We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and vibe, with an amazing view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Vista de Olas

Save Saved
You added Hotel Vista de Olas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Vista de Olas
Vista de Olas Dr. | Mal Pais de Cobano Apto.#93, Mal Pais 5361, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Mal Pais
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great value and vibe, with an amazing view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Vista de Olas was by far our favorite place we stayed in Costa Rica—great view, excellent rooms (everyone has a view of the ocean) and it has a really cool and friendly family that runs it. This place is over all just really special...I love the location and feel. Because it was situated on a hill, it gets a cool ocean breeze and you get a much better view (hence the name). It is also very private and secluded, which is nice. The road is fairly steep and rough to get to it...but if you aren't up for a little adventure, than Costa Rica might not be your thing anyway.

I put "average" on the fitness center because I don't think there is one. Go walk up the hill or go surf if you want a work out :)

Room Tip: Honestly, any of the 5 private villas are amazing. We stayed in number 1.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DodgerMalPais, Owner at Hotel Vista de Olas, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for writing a nice review for us. The Vista team wishes you guys all the best.
Best regards Roger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    31
    4
    7
    7
See reviews for
22
221
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

First trip to Costa Rica and Roger and the team made it a spanking good time (figuratively of course!). The only thing I'm bitter about is that another reviewer already coined the term "Fun Uncle Roger". Take the time to get to know him, he has great stories and is one cool kat. If you're looking for a place that has the best infinity pool with the best view, a family feel with a touch of luxury, this is for you. Can't say enough about the staff - grab a drink by the pool and chat with bartenders Josh and Luke (super fun guys).

A few things to keep in mind to make sure you have the best time: make sure to do your research beforehand and be informed about the way Visa and Mastercard work in Costa Rica (cash in hand is the smart way to go). Also, happy hour at the VDO pool is open to the public which is a great time to sit back, relax (with a frozen mojito in hand) and get to know tourists and locals alike - I've met some of the coolest expats drinking by the pool. Finally, for those of you who were lucky to have signed up for the Living Social deal, you'll find that the experience you get, food, villa, activities, service was definitely worth the price (it was for me!).

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DodgerMalPais, Owner at Hotel Vista de Olas, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
You hit it on the nail PURA VIDA. It was really nice taking to you at the wet bar almost everyday.
Thank you for writing a review for us. Hope to see you at the wet bar. Best regards Roger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed in Mal Pais at Vista De Olas in mid November and would definitely go back! Roger, the owner, was so helpful from the very beginning. I had several questions and called him a few times prior to our arrival.. he was always very helpful, quick, and thorough in his response. Once we arrived, the location and view from the infinity pool did not dissapoint. This is definitely a smaller property, so you get to know the other guests and the employees well while you are here. Everyone from Roger to his staff were just amazing and so awesome to spend time with while sipping on one of the many delicious beverages at the swim up bar. I'm certain this is the best place for a view of the sunset in Mal Pais. We got to know one of the employees, Josh while we were there and can't say enough great things abot him... he's just a cool guy to talk to, but makes sure that you are very well taken care of as a guest. The rooms were extremely nice/clean, beds were very comfortable and everything was very well kept. We did have some termites and ants in our room, but rest assured that this is the norm not the exception for the area and if you are really uncomfortable with bugs, the middle of the jungle may not be the right fit for you. The hotel definitely did what they could to remove them each day, but ultimately you're in their territory, so you just have to deal with it.. they don't bother you, so no biggie.

We were unsure about visiting at this time of year because of the potential for bad weather. We ended up only having one slightly rainy afternoon and while it did rain some at night, it wasn't a big deal at all. Also, it seems like an ATV is the best way to get around Mal Pais and the entire area as opposed to walking, taxis or renting a car, so I'd recommend putting away some funds in your travel budget to rent one each day you are here. It was about $70/day I believe and we were able to rent one right from the hotel. Make sure to check out Breezes restaurant when you are in the area too, the food was outstanding! Anyways...can't say enough great things about the hotel and the area!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DodgerMalPais, Owner at Hotel Vista de Olas, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you so much for taking your time to write a review for us.
It was a pleasure to meet you guys hope to see you down the road one day.
Best regards Roger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Vista de Olas was a great escape with breathtaking views, great breakfasts, and a relaxing vibe. Everyone working at the hotel was interesting, kind, and helpful. The villas have all that you need - huge beds, good AC, great outdoor showers, and views of the water. We surfed, ziplined, went fishing, and ATV'd through the countryside. Roger set almost everything up for us. He knows the area well - where to eat, what to avoid, etc... he is a great resource to create a satisfying trip and not get ripped off. Roads in Mal Pais aren't paved and the road up to the hotel is super steep (the views make the road worth it) - we walked or got taxis to go into town, to the beach, etc....

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DodgerMalPais, Owner at Hotel Vista de Olas, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for writing a very nice review. It was a pleasure meeting both you guys. Hopefully we will be seeing you guys soon. Take care best regards Roger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

This place is fantastic. My girlfriend and I went to relax and check out Costa Rica for the first time and there's no way we won't go back. Malpais has so much great stuff to do, and Hotel Vista de Olas is an amazing place to come home to after a day of activity. Totally relaxing and unpretentious. They've got plenty of activities they can book for you from the hotel and Roger has such great knowledge of the area and all the hidden gems. And his family is awesome. We met other great folks at the hotel and explored the area together. Can't wait to get back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DodgerMalPais, Owner at Hotel Vista de Olas, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for everything. Hope to see you in the fall. Good luck with your projects. Regards Roger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

My girlfriend and I spent a week here in mid November. It was perfect. Roger picked us up from the airport got us set up in our villa. The whole experience was stress-free. Roger is a really interesting guy with great stories. He makes you feel like you're staying with your cool, rich uncle.

The location is amazing. There was only one day I did not make it back to the swim-up bar in the infinity pool for the 4 pm happy hour/sunset viewing. All the views are stunning. The bartenders are great and the guests are all pretty cool and fun. We did a ton of surfing and atv-ing. Great trip!

Room Tip: All are similar - private villas
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DodgerMalPais, Owner at Hotel Vista de Olas, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for everything and hope to see you soon. Regards Roger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Vista de Olas was wonderful. My husband and I stayed for 6 days at the very beginning of the season (in early November). We basically had the place to ourselves. Our villa was clean and private and had an indoor shower as well as the outdoor shower. There was even a little kitchenette. The resort is high up on the hill so you get great views of the ocean and a nice breeze. Roger and his family were very sweet. His son took us on the quad tour around the jungle and was very knowledgable.

The whole town was so pleasant, too. Lots of little shops and restaurants to go to. Even a tattoo shop where I got some ink! Definitely rent a quad to get around because it allows you to fit in more fun stuff, like ziplining, kayaking, swimming, fishing, horseback riding, etc. Pretty much all of those activities can be arranged through the resort, too.

I can't wait to come back and bring the kids. Oh, one last thing. Shake out your clothes before you put them on because I put my pants on with a scorpion inside and it stung me!! Yikes! It wasn't poisonous so it was more of a good vacation story than a life threatening event. :)

Room Tip: Villa #1 is shortest walk to the driveway/front of the resort, but it's still very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DodgerMalPais, Owner at Hotel Vista de Olas, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for writing a review for us. It was a pleasure meeting you guys and hope to meet your kids soon. Take care. Regards Roger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Vista de Olas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vista de Olas

Address: Vista de Olas Dr. | Mal Pais de Cobano Apto.#93, Mal Pais 5361, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Mal Pais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mal Pais
#2 Family Hotel in Mal Pais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vista de Olas is a refined hotel in Mal Pais perched on top of a peaceful hill. From this vantage point our guests are treated to sweeping views of Mal Pais and watch the most memorable sunsets. The hotel offers 6 sumptuous, secluded deluxe villas with ocean view, AC, open-sky bathroom, and private porch. Hotel amenities include fast WLAN, a luxurious infinity pool and jacuzzi, pool lounge, and the best BBQ restaurant in Mal Pais. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Vista de Olas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vista De Olas Mal Pais
Hotel Vista De Olas Costa Rica/Mal Pais

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Vista de Olas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.