We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect getaway!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Vista de Olas

Save Saved
You added Hotel Vista de Olas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Vista de Olas
Vista de Olas Dr. | Mal Pais de Cobano Apto.#93, Mal Pais 5361, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 10 hotels in Mal Pais
Lawton, Oklahoma
1 review
“A perfect getaway!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Everything was prefect. This was the most relaxing vacation I could ever imagine having. The rooms were the right size for a couple and the bed was super comfortable. On days that we didn't want to go explore or do anything in town, we didn't feel like we missed anything because we still got to see monkeys playing in the trees right outside our room. Roger, Heidi, and the boys make everyone feel like family right from the beginning and do an excellent job making sure you enjoy your stay. I'll definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    252
    27
    4
    7
    7
See reviews for
19
208
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bend, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

From the moment we left, until the very last moment of our trip, the staff at Vista de Olas was certain that our stay was perfect! Beautiful location with views and off the path to make it private. We were able to have a surf lesson, ATV tour of the area to a waterfall, zip line tour of the canopy, watch a local surf contest, enjoy many beaches and local restaurants, as well as enjoy a hearty and healthy breakfast every morning and wonderful barbecue dinner while staying at Vista de Olas! I would highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: View the website and select your room. All are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocoa, Florida, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

From our arrival to the tambor airport we were met with hospitality. it only continued at the hotel. The Crew working this place are amazing, Roger, Heidi, boys and staff treated my friend and I like family from the start, and it only got better. The view and activities were fantastic, the ATV tour and zip line battle each other for first place. I fully intend to book again for next year and actually surf this time. The horse riding on the beach is engrained in history as my Facebook profile photo. This trip was outstanding, I highly recommend this hotel its so worth the memories you will create. I am still on a Costa Rica vacation high..
Thanks Vista crew. You are truly fabulous.

Room Tip: There are five villas to choose from, mine was villa 4 and it was just as the website showed. Absolu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Serena, Chile
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

from the first day Roger and Heidi, their boys made me feel like family i have been all over the world to many resorts but this is the first one that i truly hated to leave--got me so stoked about the area im already looking for property in the same area.
the surfing was totaly awesome-atv ride was a hoot--and zip line i could do a couple of times. as far as the resort itself the dinners were out of this world loved the ribs--guess i just loved the total kick back aura of the resort and never felt so at home on a vacation.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

We miss The view of the ocean at Vista De Olas, and Roger, Heidi and the boys. The atv tour was the best, thanks Swen. We also really enjoyed the boat adventure and surfing lessons Michi and Antony were great. The fish and mohito's were so delish at the resort. It was an epic trip. Thank you. Jamie and Jay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Nice mix of hotel luxury with real jungle experience lol! House keeping, A/C, fridge, coffee maker, etc all in the room/villa, amazing breakfasts and dinners, swim up bar and infinity pool, ALL the luxury you look for in a typical hotel! However vista de olas then gives it it's own local flair: beautiful scenery, secluded villas (we were in villa 3 and it is the perfect honeymoon villa!) tours that aren't super touristy and take you up slippery cliffs and local roads , casual attire, just enough bugs to make I feel like you're in the wild but not to make you run lol (take bug spray if bugs like you, I'm terrified and they Didnt bother me they stay away from people generally) and the possibility to go out and roam on your own. The staff gives you genuine advice not things to take yor money. Remember this is a business too so obviously some things are a little expensive like drinks but not too bad. He owner roger and his boys were so fun and helpful! I have nothing bad to say! It's a must! Go to vista de olas people!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We are so glad we booked at Vista and had the chance to get to experience an incredibly relaxing yet adventurous trip to Mal Pais! Roger and Heidi were amazing and we loved the low-key vibe and awesome hospitality they offered us. We enjoyed Villa #2 in mid July and I'd go back in a heart beat. The weather was great, I loved the rain storms, breakfast was amazing each morning and we always had plenty of options of stuff to do (ATV tour, horseback riding, surfing, read on the beach, and zipline) - including nothing but relax and enjoy their paradise by the pool. We always seemed to make our way back to enjoy the sunset each night - definitely a highlight! I would highly recommend all of the activities Roger offers, his connections are top-notch and some of our favorites from our 3 week Costa Rica trip!

We're already planning a trip back next summer to bring more friends who all want to come see what we've been talking about!

Room Tip: #2 was great - location was private and was the only villa we think that had both an indoor and an o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Vista de Olas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vista de Olas

Address: Vista de Olas Dr. | Mal Pais de Cobano Apto.#93, Mal Pais 5361, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Mal Pais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mal Pais
#3 Family Hotel in Mal Pais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vista de Olas is a refined hotel in Mal Pais perched on top of a peaceful hill. From this vantage point our guests are treated to sweeping views of Mal Pais and watch the most memorable sunsets. The hotel offers 6 sumptuous, secluded deluxe villas with ocean view, AC, open-sky bathroom, and private porch. Hotel amenities include fast WLAN, a luxurious infinity pool and jacuzzi, pool lounge, and the best BBQ restaurant in Mal Pais. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Vista de Olas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vista De Olas Mal Pais
Hotel Vista De Olas Costa Rica/Mal Pais

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Vista de Olas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.