We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can never go wrong with (phenomenal) free breakfast!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Vista de Olas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Vista de Olas to your Saves list
Hotel Vista de Olas
Vista de Olas Dr. | Mal Pais de Cobano Apto.#93, Mal Pais 5361, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Mal Pais
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“You can never go wrong with (phenomenal) free breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

Now, this review post-dates our visit by a few months so bear with me as I remember the trip! My girlfriend and I traveled to Costa Rica at the beginning of June for a 5-day vacation courtesy of a LivingSocial deal. At first, we were skeptical. It all felt too good to be true, but when it comes to Vista de Olas, believe what you read! Everything was nearly perfect. Neither of us have traveled too far outside of the US, but our adventure to Costa Rica left us not wanting to leave! Roger, family, and crew exceeded our expectations. They made you feel welcome to place they call home. By the end of the trip, it felt like our home away from home!

I would recommend spending the extra money to fly with Sansa once you land in San Juan. It couldn't even imagine making the trek by car to Mal Pais without any GPS. Once we landed at Tambor airport, which was essentially just one short runway, we arranged for the hotel to pick us up and it was smooth sailing from there. But be forewarned that the airport requires you to pay a $2.50 tax upon arrival which we were told is for grounds upkeep so travel with some pocket cash. The room was gorgeous (aside from some small bugs and a tiny lizard that appeared crawling on the wall our first five minutes spent in the room). Bring bug spray! We went through an entire bottle that I didn't initially think to bring. Much of the vacation is spent exploring the surrounding area and beaches. Zip lining was an incredible experience. The staff is wonderfully helpful and love helping the Vista de Olas guests. The ATV tour to the Montezuma Falls is a must. We saw so much along the way and you don't realize how much you've traveled until you're finished (we felt pretty accomplished afterwards). I would highly recommend renting ATVs for the entire stay. It's nice to freely explore the town and beaches as you please. We had one quad for the two of us and it was more than enough.

The breakfast every morning was our favorite part of the trip! Rice, eggs, plantains, fresh fruit, etc. You can't go wrong! We looked forward to mornings spent by the pool, taking in the incredible views, and enjoying a cup of coffee and the freshest orange juice I've had in ages. The Bakery has great food. We made quite a few stops there (even for Imperial beer which I'm still trying to find here in NYC). It's a bit of myth that you shouldn't travel far outside of resorts when you're in an unfamiliar country. I would suggest the exact opposite. We always felt safe and at ease even when traveling on the ATVs at night. Make every effort you can to go out and explore! The resort is a place to relax, but Mal Pais and Santa Teresa are too beautiful to not witness all of it in it's entirety.

Last but not least, ask around about Secret Beach. The guys from the ziplining canopy tour had told us about it and we figured out how to get there. It's captivating and crawling with sea life and, although we didn't get a chance to see any, plenty of monkeys. We absolutely cannot wait to venture back to Costa Rica. Our stay was short, but so sweet. Beware of the rum! We traveled home with some serious hangovers after too many shots and a great night spent poolside, but it was well worth it.

Room Tip: Villa #4 had beautiful views of the ocean. Short walk up the stairs to the pool. You can't go wr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    33
    4
    7
    7
See reviews for
22
225
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Miami Beach, Florida, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

would you like to have an adventure mixed in with an spiritual retrieve? Because this is the way to go! Not only is the place amazing (duuuh! look at the pictures) but the staff makes the place like non other. You feel safe and at home and they make sure you have an amazing time. Is also really close to everything including cabo blanco national park so there wont be a doll day. Dont hesitate because it is honestly the best way ive spend my money and time in ages! i left less than a week ago and im already having withdrawals and planning my next visit. Not to mention we almost missed our plane on purpose to have an excuse to stick around a little longer. GO! GO! GO!

Room Tip: Rooms are all magnificent, however i do recommend you arrange pick up and just rent an atv for the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Gorgeous views, delicious breakfast, great hospitality, lots of fun activities that Roger and his staff will coordinate for you, and very romantic rooms. Perfect for the traveler looking to be pampered, but also wanting to enjoy some adventure. We couldn't have been more happy with our stay!

Room Tip: All of the villas are excellent. You can't go wrong with any of them!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Everything about Hotel Vista de Olas is perfect. I stayed with my girlfriend for four days, and there were times we wondered why we ever left the hotel. We found the hotel through a Groupon deal, and it was spectacular. The deal included a BBQ dinner, happy hour, daily breakfast, bottle of wine, ATV tour to Montezuma Falls, and either horseback riding or zipling -- we chose to go ziplining. The meals at the hotel are as close to Costa Rican" food as we had the entire time. Many restaurants in town -- while absolutely delicious -- were Italian, Japanese, or heavily influenced by American cuisine. At the hotel, it was the best fish I ever had, plantains, rice, salads.... the food was fresh and flavorful.

The rooms are beautiful -- nestled right in the trees with ocean views. We saw monkeys in the early morning and were lulled to sleep every night by the sounds of the jungle. Occasionally, an unwanted bug showed up in our room, but nothing tragic. (Plus, it's Costa Rica. What do you expect? BRING DEET. It will save you.) The outdoor shower is awesome, the decoration is lovely, and the hotel has the only toilets we saw that you can actually flush toilet paper down.

Roger, his wife, and his sons (Mikey and Swen) are warm, personable, knowledgable, and a lot of fun. His staff -- especially Javier and Carolina -- are amazing. The hotel is only about a mile from town, so you can walk or rent the ATVs from Roger, which are super fun. Perhaps the best part of the hotel is the infinity pool, pool bar, and views of the jungle and ocean. We could have spent all day there. For a few hours (4pm to 9pm) the pool is open to the public, and it only got crowded one night. Otherwise, it was all ours all day. No complaints.

Room Tip: All of the villas are AMAZING. You can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Stay here for a fantastic view and great hospitality. The view from both our villa and the pool/bar area were spectacular, and Roger and his staff were extremely accommodating. You might not find a better bed anywhere.

Room Tip: Villa 5 has the best ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Traveling around Costa Rica, this place is really unique, far from the action in a good way. The views are breathtaking, particularly while taking a dip in the pool watching the sunset. The staff was great. I put on quite a show for them (and my friends) when a gekko fell from the rafters of the restaurant, surprising both me and the gekko when he (or she?) landed on my shoulder! All in good fun...I will remember my stay here forever!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

Rhetorical question of the day:
Is it worth it to stay at a place that you will immediately miss, the moment that you leave?
Yes, yes, a million times yes!

I came here for a solo week-long trip, knowing that I would be able to find a good time in Costa Rica. What I didn't expect was to find it so effortlessly in one place. Vista de Olas, as pure real estate, is stunning all on it's own. Horizon stretching views make pool-side relaxation otherworldly. The private rooms make it feel like you have the place to yourself. Howler monkeys and hummingbird show you the beauty of being in a rain forest. All the available diversions, atv trips, zip lines, surfing, and more, ensure that you will have a great time every day.
But, what really sets this place apart are the people. The staff become friends, and Roger, Heidi, and their boys make you feel like one of their family.

There are simply not enough good words to say about this place! If you have even the slightest interest, book this place now! I will be back here again.

Nathan

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Vista de Olas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vista de Olas

Address: Vista de Olas Dr. | Mal Pais de Cobano Apto.#93, Mal Pais 5361, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Mal Pais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Mal Pais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vista de Olas is a refined hotel in Mal Pais perched on top of a peaceful hill. From this vantage point our guests are treated to sweeping views of Mal Pais and watch the most memorable sunsets. The hotel offers 6 sumptuous, secluded deluxe villas with ocean view, AC, open-sky bathroom, and private porch. Hotel amenities include fast WLAN, a luxurious infinity pool and jacuzzi, pool lounge, and the best BBQ restaurant in Mal Pais. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Vista de Olas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vista De Olas Mal Pais
Hotel Vista De Olas Costa Rica/Mal Pais

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Vista de Olas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.