We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Frank's Place

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mal Pais
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Frank's Place
Save
You added Frank's Place to your Saves list
150 meters Playa Carmen | Crossroads Santa Teresa - Mal Pais, Mal Pais 506, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Mal Pais
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I stayed here for 4 nights. It offers decent rooms with airco, an absolute must in Mal Pais. The breakfast is good enough but not special, don't try the restaurant for other purposes than breakfast though, there are plenty of other places nearby. It's hard to believe that this was once the centre of all Mal Pais action. It's location of course never changed, the beach and its waves are very close.
The staff is very friendly and arrange for surfing lessons if you want.

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franks Place H, Director de Recepción at Frank's Place, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Hello Ron,

We appreciate your comments. Hope we can have you back with us on another visit!

Hotel Frank´s Place
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    13
    17
    4
    3
See reviews for
6
15
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arcata, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

We stayed here for 3 days in the economical rooms with shared bathroom. These were clean but faced the parking lot with alot of foot traffic. The pool area and breakfast spot was nice, although the restaurant was only open in the morning. Great location, walking distance to the beach and multiple restaurants and grocery store. More pricey than it should be at 40$ a night for the cheapest rooms.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franks Place H, Director de Recepción at Frank's Place, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thanks for taking us in mind for your stay in Playa Carmen. I am sorry to hear the Shared bathroom rooms weren´t of your liking. I hope you can visit us another time and we can offer you a better room. The good news is that the restaurant would already be open for lunch and dinner as well! Sorry we could not offer that service due to management changes.

Hope to have you guys back!

Hotel Franks Place.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

There is nothing I can say about Frank's place that is exceptional. At the same time, there's nothing I can really say bad about the place. It was basically clean, the hotel has clearly taken some wear and tear, but nothing of obvious neglect. The location is central to everything, coffee ship, sushi restaurant, sports bar, a little on the noisy side, as it's the intersection of the main road into town.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franks Place H, Front Office Manager at Frank's Place, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Hello Jack E,

Hotel Frank´s Place would like to thank you. We take in consideration any concerns or discomfort our visitors have. This low season we have tried our best to work on the Hotel maintenance as best as we can.

We hope to have you around again!

Hotel Frank´s Place Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

I made an online reservation, gave my credit card number, received a confirmation number and a notice that if I did not cancel within the given time frame, my credit card would be charged. Well, I get to the hotel with a print-out of my confirmation and they said they didn't have my reservation. That what I had was only "confirmation of a request" not an actual confirmation of reservation. They did not have any rooms for me and did not even let me use their phone to call around to find something. It was December 31 and everything in town was full because of the holiday. I ended up having to sleep on the beach. I am a 45 year-old woman traveling alone - not the way I wanted to spend New Year's Eve!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franks Place H, Director de Recepción at Frank's Place, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Hello!

We apologize for not being more careful with the reservation! During high season it is very hard sometimes to keep up with so many reservations specially on New Years week. It is not often this happens. We apologize and promise if at any moment you wanted to visit us we would make sure to make it an exellent stay!

Hotel Frank´s Place.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

We stayed at Franks place for a week in April and absolutely loved our trip. The hotel couldn't be in a more central location, its within walking distance to just about everything. The staff were very friendly and accommodating, they made everything so easy and were very helpful when booking tours. The rooms are very large and the hotel had a very relaxing atmosphere. Definitely stay here and enjoy your trip!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franks Place H, Director General at Frank's Place, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Hello!

It feels so great to see how much you enjoyed your stay with us! We appreciate the comments and hope to serve you with even a better stay next time!

Thank you,

Hotel Frank´s Place
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

Seen this hotel on Expedia and Trip Advisor.As We do traveli without having hotel reservations..
We were pleasantly surprised! Spent 2 nights here.
Very clean yet small room. For $75 a night it included a nice breakfast.
Had a private parking area. A great location if you want to walk to the beach.
My only complaint would be the noise in the room as it is located on a busy main corner.
Stayed early March a busy time here??
Yes,it was very safe and I would so stay here again!

Room Tip: Get a room with a refridge! Can buy beers at local store! But don't forget a collapsible cooler!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franks Place H, Director General at Frank's Place, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Hello!

We are happy to hear you enjoyed the hotel and it´s location. It is always great to be close to the beach ! I hope to have you here with us on another time and hopefully we can serve you with a bigger room and away from the noise!

Thank you,

Hotel Frank´s Place
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

Rooms were spacious. Great location. The mixture was families and groups. The hammock on the front balcony was definitely a favorite. Staff was very friendly and accommodating. They offer good recommendations too.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franks Place H, Director General at Frank's Place, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Hello!

We´re happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us! We try our best to satisfy our guest and hopefully also the room they get to spend their vacations in. I hope to have you back for another visit soon!

Thank you!

Hotel Frank´s Place
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mal Pais
1.1 mi away
Hotel Vista de Olas
Hotel Vista de Olas
#2 of 9 in Mal Pais
4.5 of 5 stars 396 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Oasis
Hotel Oasis
#3 of 9 in Mal Pais
5.0 of 5 stars 114 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel The Place
Hotel The Place
#6 of 9 in Mal Pais
4.5 of 5 stars 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Indigo Yoga Surf Resort
Indigo Yoga Surf Resort
#5 of 9 in Mal Pais
4.5 of 5 stars 16 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tico Lindo Hotel
Tico Lindo Hotel
#16 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 stars 18 reviews
0.6 mi away
Blue Jay Lodge
Blue Jay Lodge
#7 of 9 in Mal Pais
4.0 of 5 stars 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frank's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frank's Place

Address: 150 meters Playa Carmen | Crossroads Santa Teresa - Mal Pais, Mal Pais 506, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Mal Pais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Mal Pais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Began in the 90's where a small family business began working with the few tourists who came to the area. It was when surfing started in santa teresa beach . Over the years the number of tourists and nationals began visiting Santa Teresa and Malpais beach , the hotel grew and was still one of the most popular places in the area, which was the benchmark for all tourism that reached the area. The small restaurant and cabins at that time housed about 25 people , led to the residents of the community to see the need to start working with the tourism in this area . From 2000, the growth of tourism grew exorbitantly by the arrival of more tourists. The boom in sales of properties where many foreigners came to be part of the community, building cabins to house tourism . Frank 's Place as well as being a family business was located between the number one place in the area for both its domestic meals, and international. The warmth of the Costa Rican hotel has managed to keep its roots and is still run by its owner and family . After 23 years of progress , you will find Hotel Franks Place located 150 meters from the beautiful beach of Playa Carmen , one of the best places to watch sunsets in Mal Pais, Costa Rica , and next to all services banks, pharmacy, commercial center , car rental , etc. .. This charming and typical place will ensure you to have a pleasant stay for a nice vacation . ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Frank's Place Costa Rica/Mal Pais

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frank's Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.