We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced Ant Farm!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel The Place

Save Saved
You added Hotel The Place to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel The Place
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   200 mts from Hotel Frank's Place direction Mal Pais, Mal Pais, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Mal Pais
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Overpriced Ant Farm!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011 via mobile

We were so excited to stay at The Place, but our expectations were definitely not met... Our cute little "bungalow" was infested with ants. A lot of this had to do with the rain, but the amount of bugs in the room was insane- I think one night we killed 15 flying ants in about 10 minutes...

Pool filter was broken and whole pool was brown. Also made the mistake of eating there one night (manager cooks) and realized upon checkout that the bill included a 25% tip.

Would not recommend- lots of cuter places in Santa Teresa on the beach- this place is at least a 10- minute walk to the ocean.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theplace, Owner at Hotel The Place, responded to this review, June 10, 2011
Dear Ashley

In May when the rain starts it can happen that there is an outburst of ants anywhere, however we immediately took care of the problem. All of our clients were informed that the pool pump was broken and that the pool would be murky for a few days until repairs were complete. Our restaurant which is run by our Belgian cook has gotten a lot of compliments. In Costa Rica, as in many countries, the 10% mandatory service charge and the 13% sales tax are not included in the display price, which for the record is explicitly mentioned on each page of the menu. For most people, the 200mts distance to the beach is less than a 5 minute walk. We do try to make your stay pleasant and enjoyable and we strive to keep our clients relaxed, happy and satisfied. On occasion in Costa Rica, natures forces still do tend prevail. We apologize for the inconvenience that you had on your stay, however we would like to point out that you were not charged the pre-agreed to penalty for your early departure.
Pura vida
The Place
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    26
    9
    8
    4
See reviews for
21
48
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2011

I had a little bungalow up a walkway called the 'amor' or something. Quiet area with a table and chair outside, and a super comfortable bed, nice shower and bathroom area. I loved it. They added a refrigerator my last day, which would have been nice to have all week, but will be nice for you! Pool was very nice and the whole vibe on the property was very relaxed. Breakfast was delicious, not much to be had for lunch. The dinner was amazing, filet mignon w/ a bleu cheese sauce and belgian frites, too good! I surf, so it was about a 5 or 10 minute walk to a great longboarding beach, not ideal but it is hard to find a place on the beach in the area. It has better location than a lot of other places because it is close to town. The staff was very kind, always willing to help by arranging breakfast, a massage or a taxi. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2011

My boyfriend has been to Malpais two times and this was my first time. We absolutely loved The Place. We stayed for three nights and wish it was more. Our room was #7 which is located directly near the dining patio. We had a small refrigerator in our room as well. Distance to the beach and town was about a 2-3 minute walk. The rates were unbeatable for the quality and cleanliness in the area. Although our room was next to the dining area it was still very quiet and serene. Not to mention we were steps away from the beautiful clean pool. The food was excellent, probably the best we had in the area. Marcos was very helpful with helping us book a zip lining tour and gave us honest tips on other places to see in the area. Yvonne was also very helpful and she was straightforward and honest. We highly recommend this hotel for couples or people looking to be close to the beach but not directly in the mix of "town".

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2011

We loved this hotel. After a recommendation from a friend, we booked 2 nights at The Place. We stayed in the regular rooms, as opposed to the bungalows. I heard the bungalows provide a better atmosphere, but the standard rooms were completely acceptable, especially for the price. No frills, zero complaints. The pool was great, the food was great, everyone was very laid back and friendly. Very hospitable and fun. There was just something about this hotel that felt special and almost like we were their personal guests. When we return to Costa Rica, we will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, MI
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2011

OK first off, we loved it. We have not had so much fun ever as we had in C.R. This resort was a HUGE part of that fun. They helped us schedule our trips, fixed our meals (which were above and beyond the best we had in Mal Pais) and took care of our daily drink needs. One word will describle the staff.... AMAZING. We loved Candice and Nico, Danielle was fabulous and so great during the daytime hours. The hospitality and cleanliness is so great. They want to make sure your needs are met, and do everything in their power to make it so. The pool has a waterfall, and is SOOO warm..so wonderfully warm! I LOVE the fact that the resort is so eco-friendly too! Be prepared to bring cash for dinners here, but CC are accepted for your stay and your bar bills :) Be aware that you are traveling to the jungle! There are small amounts of bugs! NOT huge bugs, but they are around. The hotel rooms and bungalows are clean as a whistle! We seriously wish we could be right there immediately...we will go back to The Place at Mal Pais again if we make it back to C.R. FOR SURE. GO THERE. They are the best!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caledonia, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2011

This was one of the best trips I have ever taken. Our hostess, Candice met us upon arrival to give us a tour of the resort. Upon entering you are greeted with tropical flowers, a beautiful pool with a waterfall, hammocks, an open air bar and a floating Thai bed! She took each of the three couples to our individual bungalows, we stayed in the Mexico bungalow. The decor was cute and fun, with a great view across the tops of the palm trees. The breakfast was great but the dinners (prepared by Candice's husband Nico) were phenomenal! All of the staff were friendly and quick to help with arranging services for local tours. I can't wait to arrange another trip!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gofast505
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2010

No corporate environment her, just a chill relaxed place to stay. Stayed for several days. Exceptional staff, very friendly environment with an eye on service with being over bearing. Relax on the hanging bed, have a beer at the bar, jump in the pool. Great breakfast. I can not wait to go back. Close to town, close to the beach. Seemed all of us clientele had the same tastes so it was easy to meet other guests and make some friends.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel The Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Place

Address: 200 mts from Hotel Frank's Place direction Mal Pais, Mal Pais, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Mal Pais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Mal Pais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel The Place 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel The Place is within short walking distance to the main beach Playa Carmen,in close proximity to the center of town with easy access to shops,restaurants and banks. The hotel features standard rooms, bungalows and a vacation home. A beautiful free form pool with waterfall invites our guest for a swimm.You can enjoy breakfast in our lounge in the morning or, starting april 2012, prepare your own meal in our open Rancho kitchen.We gladly organize tours and transfers leaving from the Hotel.The Place is an ideal establishment to relax and feel at home for couples, families and smaller groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Otel, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Hotel The Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surf The Place Hotel
Hotel The Place Costa Rica/Mal Pais

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel The Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.