We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was amazing and the belgian food was delicious!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel The Place

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel The Place to your Saves list
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Mal Pais
New York City, New York
1 review
“It was amazing and the belgian food was delicious!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

We stayed there with a couple of friends and really enjoyed our holiday.
The staff was really nice to us. Especially Candice who gave us great advice to continue our discoverytrip of Costa rica. She also made us some wonderfull cocktails while enjoying the beautiful pool!
In the evening we ordered some food at the restaurant of the place called "Chez moi". The chef who's from belgium made us delicious home made belgian dishes ( carbonnade, belgian waffles,...) a side from these belgian specialities, he also grilles amazing burgers ( really nice after a day surfing !)

It's really The place i would recommand if you like surfing, great food , relaxing and a lovely surrounding!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    26
    9
    8
    4
See reviews for
21
48
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

This is definitely one of the nicest places in Malpais, very relaxed atmosphere in a pretty setting, close to town, close to Santa Teresa and close to the beach. It is so easy to just walk everywhere, also at night. The food is very good, an excellent quality-price combination in a place with many costly options around. The staff are very helpful and can arrange any trips and excursions as you may wish. I definitely recommend!

Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

Best place my girlfriend and I have enjoyed during our two weeks in Costa Rica. The hotel is very nice and quiet, and located on a slope of the hill, with view on the Pacific ocean. Swimming-pool is open 24/7. People working there are pretty warm and helpful, providing plenty of good advices about things to do in the region.

(PS: special thank to the Belgian cook for his humor and the quality of food - I especially recommand the mustard steak)

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2011

This place is simply amazing! The location was amazingly close to town and the beach. The restaurant was fantastic and the staff was both incredibly helpful and friendly. When we asked, they not only suggested activities but also made all of the arrangements for you. They were also able to provide restaurant and bar suggestions based on what we were looking for and made reservations if required. Very solid choices for breakfast and a full outdoor bar just added to the amenities. Lounging around the pool or hanging in a hammock with a frosty drink was a perfect way to spend an afternoon.
The bungalows were nicely laid out, each bungalow had a different theme and the rooms were kept very clean by the staff. One more thing worth mentioning: the hotel never felt over populated or crowded despite having a number of guests. It was also very easy to find a secluded spot to have private time with your friends/significant others. If you’re planning a trip to Mal Pais, this should top your “must stay” list! After spending five days there I can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with ANY of the bungalows!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011 via mobile

We were so excited to stay at The Place, but our expectations were definitely not met... Our cute little "bungalow" was infested with ants. A lot of this had to do with the rain, but the amount of bugs in the room was insane- I think one night we killed 15 flying ants in about 10 minutes...

Pool filter was broken and whole pool was brown. Also made the mistake of eating there one night (manager cooks) and realized upon checkout that the bill included a 25% tip.

Would not recommend- lots of cuter places in Santa Teresa on the beach- this place is at least a 10- minute walk to the ocean.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theplace, Owner at Hotel The Place, responded to this review, June 10, 2011
Dear Ashley

In May when the rain starts it can happen that there is an outburst of ants anywhere, however we immediately took care of the problem. All of our clients were informed that the pool pump was broken and that the pool would be murky for a few days until repairs were complete. Our restaurant which is run by our Belgian cook has gotten a lot of compliments. In Costa Rica, as in many countries, the 10% mandatory service charge and the 13% sales tax are not included in the display price, which for the record is explicitly mentioned on each page of the menu. For most people, the 200mts distance to the beach is less than a 5 minute walk. We do try to make your stay pleasant and enjoyable and we strive to keep our clients relaxed, happy and satisfied. On occasion in Costa Rica, natures forces still do tend prevail. We apologize for the inconvenience that you had on your stay, however we would like to point out that you were not charged the pre-agreed to penalty for your early departure.
Pura vida
The Place
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2011

I had a little bungalow up a walkway called the 'amor' or something. Quiet area with a table and chair outside, and a super comfortable bed, nice shower and bathroom area. I loved it. They added a refrigerator my last day, which would have been nice to have all week, but will be nice for you! Pool was very nice and the whole vibe on the property was very relaxed. Breakfast was delicious, not much to be had for lunch. The dinner was amazing, filet mignon w/ a bleu cheese sauce and belgian frites, too good! I surf, so it was about a 5 or 10 minute walk to a great longboarding beach, not ideal but it is hard to find a place on the beach in the area. It has better location than a lot of other places because it is close to town. The staff was very kind, always willing to help by arranging breakfast, a massage or a taxi. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2011

My boyfriend has been to Malpais two times and this was my first time. We absolutely loved The Place. We stayed for three nights and wish it was more. Our room was #7 which is located directly near the dining patio. We had a small refrigerator in our room as well. Distance to the beach and town was about a 2-3 minute walk. The rates were unbeatable for the quality and cleanliness in the area. Although our room was next to the dining area it was still very quiet and serene. Not to mention we were steps away from the beautiful clean pool. The food was excellent, probably the best we had in the area. Marcos was very helpful with helping us book a zip lining tour and gave us honest tips on other places to see in the area. Yvonne was also very helpful and she was straightforward and honest. We highly recommend this hotel for couples or people looking to be close to the beach but not directly in the mix of "town".

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel The Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Place

Address: 200 mts from Hotel Frank's Place direction Mal Pais, Mal Pais, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Mal Pais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Mal Pais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel The Place 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel The Place is within short walking distance to the main beach Playa Carmen,in close proximity to the center of town with easy access to shops,restaurants and banks. The hotel features standard rooms, bungalows and a vacation home. A beautiful free form pool with waterfall invites our guest for a swimm.You can enjoy breakfast in our lounge in the morning or, starting april 2012, prepare your own meal in our open Rancho kitchen.We gladly organize tours and transfers leaving from the Hotel.The Place is an ideal establishment to relax and feel at home for couples, families and smaller groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel The Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surf The Place Hotel
Hotel The Place Costa Rica/Mal Pais

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel The Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;