We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel and plenty of privacy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Vista de Olas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Vista de Olas to your Saves list
Hotel Vista de Olas
Vista de Olas Dr. | Mal Pais de Cobano Apto.#93, Mal Pais 5361, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Mal Pais
Worcester, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel and plenty of privacy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

My girlfriend and I just got back from Vista de Olas a couple of days ago. Our trip was stunning, beautiful and full of great memories. Roger and his staff played a large part in our enjoyment. Everyone was extremely helpful and accommodating from Roger to Heidi to their sons and even down to the woman who made us delicious breakfasts every morning. To help make this review easier I will list the pro's and con's and a summary at the end.

Pro's -
-Stunning views of the sunset from the huge, warm and very inviting infinity pool
-Swim up bar with delicious cocktails and other beverages
-Very tasty meats for the BBQ, marinated and flavored with seasonings
-Different breakfast every morning (different styles of eggs) along with plates of cold juicy fresh fruit, sausage, fried platanos and even potatoes (sides vary each day)
-Very helpful and tentative staff
-Plenty of fun adventurous activities
-Comfortable beds, open outdoor bathrooms, A/C in the rooms to help stay cool

Con's -
-VERY difficult to get to
-A short walk to the beach down, what feels like, a vertical hill of dirt and rocks
-No paved roads as of yet so everything is very dirty (not in the hotel but on your way to town)
-No easy way to get to the beach
-Spotty electricity
-The food that needs to be cooked for breakfast is prepared for you but don't expect to be served a drink or toast, its on the bar and you have to get it yourself.

Overall -
Our trip was amazing! Besides getting to the hotel itself, long flights + a long drive from the airport to the hotel + horribly bumpy roads that gave us terrible headaches, everything was overall pretty great. Roger was there all the time and more than willing to help us get cabs, book appointments to go Zip-lining, book our surf lesson, set us up with the ATV tour and just chat about life in Costa Rica. If he wasn't there there was always someone else who could help us. In regards to some comments from other reviews: the pool towels were stained with what looked like bleach but they were clean so we got over that pretty quickly. The food was very tasty and we knew we would be cooking it on the grill, this was a fun experience for both of us and luckily we didn't run into any lines of people cooking or outsiders flooding the pool and getting in our way. The sunsets were amazing, the ATV tour lead by Roger's son Mikey was incredible (especially when we got to the waterfall), the zip-lining was breathtaking and probably our favorite part and the surfing was way more fun than we thought! We had a great instructor named Eduardo and he was very knowledgeable and helpful. No one warns you ahead of time the electricity is apt to go out multiple times a week. Keep this in mind if you are charging any electronics overnight so that you don't fry anything expensive. It would have been nice to have an alarm clock in the room so that i didn't have to use my phone and in Villa #1 the shower head wasn't spraying as it should have but we dealt with it as we weren't there for the shower we were there for vacation. Great views, great experiences, great food and great people. Getting to town was not so great as it was a longer walk (with shotty directions that included walking through someone else's property and following the beach for what felt like miles) than expected. This is definitely not the place for collecting souvenirs but the photographs we took will suffice. The food in town was very good and very cheap. The Villa's include a list of places to eat in town (we ate at Soda la Amistad, YUM!) which was very helpful. For us this was probably a one time thing, the country was beautiful and our stay was great but it was a little to remote for our taste. Definitely not a place for those who don't want a little adventure (which was something we loved!) but if your looking for an outdoors experience full of amazing sights and crazy experiences then this is the place to be!
Thank you so much for a wonderful vacation Roger (and family/staff) we will have these memories for a lifetime! I hope the surf competition was a big success!

Room Tip: We stayed in Villa #1. We found it easy to get to (being that its the first room on the path) but ye...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    34
    4
    7
    7
See reviews for
22
234
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westport, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Considering the fact that we experienced travel snafu's at both the beginning and tail end of our vacation, Roger and Heidi were more than helpful and accommodating . The resort staff were, as a whole, very friendly and attentive . The view from the property is one in a million, the food excellent and we both would not hesitate to go back.

John & Susan

Room Tip: With only 5 bungalows to choose from , one can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago de Puriscal, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

I was quite excited to be staying at Vista de Olas. Our itinerary had us there for several days. We arrived to a well laid out property, a spectacular view and a nice cold welcome drink. The infinity pool appeared to be just waiting for us. We were shown to our villa and I was impressed with the unique layout, the privacy and again the awesome view. Once we settled in a bit, we noted certain deficiencies which we had come to expect at other resorts. There were no wineglasses or even glasses for use, no corkscrew, no facecloths, no kleenex and the beach towels that had been put out for our use had various stains on them although they smelled clean. As it was mid afternoon, we headed out to the pool for a refreshing dip. We met some very nice people around the pool, had a couple of drinks and quite enjoyed ourselves. We were told that locals were welcome at the pool after 4:00pm and the place did fill up and was noisier and busier than expected. We ordered our meat for supper in anticipation of the BBQ we knew was planned for supper. Pork ribs were all spoken for so my husband ordered the $22 USD beef tenderloin and I had the chicken breast (approx. half the cost). My “chef” headed to the BBQ to jockey for position to cook our meat and socialize with the fellow BBQ’ers. The salad bar was minimal with nothing special (green salad, macaroni salad,etc.) and we each got a lukewarm baked potato. The tenderloin which initially looked pretty darn mouthwatering turned out to be chewy, tough and lacking in flavour. My chicken breast had been marinated and turned out to be the better choice. We knew we would be eating our evening meals elsewhere for the balance of our stay. Water temperature and pressure in the shower are also a bit of an issue. Morning brought another hot day and we popped up to the pool area for the provided breakfast. We surprised to find we had a choice of make yourself toast or whatever was being made. Again, what was provided was not to a quality or amount we had expected. The resort advertised free wi fi. We could not connect to internet the whole time we were there. Roger did offer the use of his laptop to connect if he happened to be there in the morning. Another couple there also could not connect on the wi fi and as it was necessary for the lady’s work, they had to go stay elsewhere. They had specifically asked about the wi fi before arriving and were assured that wi fi was definitely available. Those with Apple had no problems as it would appear Roger is a Mac user. The only positive things about our stay were the good pics we got of the howler monkeys and the breathtaking scenery. Vista de Olas has so much to offer if they would improve the little things that make a difference between a memorable vacation and an adequate accommodation.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena, Montana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

What a great trip, my husband and I went in March of 2013 with another couple and this was an excellent place to stay! You can drink the water, the breakfasts every morning are wonderful, the pool is kept clean, the owners speak English fluently and can help you decide on other things to do. We did the surf lessons with Roger's sons and they were great instructors. We also did the canopy tour, fishing(we just grilled the fish we caught at night for dinner and the Vista staff prepared it for us at no charge), and ATV tour all of which I would recommend.

Only small recommendation I would have is that after 6 nights the beds and pillows got to both my husband and I. So if you have a bad back maybe ask about that.

When you go bring clothes to get dirty because you will want to rent an ATV to get around - don't rent a car or SUV, one couple in our group had their bag stolen on the beach so be careful about your things. Vista has safes in all the Villas so just keep your things locked up.

We took the montezuma expeditions shuttle there and back - it was part of the adventure and I would recommend it if you are trying so save money. but if you can afford it fly. It's an entire day's journey in the shuttle and fun to see everything you drive though, but I would have preferred time at the Villa!

Room Tip: Villa #2 has an indoor and outdoor shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

My girlfriend and I had a great time at Vista de olas. Loved the adventure. I surfed, we did the zip line and a waterfall tour. The villas are awesome and the food was great! Thanks to Roger and the crew for a great time.

Room Tip: Villa # 2 is the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol il
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

How does Vista de olas compare?
We have been to Costa Rica twice before, Tahiti (Moorea/Bora Bora) last year, Punta Cona, Mexico X 6, Turks & Caicos, and Hawaii etc.
Vista de is very unique trip that can be activity filled or just R & R. Things to do include; countries longest zip line, surfing, many beaches to explore, exploring the country side on ATV's, and visiting one of the many cool little beach side drinking villages (with fishing problems) ---joke??? or just sitting by the infinity pool and enjoying amazing views and sun sets. The pool and resort is literally built on the side of a mountain overlooking the beach and sunset. Locals and other vacationers come every day for happy hour just for the sunset views.

The rooms are very clean each with a private outdoor attached bathroom and shower (very cool) a.c. and small patio.
Local restaurants are swimsuit casual with fresh excellent food. The country is safe to explore alone and locals are friendly.

Vist de Olas has only six villas so it is easy to meet everybody and either do things together as a group (as we did ) or just meet people at the happy hour.

Finally, The owner --Roger is a southern California native who is an amazing host, very fair, and goes out of his way to make sure all is good. His two boys help with the tours and are cool to hang with and give the best tips for local hot spots.

We have had less fun on trips costing three times as much.

Recommend Vista de Olas without reservation.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida, United States
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

My husband and I spent 6 nights at Vista De Olas for our honeymoon. We couldn't have picked a more perfect place. The food, drinks, hospitality and vibe of the entire place was more than we could have asked for. The outside bathroom was awesome! We even plan to build one at our house. The villas were beautiful and comfortable. The staff was friendly and personable. Everyone knew us by name within a day. My husband and I plan to go back to Vista De Olas for our 1 year anniversary. Thanks again for everything Roger and Vista crew!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Vista de Olas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vista de Olas

Address: Vista de Olas Dr. | Mal Pais de Cobano Apto.#93, Mal Pais 5361, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Mal Pais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Mal Pais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vista de Olas is a refined hotel in Mal Pais perched on top of a peaceful hill. From this vantage point our guests are treated to sweeping views of Mal Pais and watch the most memorable sunsets. The hotel offers 6 sumptuous, secluded deluxe villas with ocean view, AC, open-sky bathroom, and private porch. Hotel amenities include fast WLAN, a luxurious infinity pool and jacuzzi, pool lounge, and the best BBQ restaurant in Mal Pais. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Vista de Olas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vista De Olas Mal Pais
Hotel Vista De Olas Costa Rica/Mal Pais

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Vista de Olas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.