We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family spot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel The Place

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel The Place to your Saves list
Hotel The Place
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   200 mts from Hotel Frank's Place direction Mal Pais, Mal Pais, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Mal Pais
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great family spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Our family of five had a wonderful surf vacation at Hotel The Place. It is clean, cozy and welcoming. The staff could not be friendlier or more helpful. It is not fancy, but is like staying at your friend's family compound on the lake. So relaxing. Great AC (if you want it), beds and fresh towels.
Breakfast was excellent, and we lounged by the pool as we ate. Easy walk to the beach and into town. Reasonably priced.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    26
    9
    8
    4
See reviews for
21
48
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Rafael de Escazu, Costa Rica
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Spent 3 wonderful days with my 2 kids. they have the most amazing pool and comfortable lounge chairs... I didn't even move from there during my stay, no need to go elsewhere, the attention is perfect. the house where we stay has the most cute decoration I haven[t seen in a LONG TIME.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

If you're looking for a luxurious resort style hotel, it's not this one. The rooms here are small, there is no television, and amenities are sparse. However, if you are looking for a place to disconnect from modern convenience and enjoy natural beauty, hospitality and truly understand Pura Vida, stay at Hotel The Place. Everyone we encountered during our stay were sweet and sincere. The hotel has a BEAUTIFUL pool. It's where we spent most of our stay when we weren't on the beach or sleeping. The water was the perfect temperature and the landscaping was made to feel like paradise. Also, it's only a 6 minute walk to the best beach on earth! Im sure there are more accommodating hotels if you're looking for a full-service, modern experience. But in terms of relaxing and slowing down to appreciate the natural beauty of Costa Rica while meeting some awesome people, we couldn't have picked a better spot.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Uva, Costa Rica
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Just spend 3 beautiful days at the place and it was fabulous. I read some bad reviews and I really do not understand where it is coming from. We had the Ocean Breeze bungalow, it was spotless, spacious even for the 4 of us. Top quality mattresses, fluffy towels and good services, the breakfast was amazing and the staff was very friendly. It is also very close to the beach and all ammenities. we traveled a lot and would recommend this hotel to anyone.
Emmanuelle.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Because of the really nice pool and pool area I would say 3-stars...but for this price (around 140dollars/night) you really would expect more...so 2 stars..

1 star is for the friendly staff, nice welcome
1 star for the pool, large and nicely designed

However I would never come back en not recommend it. The bungalows are large, but old. There is dust on every higher located spot, we had around 50 large RED ants in our bungalow (including the bed!!). I know this is Costa Rica, but I have been travelling for over a month in CR and this is not OK for such an upmarket price.
The decoration is poor. As is the design...4 beds in 1 bungalow...and the toilet and shower are all in the same room...no doors or ceiling!!! Just a curtain....
And everywhere there is posted that the hotel is for sale! So I guess there are no large investments being made...

It really is not a horrible place, and as I said the staff is so friendly, but this is not what you might expect for this price! Look for better option, or ask for big discount.

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theplace, Owner at Hotel The Place, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear Client

We are sorry to hear that you did only enjoy part of your stay at our hotel. We will definetely check on the room cleaning and the ant problem. Some times this can happend depending the time of the year. All our bungalows have been updated and painted just before the start of the season 2013/14 but we definetley will try to make it better. Thank you for the nice response on our staff !

Hotel The Place
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at The Place for two nights and we're highly disappointed with our experience. Not only was the staff inflexible when it came to small things like extra towels, but also the rooms were dingy and we didn't even have a bathroom door. The website is misleading in terms of presentation of the hotel and I would suggest looking into other lodging options in the area.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theplace, General Manager at Hotel The Place, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear customer

We are sorry to hear, that you did not enjoy your stay in our hotel. We would like to take the opportunity to clarify some points. We are committed to be an environment friendly business and are conscious of the waste of energy. In all rooms you will find the information about our towel policy. You have a fresh set of towels every day if you wish so, or you can keep your towels an extra day if you decide to help the environment. You always can ask for an extra towel which will be provided. At check in we inform our guests about our free pool towel service. We tried to make your stay comfortable and provided also a late check out. Like in all hotels all over the world, there is a check at the end of the room and minibar. We are sorry that you felt maybe offended, that the staff put to your attention, that there was an open bill for the minibar consumption to settle.

Hotel The Place
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

We stayed there for couple of nights, and the hotel is great, location is excellent, has a free parking, pool, and included a very nice breakfast. The pool area is really nice after a long day surfing, relax at the bar listen great reggae tunes and enjoy the trip!!!! Staff is helpful and friendly!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theplace, Owner at Hotel The Place, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
We would like to thank you for your nice comment. It is a pleasure to have clients like you staying with us and a reward for our staff

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel The Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Place

Address: 200 mts from Hotel Frank's Place direction Mal Pais, Mal Pais, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Mal Pais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Mal Pais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel The Place 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel The Place is within short walking distance to the main beach Playa Carmen,in close proximity to the center of town with easy access to shops,restaurants and banks. The hotel features standard rooms, bungalows and a vacation home. A beautiful free form pool with waterfall invites our guest for a swimm.You can enjoy breakfast in our lounge in the morning or, starting april 2012, prepare your own meal in our open Rancho kitchen.We gladly organize tours and transfers leaving from the Hotel.The Place is an ideal establishment to relax and feel at home for couples, families and smaller groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel The Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surf The Place Hotel
Hotel The Place Costa Rica/Mal Pais

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel The Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.