We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Jay Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Blue Jay Lodge to your Saves list
Blue Jay Lodge
800 sur Banco de costa rica Playa Carmen Mal Pais, Mal Pais, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Mal Pais
Olympia, Washington
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“A wonderful experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

If you are looking for a fancy hotel, this is NOT it! But, if you are looking for an interesting Costa Rican treat, this is it! The huts, basic but clean and authentically charming, are in the middle of the jungle so the sounds of howler monkeys and other wildlife will delight you. We stayed for four nights and enjoyed it immensely. We made good use of the hammocks on our private porch during the day. The breakfast, served in the terrace below, was quite good. The staff is very nice and accommodating. The Bluejay is best enjoyed if you have a vehicle, but you could do this by foot if you are a good walker and don't mind the dusty road. There are wonderful restaurants in Santa Teresa, Carmen, and Mal Pais...which are geographically difficult to distinguish.

Room Tip: All the rooms are located uphill from the reception area, one is at the top of a very steep climb so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    21
    4
    6
    1
See reviews for
10
29
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

Bit run down, hardly any service, no drinks etc., nice bungalows, big, nice terrace with two hammocks, bit too expensive for a family of 4.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

These Bungalows are pretty cool. They are all on the side of a pretty steep hill and are well set out in a basic, rustic style. The walk up to them can be painful dependent on the evenings activities ;), but is worth it when you get there! There are hammocks on the verandas to enjoy the view and a large safe box to put your valuables in. The breakfast is basic but fine. It is a little out of Mal Pais so probably best for those with transportation.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

Clean basic huts located on the side of a hill overlooking the beach. Each has hammocks on a personal balcony and a good basic breakfast. Some of the upper bungalow require a walk up hill as yu would expect but worth it. Wifi is good and the little pool is great for a dip at the end of the day. The owner is friendly Andy helpful with taxi and other info. We enjoyed our stay her for 5 nights. It is a ten minute walk out of town which is worth the taxi ride at night. During the day walk along the beach which is much nicer than the dusty road.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

My husband and I stayed in this hotel for 5 nights in December and loved it. The tree house bungalows are awesome and a great experience. The rooms are nice, spacious, and clean and ours had a balcony with two hammocks and an ocean view (sunsets were amazing to see from here!). The rooms also include a safe that is bolted to the wall. The property is big with lots of animals (monkeys, iguanas, and lizards). The pool is nice and refreshing on a hot day, and breakfast is included and good -- eggs with rice/beans or ham/sausage, juice, coffee and tea. The staff is very friendly and helpful as well - Hilicia was very kind. It can be a bit of a hike to get to the bungalow rooms since they are on a hill; to get to town its about a 20-25 minute walk or a short cab ride; to the beaches it's about a 10 minute walk, but if you enjoy the outdoors and hiking and walking, you will enjoy this type of lodging. It's a little rustic so it's not for everyone but we enjoyed it very much!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Outer Banks, NC, USA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

The bungalows are just as described in other reviews and what we considered to be a Costa Rican experience. Lovely!! We loved the hammocks on the porch and spent the evenings RELAXING and watching birds and iguanas come and go. Our host was absolutely gracious and took us on a short walk over to his nearby house to see a troop of monkeys. They also prepared an early breakfast for us so that we could get to a snorkeling tour in time. The beach is a half minute walk through the jungle. It is rocky directly in front of Blue Jay but only a short distance (several hundred yards) to the location where everyone swims and surfs.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2011

When we got to Costa Rica our intention was to travel around a bit but we started at the Blue Jay Lodge and could never bring ourselves to leave. Our bungalow was the highest at the Blue Jay and we had these unbelievable ocean views from the hammocks on our deck. You could hear and see birds and lizards and monkeys and other animals all around. Best sleep I've gotten in 5 years on this trip.
Breakfast came included every morning, a choice between Tico or Americano, or corn flakes for the timid. A delightful perk that added to the already outstanding value.
The true beauty of the Blue Jay Lodge is in the people who run it. Hilcia, her brother David, and the rest of the staff were always going above to insure we were having a great trip. They connected us with the best local surf instructor, Lolo at Adrenalina, and helped us with whatever else we needed. We went sportfishing with David in his boat and Hilcia cooked up the fish we caught that night for us. It doesn't get any fresher or better.

Room Tip: Ask for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Jay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Jay Lodge

Address: 800 sur Banco de costa rica Playa Carmen Mal Pais, Mal Pais, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Mal Pais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Mal Pais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Blue Jay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Jay Hotel Mal Pais
Blue Jay Lodge Costa Rica/Mal Pais

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Jay Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.