mal Pais.

Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2009

We stayed here for 3 nights and did not enjoy the hotel at all. While the bungalows are pretty cool and have an excellent layout, they were not very clean and were run down.

Mal Pais can get very dry and dusty in the warm season which we can live with providing we have a nice place to sleep at night. The sheets seemed clean but the bathroom was disgusting. The toilet looked like it hadn't been cleaned in months, there were brown stains on the inside and the seat was gross. The showers were not clean and i would not go barefoot in that thing.

One our 2nd night there we had an ant infestation and found at least 50-60 ants crawling out of a hole and up the walls. These were not small ants either but very large ones and some had wings. We told the person at reception who was very helpful and sprayed Raid throughout the room that night. Bugs are common in CR but these ants were more than we could comfortably handle. On our last night there we found a scorpion in our room! We ended up pulling the bed away from the wall to sleep that night. I woke-up at about 4am to go to the bathroom, when i noticed there was no water. The water was out for the rest of the day until we left that afternoon.

The pool looks nice but is actually steaming hot. It's not that refreshing to come back from the hot beach and take a dip into a hot pool. Oh and we didn't trust eating at the restaurant there since no one else was eating there.

The staff were friendly but this was by far the worst place we stayed at during our 2 weeks in Costa Rica. They've unfortunately let the place go downhill over the past few years.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilly Maine
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2008

We found the Place to be most relaxing and friendly for our 2 night visit. The staff were friendly and cordial the room was very nice and cleaned nicely, the pool divine and breakfasts were excellent. The grounds are very nice and airy with many birds. The AC did not seem to work but the ceiling fans were powerful and it wasnt too warm at night perhaps since we were between seasons. Mal Pais has seriously lovely beach and the town offers many eateries. We enjoyed our stay here and especially the sunsets with Pina coladas.

  • Liked — nice airy, clean room
  • Disliked — very dusty road
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2008

We stayed at The Place for 3 nights while in Mal Pais - we were on a budget and couldn't afford one of the cabanas (we did see them and they were really nice) and had to settle on one of the smaller rooms in the main building. Since business was a little slow they gave us a great rate of only $60 night (including tax). Our room was nicely decorated and probably had one of the most comfortable beds I've slept on in four trips to Costa Rica.

The property has one of the nicest pools I've seen in Costa RIca and there are great and comfortable lounge chairs scattered about. Breakfast was offered for $8/person but we chose to eat elsewhere while we were there. They also offer a laundry service for $10/bag that we used.

Next door is Ritmo Tropical which has some really good Italian Food - so good we ate there twice!

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2008

We stayed at the hotel last month and it´s definitly¨ the place¨ to stay. They have a very friendly staff that helped us during all our trip.
The rooms are really nice decorated, we stayed in a bungalow, an open room a lot like costa rican style. We talked to the owner she told us that they are going to remodelate and close them to put a/C, a grate idea because costa rica it´s really really hot!!!!!!!!! We enjoy a lot the amazing drinks mayrol made for us sitting in the pool listening to music a very chilled experience.
Thank´s a lot the place for making our vacations an experience we are never going to forget.
Catalina

  • Stayed May 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel The Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Place

Address: 200 mts from Hotel Frank's Place direction Mal Pais, Mal Pais, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Mal Pais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Mal Pais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel The Place 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel The Place is within short walking distance to the main beach Playa Carmen,in close proximity to the center of town with easy access to shops,restaurants and banks. The hotel features standard rooms, bungalows and a vacation home. A beautiful free form pool with waterfall invites our guest for a swimm.You can enjoy breakfast in our lounge in the morning or, starting april 2012, prepare your own meal in our open Rancho kitchen.We gladly organize tours and transfers leaving from the Hotel.The Place is an ideal establishment to relax and feel at home for couples, families and smaller groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel The Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surf The Place Hotel
Hotel The Place Costa Rica/Mal Pais

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel The Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.