We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Destination!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Chameleon

Save Saved
You added Casa Chameleon to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Casa Chameleon
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Punta Barrigona, Mal Pais, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Mal Pais
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Destination!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

My husband and I spent 9 nights at the Casa Chameleon. It was amazing. The food, service, people, room -- everything was great. We simply could not have had a better time. We ate every breakfast and every other dinner at the restaurant. That worked really well for us. The food was amazing.

We rented a car, which I would HIGHLY recommend. It was easy to drive to all of the beaches and other sites in the area.

Room Tip: All 6 of the rooms seemed great. Some had a fair number of stairs, so if you have difficulty walkin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaChameleon, Owner's Rep at Casa Chameleon, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Hola Kathy!
Thank you for sharing your experience at Casa Chameleon with fellow travelers! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you back at Casa Chameleon in the future!!
Pura vida :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    10
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
4
170
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

A truly beautiful setting up on the hill above the beaches combined with warm hospitality and wonderful food makes for a fabulous stay. Staff are attentive and knowledgable. Not cheap (comparable to silmilar luxe inns in NA or Mexico) but excellent value.

Warning re roads - in the dry season be ready for bumpy, dusty roads all over Nicoya. The road up to Chameleon is VERY steep. Bring a 4x4 with good ground clearance if you plan to travel any distance.

Room Tip: Villa Palma has the smallest dipping pool but is the cheapest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaChameleon, Owner's Rep at Casa Chameleon, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Hi Julian
Thank you for sharing your good experience, we're glad you had a fabulous stay at Casa Chameleon!!
Pura vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

my husband and I stayed here for a week in March 2013 for our honeymoon. it was unbelievable!
the food was the best I've ever had - so fresh and tasty. we had three dinners there over our stay, and the other night's we went into town - but no meal in town ever compared to what we had at the hotel. the chef Rob is brilliant.
the staff were all very friendly and looked after us very well. the views are incredible, and it is the place to be for the sunset.
we stayed in both Villa Estrella and Villa Sol. Villa Estrella was incredible - the beautiful infinity pool with the most stunning view. it was so private and luxurious and exactly what we were after.
Villa Sol was great too - great view of the sunset, although it certainly wasn't as private as Estrella. although it was nicer being closer to the restaurant etc.
you will need a car to get around the town - it was a bit further from santa teresa then we realised.
thank you casa chameleon! we'll be back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaChameleon, Owner's Rep at Casa Chameleon, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Hola Meg!
Thanks for the great review!! We're glad you and your husband had such a lovely time at Casa Chameleon, and that you enjoyed the creations of our kitchen staff!! We pride ourselves in using the freshest available ingredients together with our guests individual preferences to create all of our dishes. We will be waiting for your return here in paradise!!
Pura vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

What an amazing hotel with incredible staff! My wife and I stayed 4 nights in the Ultra Villa.

Room:
- incredible views
- huge glass doors which open to the infinity pool
- very clean room
- gorgeous pool
- very comfortable bed

The only down sides we found was that there was no phone in the room therefore if you wanted to room service etc you had to go to reception. Normally I wouldn't mind however you are exactly 134 stairs from the reception area. (This is the only negative thing we could say about the hotel).

Resort:
- staff were always friendly and extremely accommodating to our requests.
- food was just great. Wide variety of choices daily and Chef Rob never dissapointed.

Oscar is by far the nicest and will make sure your trip and drinks are always flowing! His milkshakes are out of this world!

Definitely go visit!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaChameleon, Owner's Rep at Casa Chameleon, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Hi Josh! We're glad you had an "incredible honeymoon experience" at Casa Chameleon!! Our specialty is romance and privacy, and the Ultra Villa is certainly one of our most private villas (which comes with a little price tag of a few extra stairs -we're glad it didn't put a damper on your experience!). Thanks for your kind words to our staff, we'll be sure to let them know!! We hope to see you back at Casa Chameleon!
Pura vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San jose
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

It was an unforgettable experience! We had the pleasure of staying at Villa Estrellla and it was perfect! We were surrounded by nature, had a spectacular ocean view and the private pool was very romantic . The staff was veryfriendly, they went out of their way to help us in whatever we needed. We can't wait togo again soon!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaChameleon, Owner's Rep at Casa Chameleon, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Hi Carolina! Thanks for letting us, and other travelers know about your great experience at Casa Chameleon! We hope to see you guys back around in the near future!!
Pura vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holyoke, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Everything was amazing. Dont hesitate, just book it! Staff was great, we miss Oscar! It was a perfect place for a honeymoon. We stayed in the Ultra Villa, lots of steps to get to the dining area but it was worth it. Monkeys outside our room a couple of times, great view of the ocean, decor was very nice. The matress was heavenly. Food was way better then expected. It was almost too nice :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaChameleon, Owner's Rep at Casa Chameleon, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Hi Jennifer!
We are glad you enjoyed your honeymoon at Casa Chameleon!! Thanks for the lovely review :) We hope to see you and your husband back sometime in the future!
Pura vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

My husband and I stayed here on our honeymoon. The two best things that stand out in my mind were the food/chef and the beatutiful grounds/villas. Everything was so perfect its hard to put it all into words. The villas and their views were absolutely breath taking. We stayed in 2 villas; Ultra and Pichote. I cant even say which was better because both were BEYOND amazing! Every morning waking up felt like a dream. I found myself looking forward to every meal served. The food was so fresh. We chose the catch of the day everyday! After leaving Casa Chameleon I did feel a little depressed...it was THAT amazing!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaChameleon, Owner's Rep at Casa Chameleon, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Hi Stephanie! Thanks for the great review! We're so happy that you enjoyed your time at Casa Chameleon, and that we could help make your honeymoon a trip to remember!
Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Chameleon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Chameleon

Address: Punta Barrigona, Mal Pais, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Mal Pais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mal Pais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Chameleon 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chosen as one of the "Best 101 Hotels in the World" by Conde Nast Publications' Tatler Travel Guide for 2006, Casa Chameleon is a favourite with honeymooners and celebrities to relax and unwind in an enchanted environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Casa Chameleon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Chameleon Mal Pais
Casa Chameleon Costa Rica/Mal Pais

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Chameleon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.