We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWSOME!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel The Place

Save Saved
You added Hotel The Place to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel The Place
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   200 mts from Hotel Frank's Place direction Mal Pais, Mal Pais, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 10 hotels in Mal Pais
Punta Uva, Costa Rica
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“AWSOME!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Just spend 3 beautiful days at the place and it was fabulous. I read some bad reviews and I really do not understand where it is coming from. We had the Ocean Breeze bungalow, it was spotless, spacious even for the 4 of us. Top quality mattresses, fluffy towels and good services, the breakfast was amazing and the staff was very friendly. It is also very close to the beach and all ammenities. we traveled a lot and would recommend this hotel to anyone.
Emmanuelle.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    65
    26
    9
    8
    4
See reviews for
21
48
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Because of the really nice pool and pool area I would say 3-stars...but for this price (around 140dollars/night) you really would expect more...so 2 stars..

1 star is for the friendly staff, nice welcome
1 star for the pool, large and nicely designed

However I would never come back en not recommend it. The bungalows are large, but old. There is dust on every higher located spot, we had around 50 large RED ants in our bungalow (including the bed!!). I know this is Costa Rica, but I have been travelling for over a month in CR and this is not OK for such an upmarket price.
The decoration is poor. As is the design...4 beds in 1 bungalow...and the toilet and shower are all in the same room...no doors or ceiling!!! Just a curtain....
And everywhere there is posted that the hotel is for sale! So I guess there are no large investments being made...

It really is not a horrible place, and as I said the staff is so friendly, but this is not what you might expect for this price! Look for better option, or ask for big discount.

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theplace, Owner at Hotel The Place, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear Client

We are sorry to hear that you did only enjoy part of your stay at our hotel. We will definetely check on the room cleaning and the ant problem. Some times this can happend depending the time of the year. All our bungalows have been updated and painted just before the start of the season 2013/14 but we definetley will try to make it better. Thank you for the nice response on our staff !

Hotel The Place
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at The Place for two nights and we're highly disappointed with our experience. Not only was the staff inflexible when it came to small things like extra towels, but also the rooms were dingy and we didn't even have a bathroom door. The website is misleading in terms of presentation of the hotel and I would suggest looking into other lodging options in the area.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theplace, General Manager at Hotel The Place, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear customer

We are sorry to hear, that you did not enjoy your stay in our hotel. We would like to take the opportunity to clarify some points. We are committed to be an environment friendly business and are conscious of the waste of energy. In all rooms you will find the information about our towel policy. You have a fresh set of towels every day if you wish so, or you can keep your towels an extra day if you decide to help the environment. You always can ask for an extra towel which will be provided. At check in we inform our guests about our free pool towel service. We tried to make your stay comfortable and provided also a late check out. Like in all hotels all over the world, there is a check at the end of the room and minibar. We are sorry that you felt maybe offended, that the staff put to your attention, that there was an open bill for the minibar consumption to settle.

Hotel The Place
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

We stayed there for couple of nights, and the hotel is great, location is excellent, has a free parking, pool, and included a very nice breakfast. The pool area is really nice after a long day surfing, relax at the bar listen great reggae tunes and enjoy the trip!!!! Staff is helpful and friendly!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theplace, Owner at Hotel The Place, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
We would like to thank you for your nice comment. It is a pleasure to have clients like you staying with us and a reward for our staff

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

My partner and I booked a standard room, and were extremely disappointed as the pictures on the hotels website did not even come close to resembling the room that we stayed in. The room is a decent size, but the room is old, dingy and lacking charm. The room did not have a television, and the internet was hit or miss; sometimes it worked and sometimes it did not. The pool is nice, however, they do not supply pool towels so some of the loungers were really dirty. The staff was not welcoming at all, and quite rude at times. I would not stay here again. Definitely not recommended.

Room Tip: Do not stay in a standard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theplace, Manager at Hotel The Place, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear customer

We are sorry to hear, that you did not enjoy your stay. We would like to take the opportunity to clarify some points. We are committed to be an environment friendly business and are conscious of the waste of energy. In all rooms you will find the information about our towel policy. You have a fresh set of towels every day if you wish so, or you can keep your towels an extra day if you decide to help the environment. You always can ask for an extra towel which will be provided. At check in we inform our guests about our free pool towel service. We do not advertise on our webpage that we provide TV’s and unfortunately internet can cause some times a little problem in Costa Rica and it is not in our control.
We do appreciate that you contact the manager on site during your stay, if there is a problem with the staff and we are sure that we can provide a solution.

Hotel The Place
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

The location, the friendly helpful staff, the food, Yvonne our host, the beds, the pool, the mojitos everything was really, really great. We were very happy with our stay and hope to return some day.
Ryan

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edmonton
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

What a great spot! Nice and quiet and just a touch away from the hub bub of Main Street. Easy walking distance to restaurants and beach. I stayed in one of the little villas overlooking the pool with which easily accommodated three adults and my daughter stayed in one of the basic rooms. Both were very nice and comfortable with easy access to the pool. Restaurant is very good, a little pricey but great selection. A very nice menu selection for the included breakfast was very good, much better than most included breakfasts (recommend the breakfast burrito to keep you satisfied until supper time). Staff was very accommodating and friendly making our stay a wonderful part of our Costa Rican adventure.

Room Tip: All of the rooms appeared to be nice. I loved our little villa but could use a little more path ligh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel The Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Place

Address: 200 mts from Hotel Frank's Place direction Mal Pais, Mal Pais, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Mal Pais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Mal Pais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel The Place 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel The Place is within short walking distance to the main beach Playa Carmen,in close proximity to the center of town with easy access to shops,restaurants and banks. The hotel features standard rooms, bungalows and a vacation home. A beautiful free form pool with waterfall invites our guest for a swimm.You can enjoy breakfast in our lounge in the morning or, starting april 2012, prepare your own meal in our open Rancho kitchen.We gladly organize tours and transfers leaving from the Hotel.The Place is an ideal establishment to relax and feel at home for couples, families and smaller groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Hotel The Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surf The Place Hotel
Hotel The Place Costa Rica/Mal Pais

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel The Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.