We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best hosts and view ever!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Vista de Olas

Save Saved
You added Hotel Vista de Olas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Vista de Olas
Vista de Olas Dr. | Mal Pais de Cobano Apto.#93, Mal Pais 5361, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Mal Pais
Kearny, New Jersey, United States
1 review
“best hosts and view ever!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

getting to the hotel was the tough part, but it was so worth it. the view from our villa was amazing. we saw the water and sand. it was breath taking. roger and heidi are the bestest hosts we have ever met. they treated us like family. the staff was so much fun to get to know. the hotel has an amazing view of the sunset. the cocktails and food were great. everything was just perfect. it was the first trip i took with my fiance and it's one we'll always remember. it's so convenient if you drive and if you don't, a taxi is less than 10 minutes away. we took the taxi everywhere and it was so much easier. by far, one of the best vacations i've had. you definitely have to try this place out.

Room Tip: rooms 4 and 5 have the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    31
    4
    7
    7
See reviews for
22
221
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Cannot say enough good things about Roger, Heidi & their two sons hospitality. They are warm genuine people who want to make your visit to their paradise all that you want it to be. Absolutely beautiful view of beach and sunsets in an open setting. We didn't want to leave. Will return as soon as possible as we left a little of our hearts there. :)

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We started our first trip to Costa Rica with a 5 day stay at Vista de Olas. We stayed in Villa # 1 and the room was beautiful and the outdoor shower was just awesome ! Being woken up with the sound of birds was so fantastic. The surrounding grounds were very well kept and the pool area was outstanding. The swim up bar was nice and a great place to watch the sunset. We enjoyed the barbeque and met several people while cooking food. Roger, Heidi and their staff were very helpful and accommodating. Roger took us and 2 other couples on an ATV ride to a butterfly farm and a great waterfall where everyone swam. We then rode to Montezuma for lunch at a place on the beach. Great experience !! We rented a car since the hotel is on one of the highest points in Mal Pais (that's for the beautiful sunsets). The road to the hotel was steep so a 4x4 is really needed. We drove to several of the nearby towns and drove the road along the coast. The nearby city of Santa Theresa was great but it is a long walk from the hotel to "downtown" on dusty, rocky roads. Again, renting a car was great. We used Alamo that is near downtown. They will come pick you up at the hotel. Roger knows all the great restaurants in town and gave us very good recommendations. Ask him about the B.B. ravioli :)
.
We will definitely be back. It was a great place to chill and relax. Very slow paced. There is internet available but we decided to disconnect and not worry about it ! Pura Vida !

Room Tip: Villa # 1 was very private but did not have a view of the ocean from the inside. Villa 2 and 3 had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Titusville, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Vista de Olas is a gorgeous, secluded property located atop a hill not far from the small town of Mal Pais. We stayed here over Spring Break and loved that we were able to escape the dry weather dustiness of the town. With a gorgeous view of the pacific, blazing sunsets, refreshing cocktails and cool ocean breezes all enjoyed poolside, it felt like a private retreat. Villa 3 is the most private and has a lovely view of the coastline. You can stay at Vista de Olas with or without a car and walk around or take a taxi, but you'd be doing yourself a favor if you rented a vehicle. During the day, Roger helped arrange activities like ATV-ing, canopy tours, and horseback riding, while at night time there is the option to hang out with other guests and locals poolside, enjoying delicious cocktails and the nightly barbecue. Big shout out to Mikey (Roger's son), who handled our ATV tour. He was amazing, gracious and fun. A huge plus at Vista was the included daily breakfast, cooked fresh to order. In short, if you want to travel and feel like a local while still being treated like a welcomed guest, then Vista de Olas is the place to be in Mal Pais!

Room Tip: Villa 3! Great view, secluded and private
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Roger and the staff at Vista de Olas was outstanding. All of them were extremely kind and generous and always willing to answer any questions we had. The hotel itself was amazing. The Villa we were in was very private and tucked away from everything else. Vista de Olas in Malpais is the perfect getaway for couples.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

My girlfriend and I just got back from Vista de Olas a couple of days ago. Our trip was stunning, beautiful and full of great memories. Roger and his staff played a large part in our enjoyment. Everyone was extremely helpful and accommodating from Roger to Heidi to their sons and even down to the woman who made us delicious breakfasts every morning. To help make this review easier I will list the pro's and con's and a summary at the end.

Pro's -
-Stunning views of the sunset from the huge, warm and very inviting infinity pool
-Swim up bar with delicious cocktails and other beverages
-Very tasty meats for the BBQ, marinated and flavored with seasonings
-Different breakfast every morning (different styles of eggs) along with plates of cold juicy fresh fruit, sausage, fried platanos and even potatoes (sides vary each day)
-Very helpful and tentative staff
-Plenty of fun adventurous activities
-Comfortable beds, open outdoor bathrooms, A/C in the rooms to help stay cool

Con's -
-VERY difficult to get to
-A short walk to the beach down, what feels like, a vertical hill of dirt and rocks
-No paved roads as of yet so everything is very dirty (not in the hotel but on your way to town)
-No easy way to get to the beach
-Spotty electricity
-The food that needs to be cooked for breakfast is prepared for you but don't expect to be served a drink or toast, its on the bar and you have to get it yourself.

Overall -
Our trip was amazing! Besides getting to the hotel itself, long flights + a long drive from the airport to the hotel + horribly bumpy roads that gave us terrible headaches, everything was overall pretty great. Roger was there all the time and more than willing to help us get cabs, book appointments to go Zip-lining, book our surf lesson, set us up with the ATV tour and just chat about life in Costa Rica. If he wasn't there there was always someone else who could help us. In regards to some comments from other reviews: the pool towels were stained with what looked like bleach but they were clean so we got over that pretty quickly. The food was very tasty and we knew we would be cooking it on the grill, this was a fun experience for both of us and luckily we didn't run into any lines of people cooking or outsiders flooding the pool and getting in our way. The sunsets were amazing, the ATV tour lead by Roger's son Mikey was incredible (especially when we got to the waterfall), the zip-lining was breathtaking and probably our favorite part and the surfing was way more fun than we thought! We had a great instructor named Eduardo and he was very knowledgeable and helpful. No one warns you ahead of time the electricity is apt to go out multiple times a week. Keep this in mind if you are charging any electronics overnight so that you don't fry anything expensive. It would have been nice to have an alarm clock in the room so that i didn't have to use my phone and in Villa #1 the shower head wasn't spraying as it should have but we dealt with it as we weren't there for the shower we were there for vacation. Great views, great experiences, great food and great people. Getting to town was not so great as it was a longer walk (with shotty directions that included walking through someone else's property and following the beach for what felt like miles) than expected. This is definitely not the place for collecting souvenirs but the photographs we took will suffice. The food in town was very good and very cheap. The Villa's include a list of places to eat in town (we ate at Soda la Amistad, YUM!) which was very helpful. For us this was probably a one time thing, the country was beautiful and our stay was great but it was a little to remote for our taste. Definitely not a place for those who don't want a little adventure (which was something we loved!) but if your looking for an outdoors experience full of amazing sights and crazy experiences then this is the place to be!
Thank you so much for a wonderful vacation Roger (and family/staff) we will have these memories for a lifetime! I hope the surf competition was a big success!

Room Tip: We stayed in Villa #1. We found it easy to get to (being that its the first room on the path) but ye...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Considering the fact that we experienced travel snafu's at both the beginning and tail end of our vacation, Roger and Heidi were more than helpful and accommodating . The resort staff were, as a whole, very friendly and attentive . The view from the property is one in a million, the food excellent and we both would not hesitate to go back.

John & Susan

Room Tip: With only 5 bungalows to choose from , one can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Vista de Olas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vista de Olas

Address: Vista de Olas Dr. | Mal Pais de Cobano Apto.#93, Mal Pais 5361, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Mal Pais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mal Pais
#2 Family Hotel in Mal Pais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vista de Olas is a refined hotel in Mal Pais perched on top of a peaceful hill. From this vantage point our guests are treated to sweeping views of Mal Pais and watch the most memorable sunsets. The hotel offers 6 sumptuous, secluded deluxe villas with ocean view, AC, open-sky bathroom, and private porch. Hotel amenities include fast WLAN, a luxurious infinity pool and jacuzzi, pool lounge, and the best BBQ restaurant in Mal Pais. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Vista de Olas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vista De Olas Mal Pais
Hotel Vista De Olas Costa Rica/Mal Pais

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Vista de Olas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.