We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I have never been anywhere like it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Vista de Olas

Save Saved
You added Hotel Vista de Olas to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Vista de Olas
Vista de Olas Dr. | Mal Pais de Cobano Apto.#93, Mal Pais 5361, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Mal Pais
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“I have never been anywhere like it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Traveling around Costa Rica, this place is really unique, far from the action in a good way. The views are breathtaking, particularly while taking a dip in the pool watching the sunset. The staff was great. I put on quite a show for them (and my friends) when a gekko fell from the rafters of the restaurant, surprising both me and the gekko when he (or she?) landed on my shoulder! All in good fun...I will remember my stay here forever!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    31
    4
    7
    7
See reviews for
22
220
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

Rhetorical question of the day:
Is it worth it to stay at a place that you will immediately miss, the moment that you leave?
Yes, yes, a million times yes!

I came here for a solo week-long trip, knowing that I would be able to find a good time in Costa Rica. What I didn't expect was to find it so effortlessly in one place. Vista de Olas, as pure real estate, is stunning all on it's own. Horizon stretching views make pool-side relaxation otherworldly. The private rooms make it feel like you have the place to yourself. Howler monkeys and hummingbird show you the beauty of being in a rain forest. All the available diversions, atv trips, zip lines, surfing, and more, ensure that you will have a great time every day.
But, what really sets this place apart are the people. The staff become friends, and Roger, Heidi, and their boys make you feel like one of their family.

There are simply not enough good words to say about this place! If you have even the slightest interest, book this place now! I will be back here again.

Nathan

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimes, Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

They view is the best in the area. Roger went out of his way to see to it that our trip was what we expected. The bed was the best I have ever slept in period. the excursions that we took with them were the best. Advice: Fly to Tambor from San Jose and pick up your 4 wheel drive car there.

Room Tip: wifi was up at the resturaunt and bar area. only 5 villas to choose from and ours had the best view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here in April of this year. We were looking to discount from the world and enjoy a vacation away. This is a place for the self-sufficient traveler and adventurer. Our desire on this vacation was to explore Costa Rica by day, spend time on the beach and have a nice place to go back to at night and this was the perfect place for that. The hotel grounds are very clean, well kept and safe. Our room was cleaned everyday and the staff was always nice and courteous. The view from the pool is incredible and I enjoyed every sunset from there while we were there. Yes, the pool area is open to the public and you get a lot of younger people for Happy Hour which for some would be annoying, but we ended up finding very entertaining and made for a good laugh. A simple breakfast is served every morning and you can have dinner at the hotel in the evenings from the grill. One day we were given an ATV tour from Roger's son to Montezuma waterfalls which was extremely fun. He was a great tour guide and very informative. We ended up renting the ATV for the duration of our stay which made getting around the country side extremely easy and fun. Another day, Roger setup a canopy tour for us. We ended up becoming friends with Roger, his wife Heidi and their sons by the end of the trip. We talked to them a lot about all their adventures and they gave us good recommendations for day trips we could take and place to see. We had a great time at Vista de Olas and would go back in a heart beat.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, FL
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

My husband & I drove @ 5 1/2 hours, including the ferry, from San Jose to get there. It was worth the trip!
Gorgeous location overlooking the Pacific Ocean, helpful owners, fun excursions. Only thing I missed was attempting to surf, as the waves were too high when we were there.
Loved the floral bouquet Heidi put together for me that my sister requested for my birthday!
Met lots of interesting people from AK, KS, CA, etc.
Must eat at The Bakery, Al Chile Viola & Habanero's.

Room Tip: Villa 3...closest to ocean...farthest away from other villa's....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

This destination is certainly worth the time it takes to get here! Roger is the owner and he personally greeted us shortly after our arrival. He and his staff are attentive and hospitable. They are very helpful if you want suggestions for excursions or other guidance while you are in Mal Pais.

The property itself is breathtakingly beautiful, as it is situated in the rainforest, overlooking the coast. The grounds are meticulously maintained and the villas are outstandingly designed.

Vista de Olas truly provides the opportunity for folks to absolutely "unplug" from the rat race. The environment is conducive to connecting with nature, listening for monkeys, and anticipating the next phenomenal sunset.

The food was delicious, so if you do not want to venture away for dinner, stay and enjoy! They serve fresh salads that rival any we have enjoyed in fine restaurants. Breakfasts are well-portioned and the offering is different each day.

Room Tip: All of the villas are ocean view, you can't go wrong...must see!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

I definitely recommend this place to anyone interested in coming to Costa rica, the view is breathtaking, the service is unlike no other (I genuinely miss the staff) and the location couldn't have been better. Thank you Roger and the entire staff for a wonderful experience. Pura Vida!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Vista de Olas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vista de Olas

Address: Vista de Olas Dr. | Mal Pais de Cobano Apto.#93, Mal Pais 5361, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Mal Pais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mal Pais
#2 Family Hotel in Mal Pais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vista de Olas is a refined hotel in Mal Pais perched on top of a peaceful hill. From this vantage point our guests are treated to sweeping views of Mal Pais and watch the most memorable sunsets. The hotel offers 6 sumptuous, secluded deluxe villas with ocean view, AC, open-sky bathroom, and private porch. Hotel amenities include fast WLAN, a luxurious infinity pool and jacuzzi, pool lounge, and the best BBQ restaurant in Mal Pais. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Vista de Olas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vista De Olas Mal Pais
Hotel Vista De Olas Costa Rica/Mal Pais

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Vista de Olas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;