We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly what i wanted, couldn't be happier since on the beach is difficult in Mal Pais” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel The Place

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel The Place to your Saves list
Hotel The Place
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   200 mts from Hotel Frank's Place direction Mal Pais, Mal Pais, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Mal Pais
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
1 review
“Exactly what i wanted, couldn't be happier since on the beach is difficult in Mal Pais”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2011

I had a little bungalow up a walkway called the 'amor' or something. Quiet area with a table and chair outside, and a super comfortable bed, nice shower and bathroom area. I loved it. They added a refrigerator my last day, which would have been nice to have all week, but will be nice for you! Pool was very nice and the whole vibe on the property was very relaxed. Breakfast was delicious, not much to be had for lunch. The dinner was amazing, filet mignon w/ a bleu cheese sauce and belgian frites, too good! I surf, so it was about a 5 or 10 minute walk to a great longboarding beach, not ideal but it is hard to find a place on the beach in the area. It has better location than a lot of other places because it is close to town. The staff was very kind, always willing to help by arranging breakfast, a massage or a taxi. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    31
    13
    8
    5
See reviews for
23
61
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2011

My boyfriend has been to Malpais two times and this was my first time. We absolutely loved The Place. We stayed for three nights and wish it was more. Our room was #7 which is located directly near the dining patio. We had a small refrigerator in our room as well. Distance to the beach and town was about a 2-3 minute walk. The rates were unbeatable for the quality and cleanliness in the area. Although our room was next to the dining area it was still very quiet and serene. Not to mention we were steps away from the beautiful clean pool. The food was excellent, probably the best we had in the area. Marcos was very helpful with helping us book a zip lining tour and gave us honest tips on other places to see in the area. Yvonne was also very helpful and she was straightforward and honest. We highly recommend this hotel for couples or people looking to be close to the beach but not directly in the mix of "town".

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2011

We loved this hotel. After a recommendation from a friend, we booked 2 nights at The Place. We stayed in the regular rooms, as opposed to the bungalows. I heard the bungalows provide a better atmosphere, but the standard rooms were completely acceptable, especially for the price. No frills, zero complaints. The pool was great, the food was great, everyone was very laid back and friendly. Very hospitable and fun. There was just something about this hotel that felt special and almost like we were their personal guests. When we return to Costa Rica, we will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, MI
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2011

OK first off, we loved it. We have not had so much fun ever as we had in C.R. This resort was a HUGE part of that fun. They helped us schedule our trips, fixed our meals (which were above and beyond the best we had in Mal Pais) and took care of our daily drink needs. One word will describle the staff.... AMAZING. We loved Candice and Nico, Danielle was fabulous and so great during the daytime hours. The hospitality and cleanliness is so great. They want to make sure your needs are met, and do everything in their power to make it so. The pool has a waterfall, and is SOOO warm..so wonderfully warm! I LOVE the fact that the resort is so eco-friendly too! Be prepared to bring cash for dinners here, but CC are accepted for your stay and your bar bills :) Be aware that you are traveling to the jungle! There are small amounts of bugs! NOT huge bugs, but they are around. The hotel rooms and bungalows are clean as a whistle! We seriously wish we could be right there immediately...we will go back to The Place at Mal Pais again if we make it back to C.R. FOR SURE. GO THERE. They are the best!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caledonia, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2011

This was one of the best trips I have ever taken. Our hostess, Candice met us upon arrival to give us a tour of the resort. Upon entering you are greeted with tropical flowers, a beautiful pool with a waterfall, hammocks, an open air bar and a floating Thai bed! She took each of the three couples to our individual bungalows, we stayed in the Mexico bungalow. The decor was cute and fun, with a great view across the tops of the palm trees. The breakfast was great but the dinners (prepared by Candice's husband Nico) were phenomenal! All of the staff were friendly and quick to help with arranging services for local tours. I can't wait to arrange another trip!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gofast505
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2010

No corporate environment her, just a chill relaxed place to stay. Stayed for several days. Exceptional staff, very friendly environment with an eye on service with being over bearing. Relax on the hanging bed, have a beer at the bar, jump in the pool. Great breakfast. I can not wait to go back. Close to town, close to the beach. Seemed all of us clientele had the same tastes so it was easy to meet other guests and make some friends.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2010

We stayed with our 2 teenage daughters and 11 other friends for our wedding and there is absolutely nothing that could have made our experience any better! The staff went way out of their way to make every moment purfect! Absolutely above and beyond anything we could have expected! Food, drink, reservations, flowers, and more were taken care of for us. 200 meters down the road is the most perfect beach spot for a wedding!! The stores, restaurants and bars are walking distance. Just hanging out in the pool is awesome! Everyone had a fantastic time without a single complaint! This is THE Place to stay!!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mal Pais
1.6 mi away
Hotel Oasis
Hotel Oasis
#3 of 9 in Mal Pais
5.0 of 5 stars 114 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Vista de Olas
Hotel Vista de Olas
#1 of 9 in Mal Pais
4.5 of 5 stars 390 reviews
1.1 mi away
Indigo Yoga Surf Resort
Indigo Yoga Surf Resort
#5 of 9 in Mal Pais
4.5 of 5 stars 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Moana
Hotel Moana
#4 of 9 in Mal Pais
4.5 of 5 stars 351 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#17 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.0 of 5 stars 323 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Playa Carmen
Hotel Playa Carmen
#19 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.0 of 5 stars 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel The Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Place

Address: 200 mts from Hotel Frank's Place direction Mal Pais, Mal Pais, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Mal Pais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Mal Pais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel The Place 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel The Place is within short walking distance to the main beach Playa Carmen,in close proximity to the center of town with easy access to shops,restaurants and banks. The hotel features standard rooms, bungalows and a vacation home. A beautiful free form pool with waterfall invites our guest for a swimm.You can enjoy breakfast in our lounge in the morning or, starting april 2012, prepare your own meal in our open Rancho kitchen.We gladly organize tours and transfers leaving from the Hotel.The Place is an ideal establishment to relax and feel at home for couples, families and smaller groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel The Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surf The Place Hotel
Hotel The Place Costa Rica/Mal Pais

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel The Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.