We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Chameleon

Save Saved
You added Casa Chameleon to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa Chameleon
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Punta Barrigona, Mal Pais, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Mal Pais
Bryan, Texas
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We stayed in Villa Estrella and everything was absolutely amazing!!! Although it was a long walk to get to our villa the view was amazing the whole way down. The villa was very large and so comfy. After all of our adventures during the day we always came back to a clean room. Everyone who worked there made us feel like family. If we ever needed to change or add anything to our itinerary they were always able to accommodate. The food was absolutely amazing along with the service. Overall this was a 5 star honeymoon for us!

Room Tip: Villa Estrella is a honeymooners dream!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    10
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
4
170
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lansing, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

It was amazing. Best place for a honeymoon.
The private villa was spacious, clean, and the private pools was incredible. The perfect place to relax, if you don't have an activity planned for a day there is still plenty to do by just relaxing in your villa or heading up to the main pool for lunch or a drink.

Now.... the food. Where to begin. Rob and his crew are incredible. I am an incredibly picky eater and did not dislike a thing that was put on our plate. The level of cooking was on par with a 5star restaurant and was amazing. Rob's team of Marlene, Wilmer, and Anette were equally as amazing as him. If you have the opportunity to purchase a package it is worth every penny in the 3 course dinners and amazing breakfasts.
The breakfasts were always changing and accompanied by tons of fresh fruit, fresh fruit juice, coconut water and coffee. Rocio did a FANTASTIC job and we ended up not having breakfast room service because we enjoyed the team so much.

The people who helped with renting our vehicle were great. We did the activities of SUP and the Montezuma canopy tour. Both were incredible and the customer service at both were out of this world. Andy at Freedom Riding was a great instructor and I would highly recommend choosing their activity regardless of your level of experience with SUP.

An amazing trip, an amazing team, and an amazing property.

Room Tip: We had the ultra luxury villa which was incredible. However, you can see Pochote to your left. Not e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

My wife and I have traveled across several continents and in countless environments, but never have we run across a hotel quite this unique. The landscape is beautiful, and to go to Mal Pais is to truly "get away" as this is as remote an area of Costa Rica as you will find while still getting a 5 Star property like this. The town itself is amazing - the food choices from around the world are like nothing we've ever seen before. Italian, Israeli, French, Salvadoran, etc...all of it being AMAZING! Small shops, lots of outdoor eating...and it's very affordable.

As for Casa Chameleon - the resort is so small that it essentially feels like you're renting the place out all by yourself, even when it's at full capacity. The Chef is hands down the best in the country, and if he were working in the US he would be a James Beard award winner - yes he's that good. The meals aren't cheap, but they are made to order, in front of you, with food that was either pulled from the ocean that afternoon or came out of the ground from a farm close by. It's seriously legit.

The rooms are all amazing...private pools, amazing showers with glass walls looking over the hillside, and very comfortable beds. Very large patios and breakfast can be served on the patio every morning!

We took advantage of the surfing lessons, zip lining, the nature reserve hike, etc...and all of it's recommended. Lay by the hotel and sip frozen beverages for a while...but then get out and enjoy the beauty of Costa Rica, you won't regret it!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Casa Chameleon was a perfect honeymoon location for us. We dined in our room, at the bar, at the restaurant and offsite. The food was delicious. The breakfast and lunch chef is someone different from the dinner chef; both are amazing. We had typical Costa Rican flavors in the day, and everything from lobster to lamb at night. Food can be delivered to your room by the chef so you get to meet the person who prepares your meal. Rob was our chef and we loved meeting him and loved everything he prepared.
We are active people and loved the hike to the beach and appreciated the stairs that led to our room. We ate more in Costa Rica and found this extra exercise to be exactly what we needed to indulge in a hearty breakfast and a three course dinner.

Beyond the food, there is much to see in Costa Rica. The staff was extremely accommodating and we were able to book most of our activities directly through the hotel. We reserved a side by side (ATV) for 4 days so that we could adventure. Traveling by ATV is a lot of fun. We also headed to Montezuma twice and spent some time at the tidal pools nearby.

I highly recommend Casa Chameleon.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Norwich, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

We just returned from our stay in Costa Rica, and 4 of our nights there were spent at Villa Vista in Casa Chameleon. We were treated like royalty and the exclusivity of everything at the resort made the trip feel like you had your own private oasis in the middle of the quiet jungle. It was perfect, and really hard for the rest of our stays at other places, because we found ourselves often comparing to the resort.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed at Casa Chameleon the end of August for our honeymoon. Let me start by saying I've never stayed at a resort type place where they encourage you to pay for meals in advance. Having never been to Costa Rica before, knowing it was rainy season, we chose to purchase the half board meal plans. We were pretty disappointed. Our first breakfast was 2 slice of wonder-bread style French Toast. It had to have cost about $3 to make yet their price is $16. We were also charged an additional $2 for room delivery. Not a huge deal, it's $2, but it definitely wasn't made clear that there were additional fees for that. Also, both breakfast and dinner had to be scheduled. So if you were last to pick you may be in the unfortunately predicament of having to work your day around a meal (which you already paid for). Dinner, again, at $68 each a person, was very underwhelming and Americanized. We had already been to Montezuma for our first two nights in Costa Rica and had filled our bellies on plenty of fresh fish for about half the price. We later headed up to Playa Guiones and also had an amazing experience food-wise so I feel it is safe to say this place needs a little work. The frozen mint lemonade was delicious though :)

We stayed in Villa Vista. Amazing view. Pool both in the room and the main pool were great and relaxing. Kind of a downer soundtrack for the common area though. We could hear howler monkeys from the nearby Cabo Blanco nature reserve. That was pretty awesome. We also did a lot of bird watching from our back patio.

All in all the space was nice and the staff and chef were very friendly. I don't know that I feel the need to go back and if I did I definitely wouldn't sign up for the meal plan. The chef was very attentive and proud and probably has potential. But, if you are looking for great places to eat there were plenty nearby in Santa Teresa.

Room Tip: Villa Vista - excellent all around!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We have done a lot of traveling, but this was our first vacation in Costa Rica. We wanted to end our trip on a luxurious note, and we are so glad we chose Casa Chameleon! It is, without exaggeration, the best hotel we have ever stayed in.

Mal Pais is very much in the jungle, and we were a bit worried about our trip being TOO rustic. We wanted to see wildlife but didn't necessarily want to sleep with bugs - we wanted to feel like we were in the jungle but also feel pampered. We got exactly what we wanted at Casa Chameleon. All 6 villas are very private. We were there in August during Costa Rica's technical rainy season (we actually had great weather), so we noticed that a lot of the other hotels and restaurants were a bit empty. Casa Chameleon was still completely booked - a testament to how terrific they are.

The villas are breathtakingly beautiful down to every last detail. They are even more beautiful than the photos on Casa Chameleon's website suggests. Our infinity pool had a Buddha fountain in it. Our bed linens were pulled back by sea shells. Our inside rain shower was attached to an outside, more jungle-feeling rain shower... We were so fascinated by our room, we made every effort to stay in it for as long as possible over the 2 days we were there. Our only regret is not staying longer!

The restaurant is AMAZING. Dinner is on the pricey side, but it is worth every penny. We ate there our last night, and it was the best meal we had in Costa Rica.

The ONLY downside to the hotel is that wifi is not available in the rooms, only in their main bar (I think this is probably an issue for every hotel in Mal Pais). In theory, of course, you don't want to be online during vacation, but if you do have to send out a quick email for work, it would be nice to do it from your private infinity pool. :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Chameleon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Chameleon

Address: Punta Barrigona, Mal Pais, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Mal Pais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mal Pais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Chameleon 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chosen as one of the "Best 101 Hotels in the World" by Conde Nast Publications' Tatler Travel Guide for 2006, Casa Chameleon is a favourite with honeymooners and celebrities to relax and unwind in an enchanted environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Casa Chameleon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Chameleon Mal Pais
Casa Chameleon Costa Rica/Mal Pais

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Chameleon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.