We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Place is a Great Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel The Place

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel The Place to your Saves list
Hotel The Place
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   200 mts from Hotel Frank's Place direction Mal Pais, Mal Pais, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Mal Pais
Berlin, Germany
1 review
“The Place is a Great Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

We stayed there for three nights and had a great time there. The stuffs were very friendly the whole time. It was possible to take two friends from outside to the pool area. The bungalows looked awesome and were really clean. The whole area looks very sophisticated. In the "town" you will find a backery maybe the better (cheaper) choise for breakfast. But try the cocktails at the bar!!!! Thanks a lot.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    26
    9
    8
    4
See reviews for
21
48
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012 via mobile

Spent 4 nights at the place this past January on vacation. My boyfriend and I stayed in a bungalow room and the accommodation was great. The bungalow was big and had AC a fan, hot water and other amenities.

Candice, the manager was fantastic. She helped arrange everything for us and was incredibly helpful! She knows everything about Costa Rica, and pointed us in all the right directions.

The restaurant at the hotel, Chez Moi was delicious, and has a great chef. We ate there most nights and mornings.

Overall, had a great experience at The Place and would highly reccomend staying there.

Thanks, Candice!!!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012 via mobile

The beach house style rooms were really well designed and comfortable. The staff were also very helpful.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011 via mobile

This place is a piece of paradise, well positioned a very short walk to all the action. Candice was a superb host, the pool and the bar very inviting and as an added bonus the monkeys eating fruit in the tree next to our cabin and the iguanas scurrying along the tin rooves was very entertaining. Overall, very clean and great value.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

great great great hotel
We stayed in the room and the bungalow and had a first-class stay
the daily managers (Candice and Nico) were the best we could find to make our stay absolutely fantastic
we enjoyed every minute of our stay and even canceled another hotel in Jaco (avoid!) to stay longer
The hotel is very well maintained, the swimming pool is perfect to chill-out, the atmosphere is friendly and stylish. The food is great and affordable, a beautiful mix of Belgium-French and exotic cuisine.
The location is perfect, just 2 minutes away to the town center with the Playa Carmen surf spot and 15 minutes to the beautiful Playa Hermosa.
The staff was always available and helpful.
Futhermore the location of Malpais has managed to keep its local touch, the nature is still wild, as untouched as it can be for a touristic place and so beautiful.
The name is right, for us that was "THE place"

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

We arrived to The Place for 3 nights in a room - we enjoyed everything, the location is perfect, just 5 min from the "center", 5 min from the sea, Candice, in charge of the hotel has been very helpfull explaining all there is to do around Mal Pais.
The restaurant is excellent, the best we tried in town, impeccable value for money and great chilled out atmosphere for a dinner next to the swimming pool. And the breakfast banana pancakes and waffles are delicious !
After those 3 days, we moved on to Jaco, expecting the same laid back atmosphere, but were so disappointed that we actually decided to come back to The Place and enjoy the rest of our stay in Mal Pais instead!! ... We also upgraded to a bungalow in the process, which I recommend as they are really lovely.
It is one of the rare place we would happily go back to on a regular basis to relax and enjoy all there is to do there (the surfing is amazing).
Best Wishes to everybody at The Place - I hope we'll come back soon enough !!!
Frederique and Xavier

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011 via mobile

This was my best Costa Rica Beach Hotel vacation ever. Beautiful rooms, personalized service ( Candice is incredible), relaxing atmosphere, I could stay all day in that beautiful pool, beach so close....,.....I feel like new. "The Place" is a must:). The beach is super close, walking distance, and you can rent surfboards and get lessons from Lollo, a great teacher. Restaurants and a wonderful European bakery are also close-by.
Surfing at playa CARMEN is fantastic.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel The Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Place

Address: 200 mts from Hotel Frank's Place direction Mal Pais, Mal Pais, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Mal Pais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Mal Pais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel The Place 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel The Place is within short walking distance to the main beach Playa Carmen,in close proximity to the center of town with easy access to shops,restaurants and banks. The hotel features standard rooms, bungalows and a vacation home. A beautiful free form pool with waterfall invites our guest for a swimm.You can enjoy breakfast in our lounge in the morning or, starting april 2012, prepare your own meal in our open Rancho kitchen.We gladly organize tours and transfers leaving from the Hotel.The Place is an ideal establishment to relax and feel at home for couples, families and smaller groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel The Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surf The Place Hotel
Hotel The Place Costa Rica/Mal Pais

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel The Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.