We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel The Place

Save Saved
You added Hotel The Place to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel The Place
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   200 mts from Hotel Frank's Place direction Mal Pais, Mal Pais, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 10 hotels in Mal Pais
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“We loved it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

The location, the friendly helpful staff, the food, Yvonne our host, the beds, the pool, the mojitos everything was really, really great. We were very happy with our stay and hope to return some day.
Ryan

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    65
    26
    9
    8
    4
See reviews for
21
48
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
edmonton
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

What a great spot! Nice and quiet and just a touch away from the hub bub of Main Street. Easy walking distance to restaurants and beach. I stayed in one of the little villas overlooking the pool with which easily accommodated three adults and my daughter stayed in one of the basic rooms. Both were very nice and comfortable with easy access to the pool. Restaurant is very good, a little pricey but great selection. A very nice menu selection for the included breakfast was very good, much better than most included breakfasts (recommend the breakfast burrito to keep you satisfied until supper time). Staff was very accommodating and friendly making our stay a wonderful part of our Costa Rican adventure.

Room Tip: All of the rooms appeared to be nice. I loved our little villa but could use a little more path ligh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

A beautiful property, with a handful of bungalows laid out on the hill ensuring privacy. Each bungalow is decorated uniquely and all our stunning. The place has a great pool area, serves amazing breakfasts, plays some decent tunes and is run very efficiently by Yvonne and Chris and their small team of passionate staff.

A great location just minutes walk from the restaurants and five minutes from the surf.

I rarely write reviews on trip advisor unless something is exceptional and the place truly is exceptional

Room Tip: Splash out extra on a bungalow you will not be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kihei, Hawaii, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

Such an inviting place! We stayed at a very nice bungalow.. We chose the African styled room. Super clean and beautiful property with breakfast included. So relaxing, we didn't want to leave! We were a five minute walking distance to the center of town. Safe and secured parking. Clean pool and beautiful lounge area.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

I loved how conveniently located "The Place" is. I did not rent a car but wherever I wanted to go the staff was very gracious to help me. Speaking of the staff Frank and Graciella were so very nice and pleasant. If I wanted to hang out and chat they where there and if I just wanted quiet time to myself they left me alone. They both were quite helpful in any excursions or advetures I was into. They made it very painless and hassle free. Breakfast options are delicious and the sunsets are beautiful by the pool. I also loved the fact that my bungalow was my home for a week. Very nice and clean. There were a few of the red ants at night but I don't think one can do much about that. Ants always have a way and then they go away. I would highly recommend if one is looking for a truly relaxing vacation. Mal Pais is awesome.

Room Tip: get a bungalow
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Long story short - "The Place" does not live up to its name or its website. We stayed in The Villa & it was anything but luxurious. Baby ticks, crabs, and lizards to name a few of the fun encounters. It rained the first night and the entire living room area was flooded. It is a shame because it has wonderful potential. The owner is not even present to properly run and oversee the operations. We were very disappointed all around and found another hotel for the remainder of our visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Hotel the Place is a perfect stop in Mal Pais. The decor is comfortable and hip. The pool is beautiful and the staff is so sweet. The standard room was just perfect for us and we felt so safe. Breakfast and coffee every morning in the coolest open air surroundings was exceptional. The hotel is just a short walk from the town and beaches. This is definitely a place that we will return to for years to come. The coolest home away from home.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel The Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Place

Address: 200 mts from Hotel Frank's Place direction Mal Pais, Mal Pais, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Mal Pais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Mal Pais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel The Place 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel The Place is within short walking distance to the main beach Playa Carmen,in close proximity to the center of town with easy access to shops,restaurants and banks. The hotel features standard rooms, bungalows and a vacation home. A beautiful free form pool with waterfall invites our guest for a swimm.You can enjoy breakfast in our lounge in the morning or, starting april 2012, prepare your own meal in our open Rancho kitchen.We gladly organize tours and transfers leaving from the Hotel.The Place is an ideal establishment to relax and feel at home for couples, families and smaller groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Hotel The Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surf The Place Hotel
Hotel The Place Costa Rica/Mal Pais

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel The Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;