We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel The Place

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel The Place to your Saves list
Hotel The Place
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   200 mts from Hotel Frank's Place direction Mal Pais, Mal Pais, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Mal Pais
Ny, Ny
1 review
“The Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

The Place is quiet and relaxing. Spent a week there and enjoyed every minute of it. Owner is very nice and willing to help us whenever we needed anything. I recommend staying here if you have the chance.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    26
    9
    8
    4
See reviews for
21
48
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 3 nights Thursday through Saturday. Unfortunately it was the week of Semana Santa but the bar here is very accommodating for travelers unaware of the religious dry days. =)
The pool is great, clean and the lounge area is small but comfy for about 15-20 people. There were never more than like 8 people in the area so it was very nice.
We had the Mexican themed room and we had no issues. I was surprised about the swinging bathroom doors and open wall situation but we figured it out. I like the bar tab system because it's convenient, grab a beer and hop back in the pool.
Candace was amazing and helped us immensely throughout our trip. She even warned us that if we wanted to make the ferry off the island after semana santa we'd need to leave the hotel 3+ hrs to get there on time. I thought it to be too much time but trusted her judgement and I'm thankful I did.
On another note, I happened to be a guest at the hotel when the reviewer below had the lamp issue. I was quite surprised at how the situation was handled by the owner. I was also surprised, from a business aspect, that in a room that goes for $100 per night, such a costly lamp would be used for decoration, in an area that would be at risk for breakage. This is an unfortunate circumstance that hopefully won't be repeated.
All in all I'd consider staying there again.

Room Tip: seems that the love rooms is not the best choice. I had the mexican themed room with no issues, howe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

The place has had several bad reviews and it all comes down to the inhospitable owner. We spent 8 days here and enjoyed the hotel. We met great people and the manager, Candace, was awesome. At the end of the week stay, we accidentally broke a lamp by accident. When we reported it to the manager, she called the owner who was very short, rude, and unwilling to listen. She ended up charging us $80 for the lamp, stating that the cost + the time it would take her to replace it warranted the price. After further discussion she tried to claim that the price for the lamp is justified since she gave us a deal on our weeklong stay. Needless to say, business lost! We will not be recommending this place to friends.

However THE PLACE NEXT DOOR is HALF the price with nice facilities and rooms with complete walls. Did we mention that the walls of our bungalow were not sealed properly and we had crabs sneaking into our room in the middle of the night.The hotel's solution was to give us a few extra towels to stuff all the cracks!!! The manager said that it was common for them to get everywhere but no one in the hotel next door had crabs in their room =)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theplace, Propietario at Hotel The Place, responded to this review, April 10, 2012
Dear Trip advisor
This client has signed and agreed by check in that he will be responisble for any damages on the property done by him. False statement from the client that i justified the broken lamp charge ( 50% of the original price!) because they have received a discount ! She called me a lier. The client is comparing our hotel with the one next door, were they did not even stay, in price and quality. We can not be critizised by angry clients which do damages to our hotel and beeing charged for, in a business sence. Also the client can not quote the owner or staff or make a comparason of two hotels next to each other acording to trip advisor policy.
Please take this critic asap of our site.

Looking forward to hear from you

Hotel the place
Yvonne Khan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

We stayed there for three nights and had a great time there. The stuffs were very friendly the whole time. It was possible to take two friends from outside to the pool area. The bungalows looked awesome and were really clean. The whole area looks very sophisticated. In the "town" you will find a backery maybe the better (cheaper) choise for breakfast. But try the cocktails at the bar!!!! Thanks a lot.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012 via mobile

Spent 4 nights at the place this past January on vacation. My boyfriend and I stayed in a bungalow room and the accommodation was great. The bungalow was big and had AC a fan, hot water and other amenities.

Candice, the manager was fantastic. She helped arrange everything for us and was incredibly helpful! She knows everything about Costa Rica, and pointed us in all the right directions.

The restaurant at the hotel, Chez Moi was delicious, and has a great chef. We ate there most nights and mornings.

Overall, had a great experience at The Place and would highly reccomend staying there.

Thanks, Candice!!!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012 via mobile

The beach house style rooms were really well designed and comfortable. The staff were also very helpful.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011 via mobile

This place is a piece of paradise, well positioned a very short walk to all the action. Candice was a superb host, the pool and the bar very inviting and as an added bonus the monkeys eating fruit in the tree next to our cabin and the iguanas scurrying along the tin rooves was very entertaining. Overall, very clean and great value.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel The Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Place

Address: 200 mts from Hotel Frank's Place direction Mal Pais, Mal Pais, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Mal Pais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Mal Pais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel The Place 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel The Place is within short walking distance to the main beach Playa Carmen,in close proximity to the center of town with easy access to shops,restaurants and banks. The hotel features standard rooms, bungalows and a vacation home. A beautiful free form pool with waterfall invites our guest for a swimm.You can enjoy breakfast in our lounge in the morning or, starting april 2012, prepare your own meal in our open Rancho kitchen.We gladly organize tours and transfers leaving from the Hotel.The Place is an ideal establishment to relax and feel at home for couples, families and smaller groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel The Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surf The Place Hotel
Hotel The Place Costa Rica/Mal Pais

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel The Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.