We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So relaxing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel The Place

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel The Place to your Saves list
Hotel The Place
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   200 mts from Hotel Frank's Place direction Mal Pais, Mal Pais, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Mal Pais
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“So relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

I loved how conveniently located "The Place" is. I did not rent a car but wherever I wanted to go the staff was very gracious to help me. Speaking of the staff Frank and Graciella were so very nice and pleasant. If I wanted to hang out and chat they where there and if I just wanted quiet time to myself they left me alone. They both were quite helpful in any excursions or advetures I was into. They made it very painless and hassle free. Breakfast options are delicious and the sunsets are beautiful by the pool. I also loved the fact that my bungalow was my home for a week. Very nice and clean. There were a few of the red ants at night but I don't think one can do much about that. Ants always have a way and then they go away. I would highly recommend if one is looking for a truly relaxing vacation. Mal Pais is awesome.

Room Tip: get a bungalow
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    28
    9
    8
    4
See reviews for
22
54
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Long story short - "The Place" does not live up to its name or its website. We stayed in The Villa & it was anything but luxurious. Baby ticks, crabs, and lizards to name a few of the fun encounters. It rained the first night and the entire living room area was flooded. It is a shame because it has wonderful potential. The owner is not even present to properly run and oversee the operations. We were very disappointed all around and found another hotel for the remainder of our visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Hotel the Place is a perfect stop in Mal Pais. The decor is comfortable and hip. The pool is beautiful and the staff is so sweet. The standard room was just perfect for us and we felt so safe. Breakfast and coffee every morning in the coolest open air surroundings was exceptional. The hotel is just a short walk from the town and beaches. This is definitely a place that we will return to for years to come. The coolest home away from home.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
asbury park, nj
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Let's look on the bright side first ... great coffee, immaculate pool, walking distance to the beach, and definitely affordable! But what do you really want in a hotel? For us, the beds were too hard, it wasn't a comfortable night's sleep. The bed skirt was dirty, it looked like it hadn't been replaced in years. Thank god the sheets were decent. The shower was burning hot one minute and freezing the next. The drain was clogged so the water pooled up while you were showering. Overall, if you have a family and you're looking for something affordable… this is your place. But if you're looking for something on the nicer side, look elsewhere!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Oregon, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

First there is the swimming pool. It is the perfect temperature for human beings. Then there are the well-placed bungalows, and the proximity to the little town. Everything was perfect. It's a chore to get there, what with the roads being dusty and rutted, but once there, we could really unwind. We frequented "The Bakery" about 2 blocks away. Actually, we ate every meal there. Try the chocolate bomb. The Place is a sweet experience and we recommend it.

Room Tip: Not a bad one
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I found the hotel good on some counts and less so on others. The low point was the welcome- when we arrived (really tired) it was swiftly explained that breakfast wasn't included (we booked via booking.com and thought we were splashing out so it was disappointing). Also we were told the charge for lost keys was $100- apparently lots of people lost keys on the beach so this was understandable, but all in all these things didn't mean any kind of warm welcome, more like arriving to a bit of a downer. The french doors in our bungalow didn't open- some key problem- so could only use the side door.
The place is incredibly dusty - all over the dining and pool area because its next to the dirt road- a hotel further from the road may be better. To its credit the dining area and pool were otherwise lovely with lots of bed and sofa areas. The room itself was lovely too- beautifully and tastefully decorated in good condition- prepare yourself for only a curtain separating bedroom and toilet for those with modesty issues!
Another low was that we had to leave in an emergency due to bereavement, and though staff kindly let us briefly call abroad on their phone, there was no question of paying only for the nights we had stayed- we had to pay for all the nights we had booked for. Again understandable- it is a business- but not kind. Overall a mixed experience.

Room Tip: as far from the road as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theplace, Manager at Hotel The Place, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Customer

Please be aware of that when you book over a booking site and not directly over the hotel your contact partner is the booking site with their cancellation policy. For safety reasons we do explicitly tell our clients not to take the hotel keys to the beach. Unfortunately in your case we had to change all the locks of the room. We also would like to mention at this point that the reception was opend outside the opening hours by our staff so you can make an international telephone call which was
not settled by you when leaving the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We arrived in Mal Pais after spending 4 nights in Nosara. If you are planning on taking this route I absolutely recommend that you stick to the coastal "roads" and ignore the boring tar sealed road that cuts through the centre of the peninsula. This journey is one of my most memorable and includes driving through several rivers, through loads of lovely lush jungle and even a little spell driving along the beach.

Anyway, my fiancée and I initially booked for 5 nights at "The Place" but we ended up staying on for 7 due to feeling so at home and relaxed during our stay.

Our extremely positive experience started off when the very friendly owner almost insisted that we knew each other and continued when we were introduced to Franck and Estella, both of whom were extremely friendly and helpful.

Just as we were checking in, Franck informed us that as we were staying for 5 nights, the owner had upgraded us to the very lovely villa! It was perfect for relaxing, very spacious and included a kitchen, meaning we could make our own meals, something we weren't expecting.

The pool and bar area are like a little slice of Ibiza complete with Cafe del Mar soundtrack and was also a great place to relax. It feels almost engineered to bring on cravings for cocktails and soaking up the sun.

I find it a little crazy that people are complaining about ants and other wildlife invading the bungalows and other areas! What do you expect? The accommodation is amongst the jungle so this is their domain and to be expected. If you want somewhere free of native insects etc then go and stay somewhere clinical away from the jungle or embrace the little guys!

We found it quite hard to find nice, clean and relatively stylish lodgings at an affordable price when in Costa Rica and this place ticked all the boxes. It is also well placed for the great surf beach at Carmen. We'll definitely return if we find ourselves back in Costa Rica.

Room Tip: Stay longer and see if you also receive the free upgrade to the villa :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel The Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Place

Address: 200 mts from Hotel Frank's Place direction Mal Pais, Mal Pais, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Mal Pais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Mal Pais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel The Place 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel The Place is within short walking distance to the main beach Playa Carmen,in close proximity to the center of town with easy access to shops,restaurants and banks. The hotel features standard rooms, bungalows and a vacation home. A beautiful free form pool with waterfall invites our guest for a swimm.You can enjoy breakfast in our lounge in the morning or, starting april 2012, prepare your own meal in our open Rancho kitchen.We gladly organize tours and transfers leaving from the Hotel.The Place is an ideal establishment to relax and feel at home for couples, families and smaller groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel The Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surf The Place Hotel
Hotel The Place Costa Rica/Mal Pais

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel The Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.