We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Honeymoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Chameleon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Chameleon to your Saves list
Casa Chameleon
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Punta Barrigona, Mal Pais, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$3,800 (USD) PER COUPLE
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Mal Pais
1 review
“Perfect Honeymoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Casa Chameleon was the perfect spot for our honeymoon. The staff is wonderful-incredibly attentive and kind. We cannot say enough about the food each morning and night! Both the head chef Pabro and sous chef Will were both incredible. We really enjoyed talking with Pabro about the dishes and local cuisine each night. We hope to be back in the future!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Ann Arbor
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

My Wife and I stayed here for our honeymoon and it was an amazing experience. To be up front, we bought the romance package with comes with two meals a day, a rental car, and a tourist activity. I am not sure how it would have been with a normal booking.

However, our trip was excellent. The manager and assistant manager were incredibly helpful from the moment we arrived and helped us with planning our trip, finding places to eat lunch, and giving us directions to anything we needed.

The room was truly beautiful. I would guess that the closest villa was probably within 50 feet, however, it felt completely private. We stayed in Villa Sol and it had a beautiful view of the sunset over our pool every night. One of the highlights of the trip was the food. We ate breakfast and dinner at the hotel everyday and the meals were delicious. The chef used locally sourced fresh ingredients to create inventive and tasty dishes. He was also incredibly accommodating to both dietary needs and even specific preferences. Besides the hotel the locale is undeniably gorgeous. Mal Pais is an awesome town. Everyone is super friendly, the beaches are breathtaking, and the local restaurants cook great food. The trip there is a bit of a trek, but totally worth it.

I would highly recommend Casa Chameleon to anyone who wants to have a romantic escape with the perfect combination of adventure and luxury.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DylanT679
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calistoga, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

Staying at Casa Chameleon for our honeymoon was the best decision ever! The photos barely do it justice. We rented an ATV and ventured all over the peninsula. We surfed, caught huge Mahi Mahi, zip lined and visited many towns and villages along the way. The staff treated us like royalty and were so very attentive. The daily breakfasts and dinners were completely top notch (being from Napa Valley we're a bit spoiled) and we still wish we were there dining with the awesome chef and staff. The villas were breathtaking and the jungle sounds awakening and exciting. We can't wait to go back!!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JenFilipelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Casa Chameleon is an amazing place…my wife and I just visited for a second time, and it once again did not disappoint! This time around we stayed in Villa Estrella for a couple of nights and Villa Vista for one night. Both villas were fantastic; they are super clean and have a ton of amenities with the highlight being the refreshing plunge pools!

There are a lot of great places to eat in Mal Pais, but I highly recommend eating right at Casa Chameleon. The restaurant itself is beautifully built with fantastic views, but ultimately you must go for the food! Head Chef Pabro is a genius…each time we ate at the restaurant, I had seafood straight out of the ocean from the local fishing port. DELICIOUS!

I would also like to mention that there are a lot of fun activities in the area. Seeing as Mal Pais is a major surfing destination, I had to try it out this time around. Like most activities, the resort will set everything up for you, which is really convenient. I had a great surfing instructor that taught me all the basics and got me up on the board within a few tries!

Casa Chameleon is a beautiful resort with all the amenities you could ever dream of plus a super friendly and accommodating staff. My wife and I will be visiting this gorgeous place for years to come!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dustin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

If you're looking for privacy, luxury and romance you will find it here! Casa Chameleon delivers on all it's websites's promises! The hotel and grounds were beautiful and well designed. My Fiancé and I loved the "In the forest" feel of the place and were constantly enchanted by the many gorgeous flowers, birds and lazy reptiles we spotted around the property. On top of the grounds being lovely, the Villas were exceptional. We stayed in two of the 6 and both were fantastic. Each of them nestled against a hillside with total privacy and expansive views of the rain forest and stunning blue ocean below. Each Villa came with a private infinity pool which were so very inviting and constantly beckoned us to take a swim. The Villa's also boasted wide open floor plans with high ceilings and full kitchens complete with fridge and microwave. The air conditioning units were also a welcomed addition and the bathrooms...Well somethings should be left a surprise : ) I could go on and on about this hotel, the wonderful hardworking friendly staff there, the GM who made our stay "très incroyable" but I'll let you experience it for yourself. The fact is, this hotel tries very hard to make sure you have a wonderful experience. If you are looking for a place to deepen your relationship, fall in love all over again or just forget about the world together, stay at Casa Chameleon, you'll thank this review later.

Room Tip: If you get the chance, stay in Villa Estrella or Villa Ultra. They will not disappoint!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CoopsTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

We could feel ourselves relaxing the moment we stepped into our villa. Spacious and comfortable, it was the balcony with stunning views and private plunge pool/jacuzzi that really made our stay. Breakfast, ordered the day before, was served on our balcony by smiling and courteous staff. Food was excellent, including the black tuna which we caught and the chef prepared for us. We could have stayed much longer than our few days, and hope to return one day!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

If you are going to Costa Rica, Casa Chameleon is the place to stay! This was our second time at the hotel, and I’m happy to report that Casa Chameleon was even better than my husband and I remembered it! Both of the villas that we stayed in on this trip were beautifully decorated and were equipped with everything we could ever want or need – plunge pool, hammock, beach towels, iPod dock, mini-fridge, etc. They even had insulated wine glasses to keep our white wine chilled on warm nights! The attention to detail is incredible and makes for a stress-free, relaxing stay.

Both my husband and I took note of the hotel staff who are truly top notch – as a whole, they were attentive, responsive, and always had smiles on their faces. Vicky coordinated our room reservations (including a room change) and our car rental flawlessly, and she was just a phone call away throughout our trip planning. The hotel manager, Alonso, introduced himself upon our arrival and checked in with us throughout our stay. Erica booked activities for us, provided directions/maps, and patiently answered all of our questions. And this wouldn’t be a Casa Chameleon review if we didn’t mention the kitchen staff! Pabro and Will prepared dinner for us twice, and these were the two best meals we ate while in Costa Rica – no contest. We also really liked that they use fresh, local ingredients in all of the dishes. The bartender, Lily, mixed us some awesome cocktails, and it quickly became our routine to belly up to the bar for a pre-dinner drink while watching the sunset. I highly recommend the Strawberry Mojito! By the time we checked out, we felt like we were saying good bye to friends.

One more recommendation – get a massage! The manager will arrange for the masseuse to come right to your villa. You can choose to have your massage outside on the private patio and hear the ocean waves. I’ve had massages both times we’ve stayed at Casa Chameleon, and it’s such a treat.

We have told all of our family and friends about Casa Chameleon, and we really just can’t recommend it enough. Stay here and you’re guaranteed to have an amazing vacation!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KTmpls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mal Pais
0.7 mi away
Hotel Oasis
Hotel Oasis
#3 of 9 in Mal Pais
4.5 of 5 stars 128 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Vista de Olas
Hotel Vista de Olas
#2 of 9 in Mal Pais
4.5 of 5 stars 431 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Moana
Hotel Moana
#4 of 9 in Mal Pais
4.5 of 5 stars 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas
4.0 mi away
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
#7 of 27 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 stars 162 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel The Place
Hotel The Place
#6 of 9 in Mal Pais
4.0 of 5 stars 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Chameleon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Chameleon

Address: Punta Barrigona, Mal Pais, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Mal Pais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mal Pais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Chameleon 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chosen as one of the "Best 101 Hotels in the World" by Conde Nast Publications' Tatler Travel Guide for 2006, Casa Chameleon is a favourite with honeymooners and celebrities to relax and unwind in an enchanted environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Casa Chameleon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Chameleon Mal Pais
Casa Chameleon Costa Rica/Mal Pais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing