We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“View of the waves and more...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Vista de Olas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Vista de Olas to your Saves list
Hotel Vista de Olas
Vista de Olas Dr. | Mal Pais de Cobano Apto.#93, Mal Pais 5361, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Mal Pais
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“View of the waves and more...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

The views are incredible - but what sets Vista de Olas apart is the personal care given by the family who runs it all. We were picked up at the airport which was well worth it so we could get the lay of the land and get all kinds of questions answered on the way in. They source any need you might have like where to eat, renting atv's, horseback riding, zip line tours, etc... The owner took my wife and I on a personal atv tour which we highly recommend. Food at the hotel is great because they provide a hot bbq and salad bar - you take it from there. They'll even fix it for you if you're a little weary of the grill. There are only 5 villas at Vista de Olas so you're not surrounded by a bunch of people. The rooms are wonderful - very large in size and all have there own full outdoor bathroom. Security is a non-issue as you'll feel more than safe and surrounded by good people. If you want the perfect Costa Rican experience you can't go wrong with here.

Room Tip: We were in Villa #5
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    34
    4
    7
    7
See reviews for
22
233
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

We just returned from Malpais where we stayed at Vista de Olas for 5 nights. The property is amazing and the owner is really nice. He is very helpful and will organize anything you want to do. We found the setting to be totally perfect. The pictures are very close to how it actually is... only it is even better in person. The roads are rough, but if you're used to backroads in the US, it is no big deal.. Also, we felt that our kids were totally welcome and they loved it as well. This is truly a great place to stay, very laid back and BEAUTIFUL!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

I was there with some friends a couple years ago...the place is super !! It is expensive but you will find: A Great villa, great room, great service.
Unfortunatelly we were there just for 3 nights...I wish we could have stayed longer.
A MUST place to stay in Costa Rica...however to get there is a mess....

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

This was the highlight of our honeymoon! the place and the views are to die for but what makes this place magical is the owners! They really make you feel at home and the food is amazing. Dont look any further

Room Tip: ask for the room with the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011 via mobile

Vista was an amazing place to relax and enjoy the view. It might be the nicest view in Mal Pais/Sainta Theresa. The one thing you have to be prepared for is the walk to other restaurants. Its about 15 mins away. The dinner at vista is amazing so you don't need to go out every night. The rumor is that in the dry season people travel from Tambor just for the dinner and view. It was quiet while we were there but i believe it gets bumping.

Tip: get room 3. It has the outdoor washroom and the crazy ocean view. We were in number 1 though and it was amazing!

We were here in the offseason. Right before we came there was 10 days of rain. Since we arrived there hasn't been one drop.

Go surfing with Jobbie which Heidi can setup. It is totally worth it. The guy is amazing and knows every person in town. Make sure you go to playa hermosa for surfing. If the lady friend doesn't want to surf the beach is incredible and she'll still have a ton of fun.

Finally, make sure you spend a morning at the secret beach. Heidi can tell you where it is and if her boys are out of town she might rent you a couple of bikes.

A big thank you to Roger, Heidi and the whole staff. This place is highly recommended for anyone who wants to have a paradise to relax in, wonderful friendly people to help you access any experience you want with no over the top touristy experiences and a killer view. Perfect for honeymooners or those wanting a romantic getaway. Was sorry to go and would definitely return!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

The view of the Pacific speaks for itself. The rooms are clean and well kept. Staff are courteous and helpful. The pool is fun to paddle around in, look at the waves and swim up to the bar for a tasty rum drink or beer. Breakfast is included. Dinner's fresh ingredients are cooked by you on their large grill.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2011

This place is perfect. The room was nice, clean and with the bathroom outside!! I was always a bit scare to go during the night!!! Roger, the host, is wonderful. He greeted us with beers. ( after a long drive from San Jose) It was pretty quiet during our stay, it is the beginning of off season but it was cool. We always had a drink by the pool for the sunset and we had a diner at the BBQ. you order your meat and you cook it yourself on the BBQ. It was delicious. Huge Filet Mignon. With the salad bar humm mmmm! Staff was nice and helpful. The breakfast in the morning with the view. WOW. French toast, Omelettes always served with a BIG fruits plate and Costa Rican Coffee. I would go back in a hart beat. If you don't stay there YOU HAVE to go for a drink by the pool at a sunset and stay for a BBQ night. It is a Must in Mal Pais to visit Vista de Olas

One thing. You need a 4X4 to get there, to way up from the road is really something, after 4 days we got used to it. But be prepared for a challange ( It is coming from a Girl but still please be adviced)

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Vista de Olas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vista de Olas

Address: Vista de Olas Dr. | Mal Pais de Cobano Apto.#93, Mal Pais 5361, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Mal Pais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Mal Pais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vista de Olas is a refined hotel in Mal Pais perched on top of a peaceful hill. From this vantage point our guests are treated to sweeping views of Mal Pais and watch the most memorable sunsets. The hotel offers 6 sumptuous, secluded deluxe villas with ocean view, AC, open-sky bathroom, and private porch. Hotel amenities include fast WLAN, a luxurious infinity pool and jacuzzi, pool lounge, and the best BBQ restaurant in Mal Pais. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Vista de Olas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vista De Olas Mal Pais
Hotel Vista De Olas Costa Rica/Mal Pais

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Vista de Olas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.