We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Jay Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Blue Jay Lodge to your Saves list
Blue Jay Lodge
800 sur Banco de costa rica Playa Carmen Mal Pais, Mal Pais, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Mal Pais
Cologne, Germany
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We were in Santa Teresa and were looking for a nice and inexpensive lodge. Blue Jay Lodge was perfect. Located in Mal Pais, quiet, huge rooms, clean and cheap. Great value, great price. Breakfast included and perfect: Eggs, Bread, Coffe ... all you need in the morning! We will be back!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    18
    2
    5
    1
See reviews for
9
24
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

We spent Thanksgiving Break here ready for a relaxing vacation. My wife and I are graduate students so needed to stay somewhere within in our budget and Blue Jay Lodge met our budget but didn't feel like a budget hotel. The view from our porch was amazing, especially the sun set.

It's true that you are sharing the jungle with its wildlife, as even with the screen, some bugs and such will get in. We left a peach out the first night and something crept under the porch door to snack on it. From then we left all such food in a cooler we borrowed from the front desk or in the large safe.

Breakfast was simple, but delicious with enough choices and variety to keep us satisfied. The lodge is a walk from most bars and restaurants. Some nights we negotiated a taxi ride home from a bar, but a renting a bike or ATV is another possibility. The owner can help arrange rentals and excursions though it easy enough to do that in town as well.

If I would return, I would take a pair of slippers or sandles to wear in the bungalow as our floor had some kind of red powder/dust that coated socks and bare feet.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the bungalows higher up the hill for the best view of the ocean from your porch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

set in a delightful tropical garden, the blue jay lodge was way better than other hotels we saw in the area. my wife and I and our two young children shared a bungalow for four nights just before Christmas and it was a lovely experience. it had an excellent location just off the beaten track of mal pais and was rustic without being unsophisticated. very mellow and peaceful surroundings with hammocks on the veranda. wonderfully hospitable owner David was always there for questions so thanks for that David and we wish we were still there. although we travelled with our kids, it would have been a very romantic spot as well as each bungalow is quite private. highly recommended

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennewick, Washington, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We got a comfortable bungalow with two Queen sz beds, a big bathroom with hot water and lots of storage space. TV and A/C. Everything was clean and nice, there was a sink outside in the front with a gas kitchen and plates and kitchen supplies included.
There's also a pool and breakfast is included. You will be surrounded by lots of trees, so you get enjoy the birds and TONS of howler monkeys! Pretty cool!
You can walk to Playa Carmen (cross street) and if you don't mind a 10-15 min walk you can also do it to the little town of Malpaís and Santa Teresa Beach.
If you are looking for the basics and having fun in one of the most beautiful places in CR, I totally recommend it!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We enjoyed our stay in this green lodge. Looks like a jungle with iguanas walking aroung, giant spiders and even monkeys once on a roof. We had a bungalow with 2 hammocks outside, warm shower and 3 big beds inside. In a warm amd humid nights I wish wehad A/C. Nice swimming pool! Breakfast was fresh, but not too big cjoice- fruits, eggs or toast. Walking distance to a clean and calm beaches. Easy surfing for begginers and the owner was very friendly and gave us advie how to find best tide-pols.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

This Hotel is located in one of the most beautiful beach area in Costa Rica. The bungalows are located in the middle of a garden which allows you to to some bird watch or MONKEY watch. You don't need any luck they'll be there. You will be near one of the most beautiful breaks in Costa Rica in Santa Teresa so take your surfboard and get stoked with the waves.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Well worth the money, I believe we paid $80 a night? perhaps less?
Includes Breakfast as well. has pool.

Villas were actually pretty big. they are like being in a tree house. The property is surrounded by thick forest with tones of birds. Through out of 3 1/2 week stay in Mal Pais & Santa Teresa we stayed at 7 different hotels. This one by far had the most variety of birds.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Jay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Jay Lodge

Address: 800 sur Banco de costa rica Playa Carmen Mal Pais, Mal Pais, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Mal Pais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Mal Pais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Blue Jay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Jay Hotel Mal Pais
Blue Jay Lodge Costa Rica/Mal Pais

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Jay Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.