We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect honeymoon spot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Vista de Olas

Save Saved
You added Hotel Vista de Olas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Vista de Olas
Vista de Olas Dr. | Mal Pais de Cobano Apto.#93, Mal Pais 5361, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Mal Pais
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
“Perfect honeymoon spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

We had a wonderful time at Vista de Olas. A perfect spot for a romantic getaway. The vila was beautiful, the view was spectacular, and we also met some wonderful friends at the hotel. The Vista de Olas team took care of arranging all of our activities to make the trip as easy and fun as possible. Their staff was fantastic and rather than feeling like a nameless guest, we felt like part of a family. Great experience.

Room Tip: Suite 5 was a perfect location - close to the pool and bar area, yet private with a great ocean view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    31
    4
    7
    7
See reviews for
22
220
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

Everything here was clean and well maintained. We had such an amazing time in Mal Pais and Vista de Olas was the perfect place to stay. You wouldn't need to leave the grounds if you didn't want to, but there is so much to see and do in the area. This place is a little like being at camp. There are only 5 villas (5 couples) so you get to know everyone really fast. We ended up doing things with the other guests, but it isn't forced like at a bed and breakfast, which I hate. While we were there two guests caught some tuna. They were experienced sushi rollers, so they put together a huge sushi dinner. All the guests, staff, and owners sat around a big table drinking and eating late into the night. This is the kind of place that if you are having drinks at their bar and it's time for the staff to go home, they tell you "help yourself to whatever you want and just write it down in the book". Roger and Heidi (the owners) and their two great boys (Sven and Mikey) are wonderful hosts, and the staff are all really great. Just ask and they will make sure that any activity you want is taken care of. I'm a kayak fisherman so I rented really nice kayaks($14/day) from a friend of Roger's. You can catch big (20 - 40 lb) Rooster fish just off shore. No miss activities: drinks in the pool at sunset, zip lining, surf lesson with Mikey, ATV tour to the falls. Mikey took us surfing, first time ever, and he got us both standing up. Minor warning for the faint of heart: Many of the roads are unpaved, so this can be a dusty little town. This is NOT a Cancun All-Inclusive. So if that's what you are looking for, this is not your place. If you like to have fun and don't mind getting a little dirty and sweaty you have found Heaven. Then you come back to the Vista, shower, have a drink by the awesome pool and grill up some ribeyes. Ahhh!

Room Tip: I thin Villa quarto was the best location
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altoona, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

We don't even know where to start!! Our stay lasted from March 23 to the 29th so we just got back and already miss it. We normally don't write reviews but this trip was just too special. Roger, Heidi, and their sons Swen ,Mikey and the Vista staff really give 110%. They are so friendly and want to make this beautiful piece of paradise your best vacation ever. They certainly did that for us. We had read all of the reviews and saw the pictures and were hoping that they were for real..well...they did not disappoint. The lay out and design of the entire property take the best advantage of the views and create villa spaces that are private yet a close walk to the beautiful infinity pool and open air bbq restaurant. The enchanting villas are clean and the property is so well maintained...someone is always sweeping or cleaning. Sometimes we just hung at the pool with unbelieveable views all around us but there was also plenty to do. Just follow Roger's lead and the team won't steer you wrong. There is an amazing canopy zip line tour, a waterfall tour and an option to rent an atv and explore the beaches and the nearby villages on your own [ bring a back pack]. We only rented the atv for one day but next time we will rent for 2 or 3 days. One highlight had to be the fishing with a great captain and my husband's dream catch..a 30 lb rooster fish!! We went fishing twice and also caught tuna which Vista prepared for us at dinner that night. It doesn't get any better or fresher than that!! All of the food was great from the breakfasts to the evening meals. Because the resort is so small you really get personal attention and they make you feel special. Everyone is so friendly, casual and relaxed - as they say there really are " no worries". All you need is bathing suits,shorts and t-shirts.This trip was a gift for my husband's birthday and this may have been his best ever. The only problem... we had to leave. We will be back time and time again...this is too great a trip not to repeat it! Our sincere thanks to Roger, Heidi and all. They really made everything extra special!!

Room Tip: I think that all 5 villas are great. We choose #3 because it was the most private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

We came here "by accident",because most of the better hotels in samara were already full.but it was the best what could happen:) roger and his wife are really helpful and extremely nice people.they organized a fishing trip for us which was amazing.the infinity pool is just breathtaking-the view is amazing.lodges are clean and beautiful.and try the barbecue for dinner.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clawson, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

As a couple who lead a pretty hectic life, we were very much looking forward to getting away. Vista de Olas is a true hidden treasure. A beautiful, small resort with a relaxed vibe, down to earth owners who helped with all of our needs - from planning a fun day or just hanging out. The food was perfect, like a backyard BBQ with your friends and family, only better because of the unbelievable view. Be sure to stick around for the sunset! The staff was courteous, helpful and knowledgeable. They always had an answer about what to see or where to go. We ended up at Vista through a deal through Living Social which included a bunch of stuff - ATV tour, zip lining, wine, the list goes on and on. All in all, a great trip, wonderful place, outstanding people, can’t wait to go back! Oh, I can’t forget to mention the three adorable dogs and very friendly cat who enhanced the feeling of being at home.

Room Tip: The view from Villa #3 was great. The outdoor shower/bathroom was very cool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Three cheers for living social! If it was not for this deal, we would not have found this hidden gem!! We were here March 15 to March 23. We bought an extra day and it was so worth it. I am not sure where to begin, but will try.

We arrived before check it, but Roger and his staff made us feel right at home. We were able to change and enjoy the pool while we waited for our room to be ready. It was nice break from the Chi-Beria. The room was great.

Roger and Hedi have two sons. They were super sweet and so helpful. Mike took us on the waterfall tour and made some stops along the way to show us some of the things that make Costa Rica so great. We also did the zip line, which I highly recommend. I would recommend going early in the morning at 9 am or late afternoon at 3 pm.

Roger and his staff were helpful with things to do and places to eat. I would recommend renting ATV's for at least two days. It is really the only way to get around. Be prepared to get dusty!! Also make sure to bring water and snacks while you are out. I would only drink the water at the hotel because they have their own filter system. I would just save your water bottles and refill. Each room has a frig, so easy to keep cold. You could walk into town, but I would suggest getting a taxi. Roger will have it arranged. It will cost 6 to 8 dollars each way. Again US dollars are accepted all over. Some places will take credit cards

Some things to note. If you fly into Tambor the tax to enter and exit is $2.25 per person. You can pay in cash or local currency. You also can use US dollars and not worry about exchanging. I would recommend having small bills with no tears. When you leave San Jose you will need to pay a tax of $29 per person. This must be paid before you can even check in. We knew this, but some people may not know this. You will also want to pay this in cash. If you use your credit card, it will be charged as a cash advance.

We really like how small this hotel was. There was only 5 villas, which made it easy to get to know the other guests. We become some close that contact informatin was exchanged.

We really got to know Roger , his staff and family.. We felt like one of their family and will be back!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Our family of three stayed here for a week and enjoyed every minute of it. In short order you'll be on a first-name basis with the owner and his staff. They are very accommodating and truly want to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. The room, the pool and the view were beautiful. I would definitely stay here again!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Vista de Olas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vista de Olas

Address: Vista de Olas Dr. | Mal Pais de Cobano Apto.#93, Mal Pais 5361, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Mal Pais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mal Pais
#2 Family Hotel in Mal Pais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vista de Olas is a refined hotel in Mal Pais perched on top of a peaceful hill. From this vantage point our guests are treated to sweeping views of Mal Pais and watch the most memorable sunsets. The hotel offers 6 sumptuous, secluded deluxe villas with ocean view, AC, open-sky bathroom, and private porch. Hotel amenities include fast WLAN, a luxurious infinity pool and jacuzzi, pool lounge, and the best BBQ restaurant in Mal Pais. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Vista de Olas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vista De Olas Mal Pais
Hotel Vista De Olas Costa Rica/Mal Pais

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Vista de Olas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.