We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful with warm hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Jay Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Blue Jay Lodge to your Saves list
Blue Jay Lodge
800 sur Banco de costa rica Playa Carmen Mal Pais, Mal Pais, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Mal Pais
san diego, ca
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Peaceful with warm hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2009

We stayed at the Blue Jay Lodge for 3 nights last June. It was not a disappointment. It was absolutely magical. Howler monkeys can be heard at night or early in the morning. It rained each day and the sound of the rain in the trees and the smell of the leaves was amazing. Each morning, the owner cooked us a good breakfast of beans and rice or fruit with toast. She was so kind and hospitable. The downside is no air conditioning but you're given a fan. You need to lock up all your valuables in a safe when you're gone. Mal Pais is not for everyone. If you like luxury and fine dining, this is not the place for you. But if you love the beach and don't mind roughing it a little, it's a beautiful location. We would go again. We can stay in a hotel any time. But staying in a tree house in Costa Rica was something we'll always remember.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    20
    3
    5
    1
See reviews for
10
27
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2007

no locks, construction zone, and wanted to charge us 100US/night.
it is also too far from MAl Pais/Santa Teresa intersection. All hotels there are "secluded" enough. Blue Jay was a very very long walk from where the bus drops you off.

Stayed March 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2006

We loved our stay at the Blue Jay Lodge. We looked into some hotels in the area at the last minute and found the price at the Blue Jay totally reasonable. I wouldn't describe it as luxury, but comfortable, clean and basic. Best of all we had three whole walls of screens giving us the feel of trees all around us! It was wild! We noticed five or six bats hanging out in the screen right above our door, a foot above our head. Later, while loading our surfboards on top of our car we discovered a long, thin, brown snake just hanging out on the roof of our car. If you think there is no wildlife around, think again.
I was happy that our neighbors were very considerate after realizing they were talking fairly loud and we could hear every word-another aspect of missing three walls. We stayed for one night and had a nice breakfast of scrambled eggs and beans the next morning. We thought it was a fun, unigue experience.

  • Stayed November 2004
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geneva
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2006

It is nice staying in the open air in the forest like that, and we slept well here as up on a hill gets breezes, and is cool without the drying effect of AC. Did enoy the stay but were glad to move. Also breakfasts are good, but...

1. the resto is very basic - serves just snack food like hamburgers and nachos and same menu for lunch dinner - not really a Fodor's type place at all... you will want to eat out, try Mary's it is awesome!

2. yes it is in the forest but is a very scrappy and dry forest around the huts that has been cut and not very many animals apart from Squirrils and lizards. Huts are close together and overlook other huts and resto.

3. Close to beach is still 10 mins - is NOT right on the beach, but seperated by a horrible dusty dirt road full of traffic day and into the night.

The last two points take away from the forest experience we were expecting.

4. Very noisy and dusty from dirt road - many quads, SUVs and motorbikes. Pool area very dusty and you have to swim with reams of dust wafting across the pool...

5. Walk to get anywhere not really an option - can walk to nice beach but is far if have kids and alot of stuff, 15 mins in plus 30 degrees C heat... Beach not recommended to walk back at night, and horrible dirt road not recommended for walking either - much traffic and dusty... You will need a car to stay here as during busy periods, taxi's won't come as the trip is too short.

6. Not much privacy if other huts close by are occupied.

7. Huts expensive for what they are (80-90 USD)- some are in bad dangerous state of repair (electrics). The steps are very basic and dangerous... Worth 55 - 60 USD IMHO

8. No security as is a simple matter to rip the netting - of course you will keep your valuables in the safe, but still not nice to get broken into as happened to us while we were down the beach.

9. Staff - not overly friendly, but certainly not unfriendly either if you make an effort.

10. Mal Pais is not a very nice place either - not nice for a stroll and the place belongs to quads, dust and surfies. Main reason to go there is the surf.

Summary - if you want a nice place to watch the sunsets, near a nice town, and surrounded by nice jungle and animals, try Ylang Ylang near Motezuma - more expensive though (130-180 USD)...

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2005

We spent three nights at the Blue Jay this past November. I was leaning between giving it a three and four dot review.

First and foremost, realize that this is bungalow living - no a/c, open air bungalows, low light, etc. We were the very top bungalow- so had 100 steps up to our bungalow. We had a great view - could see the ocean and the sunsets. The howler monkeys at night and in the a.m. are amazing.

Pros: you are high up in the jungle so you can see and hear a lot of wildlife. The patio is great. Service was great, bungalows were very clean. The breakfasts were probably my favorite in all of Costa Rica - best pinto gallo. The staff is all very friendly and accommodating, and Bruno the dog rocks. You can walk to the beach right across the street - but it is rocky right here. You're better off taking the road from Frank's Place to the main beach. The little swimming pool is perfect - but you may need to ask to have the lights turned on at night. They can arrange tours for you from here.

I highly recommend the canopy tour at the end of the road in Mal Pais. Marby and John were great.

Cons: a lot of things in our bungalow seemed to need fixing - no lock on bathroom door, our door lock to the bungalow was on the verge of falling out, our vanity area light didn't work at all (we tried to change the bulb - must have been electrical. The light in the shower/toilet area worked), and some bugs did get into the bungalow. Mostly some ants, and they were harmless. But if you are a freaky bug person - realize this is not the place for you. Bring a flashlight because the steps up aren't always well lit. I wouldn't stay here if you were elderly, or had other health problems that would mean you can't get up those stairs.

We didn't address any of our issues with staff - we were just too lazy and "no me importa". I'm sure they would have attended to it if we had.

I will post general Mal Pais and Santa Theresa info the forums, and will add photos when we get them.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2005

As long as you know that this is not a "resort" type place and you have to walk up a hill to get to your bungalow, then you'll be fine. The bungalows are spacious and so clean you could eat off the floor. The wood is polished. There is a ceiling fan and standing fan, a big, spacious deck with 2 hammocks and a beautiful view. The bathrooms are big and clean and there is a separate sink/dressing area for privacy. The bungalow was so nice and comfortable I could have moved in and lived there!

The owners/staff are also so nice and helpful. The restaurant is pleasant and clean but we only ate breakfast there as did most guests. There is also a pretty, secluded pool w/ deck chairs which we frequented a lot and which is a luxury because the ocean is pretty rough and not always swimmable.

I highly recommend the Blue Jay Lodge and cannot wait to go back. Seriously. You will not be disappointed!

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2004

Most of this place's attractions have been commented on but if you plan on staying in Mal Pais...stay here. A great price on and off-season. Great breakfasts in the morning (with excellent coffee). Close to great beaches but still in the jungle.
Forget your alarm clocks folks... the howler monkeys do the job just fine! What a crazy way to wake up. But it is something you have to experience. We stayed at one of the highest ones (top left) and that is where the monkeys would come in the morning. So cool. Staff is extremely accommodating and friendly. Beautiful bird of paradise plants everywhere. You will see hummingbirds, monkeys (howler and cauchuren), red squirrels, iguanas, parrots and oh of course their dog (unfortunately I forgot his name…)
Oh yeah, great surf a few hundred feet away.
The only downfall (although you won’t really find this anyway in Mal Pais) is it isn’t luxurious…but hey how could it be when you are in the middle of the jungle.

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Jay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Jay Lodge

Address: 800 sur Banco de costa rica Playa Carmen Mal Pais, Mal Pais, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Mal Pais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Mal Pais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Blue Jay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Jay Hotel Mal Pais
Blue Jay Lodge Costa Rica/Mal Pais

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Jay Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.