We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jungle bungalow.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Moana

Save Saved
You added Hotel Moana to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Moana
Mal Pais, Mal Pais 0000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 10 hotels in Mal Pais
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Jungle bungalow.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I just stayed here for our 1st trip away from our children. This luxury treehouse had everything we desired and then some. It was quiet, clean, tranquil and relaxing. It's a little out of the way, but didn't bother us at all. You can't beat the free breakfast and everything is a short walk or taxi ride away. There are no fruity drinks or limbo at the pool- thank god. There is, however, an honesty bar where you leave your room number in a notebook when you take a beer or soda. That sums up the vibe of Moana Lodge.

Vicky and Aiden, as well as all the staff, were accommodating and warm. They set up all of our daily excursions and didn't steer us wrong. There's something for everyone in Mal Pais.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    219
    39
    12
    7
    3
See reviews for
32
192
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Picton, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

In this dusty grubby little town you will find the oases that is Moana Lodge. Very clean and comfy lodgings away from the dusty road with a funky African motif. Good pool and spa area and the best restaurant ever! The breakfasts were unbelievable. Papaya the restaurant serves exquisite tapas. As a couple we shared four wwhich is more than enough and a pitcher of their homemade sangria. All this with a fantastic 180degree view of the coastline and crashing surf. Ok the 105 steps to the restaurant is aerobic exercise but the result is worthwhile.

Room Tip: The higher rooms have a better view but are more costly. Enjoy the view at the restaurant and enjoy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed at Moana Lodge in January this year, this was the second time we stayed there. We first visited for our honeymoon 3 years ago not long after it opened and loved it so much we came back. I did wonder if the hotel was going to be the same, hospitality and decor wise, we -were not disappointed :-)
Its a beautiful hotel with high standards on bedrooms, dining, pool etc. I book luxury/premium hotels as part of my job so have high expectations.
We have stayed in 3 types of the rooms that they have there and all are beautiful.
The Tapas and cocktails beat any we experienced in Mal Pais and Santa Teresa.
We are planning our return there next year!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winkler
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed in the Junior Suite which over looks the ocean. This is the second time we have stayed at Moana Lodge and there is a reason for that. The view is unbelievable, so beautiful! We had our own deck to watch the sunset every night. The room is beautiful and big. My favourite part of the junior suite was that the front of the suite was all made of glass, gorgeous anytime of day! Beautiful large bathroom with a huge tiled shower and great water pressure (which is important to me :) ).
We ate at the restaurant several times. This restaurant is the most perfect place to watch the sunset in the Santa Teresa/ Mal Pais area. So even if you don't stay here for night it is definitely worth coming for a meal. The large breakfasts which are included are amazing! One morning we even watched a whale down below for about an hour.
The pool is beautiful, but is shaded for most of the day. I think there is some sun for a few hours.This is the one thing I wish could be changed as I come to Costa Rica for the sun. Although the trees around the pool allow for monkeys to come right to the pool. I had one monkey within 3 feet of me!
The service is great! It all started with Bruno who works at the office. He was great and had a great sense of humour! Thank you Bruno for making our stay even better and hope you will come to Canada to visit. One of the guys at the restaurant, Mike still remembered us from 2 years ago, it was like visiting old friends. When staying here, you feel like you are staying with friends, loved it!
This place is not right in Santa Teresa, which makes it so special. Lots of things to do in the area. When staying here we rented a quad for some of the days and went hiking at the Nature park, went to the waterfall by Montezuma, went quading to some of the other beaches for a day trip, went to Montezuma. We also did the ziplining tour the last time we were here. Quading through some of the roads here have a great jungle feel to it, loved it! If you are wanting to just relax, this was a great place to relax too and we met lots of great people here. The type of people that come here are great, usually people that want to get away from the crowd. It is a very romantic setting and you can go all out and get the honeymoon suite or junior suite which we absolutely loved or one of the other rooms which are all great!
Coming here the first time, we knew we would be back. This is a great place to stay! The kind of service you get here is like staying at a five star resort. Thank you especially to Aiden, Bruno and Mike for making our trip! We will be back!

Room Tip: Honeymoon suite or Junior suite have their own deck to enjoy the sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tullamore, Offaly, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed in the junior suite, and it was like living in your own private treehouse! So secluded and surrounded by jungle. A beautiful suite, spacious and spotlessly clean. The restaurant is also elevated with stunning views of the Pacific Ocean, and the food was excellent. The hotel organises a great choice of outdoor activities nearby - boat trip to Torguga Island, deep sea fishing, zip-lining, surfing and horseriding. The staff were very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We just got back from our trip in Costa Rica and had to tell all about the Moana Lodge.
Mal Pais is a very dusty place this time of year. If you eat outside in town you will have to contend with a cloud of dust with your food. I tell you this because, as we drove into town before finding the hotel I was worried how the hotel would be. As it turns out, the hotel is nicely situated on top of the hill away from the dust.

We reserved the most modest of the rooms available. It was clean and comfortable with nice decor. Pool was almost outside our door but still secluded via landscaping.

The staff and owners went out of their way to make sure we all were happy. Always available for our request. We were leaving at 4:00am and they came by that night to say bye and to give us a breakfast to go (never had that happen before).

The resturant was on the very top of the hill with a GREAT view of the ocean. I wish I could say the food was as wonderful as everything else but it had a lot to be desired.

We wanted to ride horses and they set that up for the next day. Horses were on the premises and were well taken care of. Two hour ride was only $40 each (thats a deal).

This was one of our favorite places we stayed in Costa Rica

Room Tip: Small rooms no walk to the pool. Deluxe rooms view of ocean, easy walk to restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

A quiet room in the tree tops overlooking the Pacific Ocean during sunset! We had a great time at the Moana Lodge. A short drive to restaurants, market, shopping and the beach. The uniqueness of the rooms is a selling point, and worth the rate. We would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Moana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Moana

Also Known As:
Moana Hotel
Moana Hotel Mal Pais
Hotel Moana Costa Rica/Mal Pais
Address: Mal Pais, Mal Pais 0000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Mal Pais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mal Pais
#3 Family Hotel in Mal Pais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Moana is a small luxurious ocean view hotel nestled amongst a rich backdrop of wildlife and jungle. Inspired by Africa for its choice of décor, the beautiful rooms offer tranquility and comfort to all of our guests. Enjoy being served breakfast while you gaze out over the Pacific Ocean. Later hang out at the wonderful pool area and fall asleep on a suspended day bed while the waves crash in the background, paradise awaits! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Moana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Moana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.