We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay (too short!)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Moana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Moana to your Saves list
Hotel Moana
Mal Pais, Mal Pais 0000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Mal Pais
Neenah, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Great stay (too short!)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

My husband and I had a great stay at this hotel. The room was spacious, relaxing and peaceful. We paid extra for the views and it was worth it. We had to make changes in our reservation (twice) and Bruno was very accommodating and cheerful. We discovered the A/C was dripping some water in our room, due to some blocked line outside, I think. Within minutes, Bruno climbed on the roof and fixed it. No problem. The women at the desk and restaurant was also very helpful. I read the review about the dust, and I'm very surprised. I didn't notice any dust. It isn't right on the street. Also, in this area, I don't think I would want to be on the beach. Exploring beaches during the day, watching the sunset, then, coming back to a relaxing hotel was more our style. By the way, the pool was nice, too. Great place to stay!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    43
    12
    8
    4
See reviews for
37
211
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boone, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Great rooms at reasonable prices. Or SUPER ROOMS with Great views!!!!
Nice Pool and the Best Tapas Restaurant with a sunset view!!!!
We could not have asked for more!!!
Thanks especially to Chiki, Bruno, and the rest of the Moana Staff!!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijlen, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

From the 20 hotels we’ve already visit in Costa Rica, this is definitely one of our favourites!
We had a deluxe room and it was magnificent!
Very friendly staff who helps with everything.
Also the rest of the area was just like the photos.
Restaurant with small menu but very good food and an amazing view.
(and if you want to eat outside: go to The Bakery)
Now it’s saving to come back ;-)

Neg.: not for people with a bad condition (= stairs)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Supose to stay 4 nights, but we left after 1 night. Hotel is nice with great views, but in middle of dust. Definitely to place to relax and enjoy beach - you have to take car and drive 5 min to reach beach, no showers no public toilets on this beach. Hotel is not value for money at all.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moanamanager, Owner at Hotel Moana, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Dear Martin, the hotels manager, Bruno, informed me that you enjoyed Moana and that you found no complaint with it but that you wanted to check out and receive a refund because you wanted to stay in a hotel that was beachfront.
Bruno took the time to explain to you that as we were full during your stay, that we held your room when you booked it online thus turning away other potential clients.

Unfortunately as were a small hotel we need to implement out booking policies even when the client wants to relocate because the hotel is not a beach front hotel. It is also clearly described on our website that we’re not a beachfront hotel but an ocean view hotel. If there was a problem such as a broken AC unit or the like we would happily refund you, as it would be an error on our part.

Bruno offered to resell your room (which is our unwritten policy in these situations as we don’t wish for any ill feeling) and if achieved we were more than happy to refund you for your stay. Bruno did this even before you threatened him with a bad review for something that was not the fault of the hotel.
Tripadvisor was created to allow travellers to voice honest and helpful reviews and to pass on feedback both positive and negative in the hope of improving the hotel industry, it is not there to draw revenge against hotels when they stand their ground.

Our location is a mere 1.5kms from the sometimes dusty and noisy centre and that’s why a lot of our guests choose to stay with us as they don’t wish to hear the loud music from the open air nightclubs on the beach. The entrance to the hotel is located 150meters from the main road and we’re one of the few hotels in the area where the dust has never been a problem.
I’m sorry you chose the wrong hotel location on this trip but I hope the rest of your vacation was up to your satisfaction,
Aidan P
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

....and still as good as first! we love this hotel, stylish, boutique, friendly, relaxed. already booked for Christmas :-)
Fantastic hotel for couples wanting to get away and relax. You will need a hire car.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Our stay at Moana was lovely! We chose a standard room, which was more than sufficient. It was clean, quiet, and had a nice bathroom, a safe, and a fridge/minibar. It felt very private and the back windows looked out on trees. It also had a front porch where we could sit and enjoy a drink and the 24/7 sounds of the ocean across the street. The pool was nice, though we didn't spend much time in it. The pool area has some cool hanging beds to lounge on and an "honesty bar," where you can purchase drinks and snacks by simply taking them and writing down your name/room/date. The hotel staff are all very friendly and most of them spoke excellent English and were understanding of our less than perfect Spanish! Upon arrival we were immediately asked, Necesita ayuda?, before even leaving the parking lot with our luggage! We were able to book excursions through the hotel and we didn't need to pay until checkout (excursions are cash only and reasonably-priced). It was very convenient. The included breakfasts were excellent, and starting our day up in the Papaya Lounge with its amazing views and chill vibe was awesome! Not to mention the sweet (non-barking) dog, Lulu, who greeted us every day. We had a car but on several occasions walked down the beach into town, which was also nice. I would recommend walking the beach vs. the street as it is very dusty. I would definitely go back and recommend it to anyone! So romantic.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Moana for a few days during our honeymoon. We absolutely loved this hotel. It was clean, quite, room had nice beds, and most of all a spacious and modern and clean bathroom. This was by far our favorite hotel during our 11 day visit to Costa Rica. Breakfast is included in the room rate, and at restaurant not only has awesome food but great views. I would highly recommend staying at Hotel Moana.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Moana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Moana

Address: Mal Pais, Mal Pais 0000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Mal Pais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Mal Pais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Moana is a small luxurious ocean view hotel nestled amongst a rich backdrop of wildlife and jungle. Inspired by Africa for its choice of décor, the beautiful rooms offer tranquility and comfort to all of our guests. Enjoy being served breakfast while you gaze out over the Pacific Ocean. Later hang out at the wonderful pool area and fall asleep on a suspended day bed while the waves crash in the background, paradise awaits! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Moana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moana Hotel Mal Pais
Hotel Moana Costa Rica/Mal Pais

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Moana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.