We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly what we were looking for.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel The Place

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel The Place to your Saves list
Hotel The Place
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   200 mts from Hotel Frank's Place direction Mal Pais, Mal Pais, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Mal Pais
Certificate of Excellence 2014
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Exactly what we were looking for.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

My wife and I spent 5 nights here. We found it to be in the perfect location. We had a rental car with us but left it parked often because it's a short walk into Santa Teresa where all the action is: the Bakery, the ice cream, playa carmen, las piedras, the markets etc. It was super nice to be close but outside of the bumpy chaotic whimsical little town.

We had the safari themed bungalow, which was more tastefully decorated then it sounds. A small fridge, two fans, AC, a few friendly creatures outside our door (and occasionally inside), hot showers, high cieling, comfortable bed, shelves to unpack, rustic chairs, and a few cheetah pillows.

This Carmen person we read about in previous posts was not present during our stay except on the very last day. But Guilliam and Lisa kept an eye on the place and gave us fantastic tips on where to go and what to see around Mal Pais and Santa Teresa. They were pleasant to see, and really seemed to enjoy jack johnson. I should buy them some new music.

Two small points of criticism, it was nice to chill at the pool, but we felt like we had to leave for meals or a bar because the scene was dead... Or some may call this pleasantly quiet. I think because this Carmen was out of town, the restaurant at the place was closed. 2, the lock on our door was tricky making it a pain every time we left the room to lock up. It seems very secluded and safe and I don't think we even needed to lock up really, but we're Americans from a big city and locking our door is a point of comfort.

It's a beautiful place... Hope to come back... Soon

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    28
    11
    8
    4
See reviews for
22
57
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Great boutique hotel! Beautiful grounds, lovely pool. Quaint and secluded, yet within walking distance to restaurants, shops and the beach. The manager, Candace was extremely helpful and friendly, as this was our first trip to Costa Rica, she had great suggestions for us. In fact, we didn't even need the travel guide we picked up before our trip! (although that's how we found The Place) We loved the bungalow we stayed in and we awoke one morning to howler monkeys in the tree above our room. Would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: We stayed in the African bungalow and loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Excellent place to stay. Very peaceful. The manager and staff were very knowledgable and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

When we got there, Candice (the manager) immediately made us feel at home…Very friendly, she spent time giving us tips on where to us where to go, what to see… We also had a great time speaking with her and her husband who is the Chef and prepare delicious meals (Chez Moi Restaurant).
The bungalows are clean, large, comfortable and very nice (equipped with fan and AC). The swimming pool and gardens are very well maintained and really beautiful.
The whole staff is great and friendly (thanks Nicolas – the Barman). A special thanks to the owners who have invited us to a barbecue with their friends!!
If you like big resorts with standardized room without any soul ….don’t stop there because it is just the opposite. It is a place to relax, chill out and lay back….
There is also Laurent (Lolo), the surf instructor, Candice’s friend who can provide surf lessons….he brought me to uncrowned beaches and we had epic surf sessions with him and his wife.

For me “The Place” is the spot to be in Mal Pais – Pura Vida!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, New Hampshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

Close to town yet its own private paradise. Surrounded by beautiful landscaping and lush flowers, the pool and cabanas are arranged for the utmost in privacy and relaxation. The pool is perfect for kids and adults alike with several levels and a soothing waterfall. The lounge chairs are so comfortable and the food is fantastic. We were in Malpais for 10 days and The Place made the best breakfast! The owner is super friendly and full of great advice for activities. The manager Candice is also fabulous for planning activities (quad rental, zip line and snorkeling). We walked to the beach and town with ease. After a long day in the sun, The Place is so welcoming and relaxing - fantastic open kitchen for guests to use to prepare your own meal as well as a bar/restaurant area if you aren't up for cooking. The kids loved the pool and the cabanas are positioned so well that you hardly see one from another. Clean, modern, fresh. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ny, Ny
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

The Place is quiet and relaxing. Spent a week there and enjoyed every minute of it. Owner is very nice and willing to help us whenever we needed anything. I recommend staying here if you have the chance.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 3 nights Thursday through Saturday. Unfortunately it was the week of Semana Santa but the bar here is very accommodating for travelers unaware of the religious dry days. =)
The pool is great, clean and the lounge area is small but comfy for about 15-20 people. There were never more than like 8 people in the area so it was very nice.
We had the Mexican themed room and we had no issues. I was surprised about the swinging bathroom doors and open wall situation but we figured it out. I like the bar tab system because it's convenient, grab a beer and hop back in the pool.
Candace was amazing and helped us immensely throughout our trip. She even warned us that if we wanted to make the ferry off the island after semana santa we'd need to leave the hotel 3+ hrs to get there on time. I thought it to be too much time but trusted her judgement and I'm thankful I did.
On another note, I happened to be a guest at the hotel when the reviewer below had the lamp issue. I was quite surprised at how the situation was handled by the owner. I was also surprised, from a business aspect, that in a room that goes for $100 per night, such a costly lamp would be used for decoration, in an area that would be at risk for breakage. This is an unfortunate circumstance that hopefully won't be repeated.
All in all I'd consider staying there again.

Room Tip: seems that the love rooms is not the best choice. I had the mexican themed room with no issues, howe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel The Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Place

Address: 200 mts from Hotel Frank's Place direction Mal Pais, Mal Pais, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Mal Pais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Mal Pais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel The Place 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel The Place is within short walking distance to the main beach Playa Carmen,in close proximity to the center of town with easy access to shops,restaurants and banks. The hotel features standard rooms, bungalows and a vacation home. A beautiful free form pool with waterfall invites our guest for a swimm.You can enjoy breakfast in our lounge in the morning or, starting april 2012, prepare your own meal in our open Rancho kitchen.We gladly organize tours and transfers leaving from the Hotel.The Place is an ideal establishment to relax and feel at home for couples, families and smaller groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel The Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surf The Place Hotel
Hotel The Place Costa Rica/Mal Pais

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel The Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.