We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a beautiful view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Vista de Olas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Vista de Olas to your Saves list
Hotel Vista de Olas
Vista de Olas Dr. | Mal Pais de Cobano Apto.#93, Mal Pais 5361, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Mal Pais
Vienna, Austria
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Such a beautiful view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

We came here "by accident",because most of the better hotels in samara were already full.but it was the best what could happen:) roger and his wife are really helpful and extremely nice people.they organized a fishing trip for us which was amazing.the infinity pool is just breathtaking-the view is amazing.lodges are clean and beautiful.and try the barbecue for dinner.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    34
    4
    7
    7
See reviews for
22
233
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clawson, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

As a couple who lead a pretty hectic life, we were very much looking forward to getting away. Vista de Olas is a true hidden treasure. A beautiful, small resort with a relaxed vibe, down to earth owners who helped with all of our needs - from planning a fun day or just hanging out. The food was perfect, like a backyard BBQ with your friends and family, only better because of the unbelievable view. Be sure to stick around for the sunset! The staff was courteous, helpful and knowledgeable. They always had an answer about what to see or where to go. We ended up at Vista through a deal through Living Social which included a bunch of stuff - ATV tour, zip lining, wine, the list goes on and on. All in all, a great trip, wonderful place, outstanding people, can’t wait to go back! Oh, I can’t forget to mention the three adorable dogs and very friendly cat who enhanced the feeling of being at home.

Room Tip: The view from Villa #3 was great. The outdoor shower/bathroom was very cool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Three cheers for living social! If it was not for this deal, we would not have found this hidden gem!! We were here March 15 to March 23. We bought an extra day and it was so worth it. I am not sure where to begin, but will try.

We arrived before check it, but Roger and his staff made us feel right at home. We were able to change and enjoy the pool while we waited for our room to be ready. It was nice break from the Chi-Beria. The room was great.

Roger and Hedi have two sons. They were super sweet and so helpful. Mike took us on the waterfall tour and made some stops along the way to show us some of the things that make Costa Rica so great. We also did the zip line, which I highly recommend. I would recommend going early in the morning at 9 am or late afternoon at 3 pm.

Roger and his staff were helpful with things to do and places to eat. I would recommend renting ATV's for at least two days. It is really the only way to get around. Be prepared to get dusty!! Also make sure to bring water and snacks while you are out. I would only drink the water at the hotel because they have their own filter system. I would just save your water bottles and refill. Each room has a frig, so easy to keep cold. You could walk into town, but I would suggest getting a taxi. Roger will have it arranged. It will cost 6 to 8 dollars each way. Again US dollars are accepted all over. Some places will take credit cards

Some things to note. If you fly into Tambor the tax to enter and exit is $2.25 per person. You can pay in cash or local currency. You also can use US dollars and not worry about exchanging. I would recommend having small bills with no tears. When you leave San Jose you will need to pay a tax of $29 per person. This must be paid before you can even check in. We knew this, but some people may not know this. You will also want to pay this in cash. If you use your credit card, it will be charged as a cash advance.

We really like how small this hotel was. There was only 5 villas, which made it easy to get to know the other guests. We become some close that contact informatin was exchanged.

We really got to know Roger , his staff and family.. We felt like one of their family and will be back!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Our family of three stayed here for a week and enjoyed every minute of it. In short order you'll be on a first-name basis with the owner and his staff. They are very accommodating and truly want to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. The room, the pool and the view were beautiful. I would definitely stay here again!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

We were very pleased with our stay at Visa de Olas. The highlight was of course the views from the restaurant and pool, from where we watched a beautiful sunset every night while sipping delicious cocktails. The pool was well maintained, the breakfasts were varied and tasty, and the BBQ dinner was also very good. Our villa (#1) was well kept, though some of the others may have better views. We enjoyed every one of the activities during the week including the canopy tour, fishing and the ATV tour to Montezuma Falls. The only downside might be the distance of the hotel from a nice beach - for which one will need a taxi or ATV to get to, but otherwise it was a great vacation. A big thanks to everyone at Vista De Olas!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Vista de Olas for 7 days and it was a wonderful trip. The property itself is beautiful and intimate with those incredible views. Excellent drinks and BBQ steaks for dinner. 3 friendly dogs and a cat that periodically came to visit our room. We rented an ATV and drove all over the lower peninsula. Montezuma is particularly fun to visit. Very funky with beautiful beaches. This is not rain forest country. The landscape is dry forest and when not raining it is very dusty but nothing you can't handle. The nearest town Santa Teresa has many restaurants. Two we liked were Habanero and The Bakery. All in all a memorable trip and we would love to go back one day.

Room Tip: There actually was no room service or fitness Center but if there had been they would have been exce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Let me start this off by saying that I never take the time to write hotel reviews - but Vista De Olas deserves one heck of a review. My boyfriend and I stayed there for 7 nights and had the most incredible time. Our villa, #4, was outstanding - very private with an incredible outdoor shower. We rented an ATV for the week (highly recommended) so that we could get back and forth to town on our own and it gave us the chance to explore the area. Roger and Heidi are great hosts - their sons gave us surfing lessons for a few days. We ate at Vista a couple of nights and it was delicious. Other than that we tried a new restaurant for lunch and for dinner every day - the food in the are is amazing! The hotel is very quiet early on in the day - you feel like you have the pool to yourself. At 3:00 it opens to the public and many people come for the breathtaking sunset views - it turns into a bit of a party for a couple hours - it's the perfect combination. Every days ends with the most beautiful views of the sunset. We couldn't have hoped for a more relaxing/romantic/adventurous vacation - it had it all!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Vista de Olas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vista de Olas

Address: Vista de Olas Dr. | Mal Pais de Cobano Apto.#93, Mal Pais 5361, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Mal Pais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Mal Pais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vista de Olas is a refined hotel in Mal Pais perched on top of a peaceful hill. From this vantage point our guests are treated to sweeping views of Mal Pais and watch the most memorable sunsets. The hotel offers 6 sumptuous, secluded deluxe villas with ocean view, AC, open-sky bathroom, and private porch. Hotel amenities include fast WLAN, a luxurious infinity pool and jacuzzi, pool lounge, and the best BBQ restaurant in Mal Pais. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Vista de Olas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vista De Olas Mal Pais
Hotel Vista De Olas Costa Rica/Mal Pais

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Vista de Olas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.