We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Jay Lodge

Save Saved
You added Blue Jay Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blue Jay Lodge
800 sur Banco de costa rica Playa Carmen Mal Pais, Mal Pais, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Mal Pais
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Great Value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Well worth the money, I believe we paid $80 a night? perhaps less?
Includes Breakfast as well. has pool.

Villas were actually pretty big. they are like being in a tree house. The property is surrounded by thick forest with tones of birds. Through out of 3 1/2 week stay in Mal Pais & Santa Teresa we stayed at 7 different hotels. This one by far had the most variety of birds.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    18
    2
    5
    1
See reviews for
9
24
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bozeman
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We were planning on staying two nights, but left after only one. For the price of $90, this was not what we expected. The room was entirely screened in, with lots of ways for bugs and other things to find there way in, which they did. The room was very dirty, and the beds in very poor shape, needs major upgrading. Since the room is only screened, the surrrounding noise made for a very sleepless night. People enjoy tearing up and down the dirt road that parallels the beach on their four wheelers at all hours. A near-by party had the music so loud I could feel the bed pulse. If you want a camping experience, then this might be for you - but at a high price.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Post Falls, Idaho
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

This end of the road location might as well be the end of the earth! Facilities are run down and the general condition of the property is a cut below most remote Tico owned facilities in this price range. Condo-type rooms have noisy A/C that didn't quite keep up with the March heat, no trail lighting from rooms to pool and the pool is a long trek from any room. We can not recommend this property to any traveler.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

Blue Jay is a bit run down. These are local owners who don't need much, but provide a very cordial experience. The rooms are $69 including tax and breakfast, which is a great deal for the area. Each is a stand-alone bungalow and any neighbor is at least 15-20 meters away so no shared walls, etc. There are few walls, mostly screens that let in the natural breeze and jungle noise. Yes, you'll hear all kinds of sounds throughout the night, including howler monkeys that can sound like lions sometimes. Each bungalow has a large shower and spacious sink area, but the facets, cabinets, etc. are aging. The shower is big and open air and it is never too cold so it's refreshing and semi-outdoorsy. The beds are kind of small and the mattress springy - you get what you pay for. There were 3 beds in ours, so a family could easily enjoy. We never used the balcony because there wasn't much to see, but there are a few bungalows up in the hill with ocean views and those would be the ones to stay in, and perhaps utilize the hammocks. Beware that you will see bugs and other creatures rooming around the room, it's their turf. There are nice big strong safes in the rooms that you can store valuables in - nice touch. A good value for basic rooms.

The highlights were the breakfasts. I usually got the fruit plate but the eggs, beans and rice were hearty and the coffee very costa rican, so you'll start off on the right foot each and every day. The OJ is of the extra sugar type and the toast is pure white, bummer. We stayed for 4 days and I used the wi-fi each day with great success, super fast and reliable. The location is a bit removed from the nice beaches and you really need transportation. The road is dirt and very dusty so beware. We never sat by the pool, what for? The reason to go there are the beaches and surf. This is not a resort. Stay here if you don't spend much time in the crib and you do what we do - sleep and shower only at a good price. It's basic, but can be worth it only if you can get around i.e. Quads, car, motorcycle, etc.

All in all a good value. You can spend $50-$75 more and get on or near the beach, but then you've got to deal with musty rooms, rooms and pillows if they aren't cared for. In the end, we were happy we stayed here given the alternatives (yes, we had a car).

Room Tip: Call before and ask if you can get a bungalow up high. Otherwise, it is nothing special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

If you are looking for a fancy hotel, this is NOT it! But, if you are looking for an interesting Costa Rican treat, this is it! The huts, basic but clean and authentically charming, are in the middle of the jungle so the sounds of howler monkeys and other wildlife will delight you. We stayed for four nights and enjoyed it immensely. We made good use of the hammocks on our private porch during the day. The breakfast, served in the terrace below, was quite good. The staff is very nice and accommodating. The Bluejay is best enjoyed if you have a vehicle, but you could do this by foot if you are a good walker and don't mind the dusty road. There are wonderful restaurants in Santa Teresa, Carmen, and Mal Pais...which are geographically difficult to distinguish.

Room Tip: All the rooms are located uphill from the reception area, one is at the top of a very steep climb so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

Bit run down, hardly any service, no drinks etc., nice bungalows, big, nice terrace with two hammocks, bit too expensive for a family of 4.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

These Bungalows are pretty cool. They are all on the side of a pretty steep hill and are well set out in a basic, rustic style. The walk up to them can be painful dependent on the evenings activities ;), but is worth it when you get there! There are hammocks on the verandas to enjoy the view and a large safe box to put your valuables in. The breakfast is basic but fine. It is a little out of Mal Pais so probably best for those with transportation.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Jay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Jay Lodge

Address: 800 sur Banco de costa rica Playa Carmen Mal Pais, Mal Pais, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Mal Pais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Mal Pais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Blue Jay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Jay Hotel Mal Pais
Blue Jay Lodge Costa Rica/Mal Pais

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Jay Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.