We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Say Hi To Bruno!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Moana

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Moana to your Saves list
Hotel Moana
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Mal Pais, Mal Pais 0000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Mal Pais
Certificate of Excellence
Cranford, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Say Hi To Bruno!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

The hotel is exactly what you expect. It's away from the hustle bustle of beach town life, but beach town life is less than a mile down the road, so it's the best of both worlds. Quiet and peaceful, but parties available around the corner. They don't serve lunch, but not to worry, there is an excellent location across the street with hammocks in front of the ocean. The dinners are good, not the best Tapas in the world, but definitely good for the area. We went with the junior suite and it was good, but if we had it to do over again we'd go with a less expensive room and use the extra money for activities. I'm going to put some bullet points below of things that stand out.

-On one evening I left my IPad out and could not find it the next morning. A member of the cleaning staff had found it and turned it in. It was my fault that it got lost and the staff protected it.

-Bruno, the man who seems to be running the show, is incredible in every way. Spend as much time talking to him as you can. Soccer is one of his favorite topics. He can arrange things for you as you go, he got us an ATV on short notice and we were late getting it back. He worked it out so we didn't pay any extra.

-The restaurant. While it's not great, if you talk to Bruno they can get you special meals. We love whole fish so they got one fresh for us and cooked it the way we like it and didn't charge us anything more than a typical entree.

So what I can tell you is that this establishment is beautiful, the staff is amazing and of the greatest integrity, if you want something tell Bruno, and when the bill comes there are no surprises.

Room Tip: I'd spend money on the activities rather than the suites, but the suites really aren't that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J_Curtis34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Alkmaar, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014 via mobile

Really enjoyed our stay in this little paradise. Rooms are clean, spacious & pretty (liked the jungle theme!). Beautiful view from te restaurant! Pool area is one of the most relaxed places i've ever been (sound of the ocean in the background). And the staff was super friendly and helpful!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Geeskew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We spent five wonderful days at the large vacation home MOANA HOTEL has in Mal Pais. Large, comfortable social, dinning and kitchen areas. 5 bedrooms with impressive bathrooms, good working A/C. Gorgeous view and sunset with a deep swimming pool. Maid service every day. Just perfect for our large family. We had a group of 14 and it was just perfect for all of us. The beaches in Santa Teresa and playa Hermosa just north of Sta Teresa and the best!!! Low tide creates tide pools for kids and to enjoy a little piece of paradise.
Lots of beach restaurants and places to hang out. The "bakery" is superb! Good food everywhere!
highly recommend this home and the Santa Teresa / Mal Pais area.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roberto K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Our room was clean and comfortable, the hotel property has a beautiful restaurant set up on the top of the mountain, had amazing food and an even better view. We liked that the property was near the beach but not "in town" so it was quieter. It was easy to walk along the beach or get a taxi into town. The pool area was beautiful and well maintained. However, the best thing about this hotel is the level of service; Bruno, Cheekie and the rest of the staff went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed to make our stay comfortable. They helped with booking excursions and taxis to and from the airport. Next time we come back to Costa Rica we will definitely stay here again! - Becky & Jason

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lac du Bonnet, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

While wintering in Tamarindo Costa Rica we took a short trip with friends to Mal Pais and Santa Teresa. We picked the Moana Lodge based on reviews we saw online. The hotel offers breath taking views and a beautiful pool area. On arrival we were told that our reserved cabin had a problem so we were put in a Junior Suite for our first nigh at no additional charge. The view was amazing which compensated for the number of stairs we had to climb. The staff were very friendly and " Cheeky " looked after all our needs during our stay.
The Papaya restaurant offered an excellent selection for both breakfast, dinner and the sunset from the restaurant was spectacular. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: Deluxe room worth the upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bob c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollis, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

An enjoyable lodge with clean updated rooms. We stayed up above the tree line in one of the suites and it was perfect. Great views, etc. I would stay here again definitely. Staff was friendly and worked well for you.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveNewHamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

I want to first say that Hotel Moana was the best place we stayed during our first trip to Costa Rica. It is nestled in a mountain ridge overlooking the ocean with breathtaking views from the restaurant for breakfast and dinner. We liked that it wasn't in the center of town: off the beaten path just enough but within walking distance of the great beach across the street and alternate restaurants. The hotel is intimate with a great pool and an bar operating off the honor system; loved it. The hotel staff is friendly and takes every necessary step to ensure your stay is nothing short of excellent. Bruno, the hotel's manager is a down-to-earth, genuine guy who assisted us in navigating Mal Pais and daily outdoor activities. Unfortunately, we were involved in a ATV accident our last night in Mal Pais. Bruno got wind of the situation and met us at the clinic! We wouldn't have gotten where we needed to without Bruno. Although we ended our vacation short, I would HIGHLY recommend Hotel Moana to ANYONE, especially couples. We will return someday! A huge thanks to Bruno and the rest of the staff!

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms were very nice but I think the standard rooms are just as nice if you don't nee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MilaAlbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mal Pais
0.8 mi away
Hotel Oasis
Hotel Oasis
#3 of 9 in Mal Pais
4.5 of 5 stars 128 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vista de Olas
Hotel Vista de Olas
#2 of 9 in Mal Pais
4.5 of 5 stars 431 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel The Place
Hotel The Place
#6 of 9 in Mal Pais
4.0 of 5 stars 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Indigo Yoga Surf Resort
Indigo Yoga Surf Resort
#5 of 9 in Mal Pais
4.5 of 5 stars 23 reviews
0.5 mi away
Blue Jay Lodge
Blue Jay Lodge
#8 of 9 in Mal Pais
4.0 of 5 stars 82 reviews
3.8 mi away
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
#7 of 27 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 stars 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Moana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Moana

Address: Mal Pais, Mal Pais 0000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Mal Pais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Mal Pais
#4 Romantic Hotel in Mal Pais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Moana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Moana is a small luxurious ocean view hotel nestled amongst a rich backdrop of wildlife and jungle. Inspired by Africa for its choice of décor, the beautiful rooms offer tranquility and comfort to all of our guests. Enjoy being served breakfast while you gaze out over the Pacific Ocean. Later hang out at the wonderful pool area and fall asleep on a suspended day bed while the waves crash in the background, paradise awaits! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Moana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moana Hotel Mal Pais
Hotel Moana Costa Rica/Mal Pais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing