We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good local food.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Soda Piedra Mar

Soda Piedra Mar
Main Street, Mal Pais, Costa Rica
640-0069
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 15 Restaurants in Mal Pais
Cuisines: Costa Rican
Restaurant details
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good local food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Great local food and good prices! It was nice to get more local style of food and the shakes are awsome!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    9
    0
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mt Eliza, Australia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Local fare worth searching for.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

This mom-and-pop joint is worth finding! Cheap eats and lots of them!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsbruck, Austria
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great local food - fish dishes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

We were looking for the Soda Piedra Mar, which was supposed to be located close to the sea - as it was descriped in our lonly planet book. Its now located hillside with no ocean view and as we arrived there were no guests - just the owners family. We decided to do a trying and ordered cassado pescado. If you wanna have just lunch and great local dishes its worth going there since the portions are big and the fish well prepared. So better arrive ther hungry. Do not hesitate eating there even there is no guest ;-)

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cheap eats”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

Good typical costa rican fare and appropriate prices. I had the beef in sauce casado and the flavor was great. Didn't find the wait to be unreasonable as som e of the other reviewers noted. Although we did have to hunt down our server to get our bill at the end of dinner. Good was solid, price was perfect. Unfortunately we went after dark so we missed the view. Would pass the recommendations long for a good, large portion, cheap meal.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morehead City, North Carolina, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Beautiful View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

The ceviche was wonderful and the view even better!

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Soda Piedra Mar also viewed

Mal Pais, Province of Puntarenas
Mal Pais, Province of Puntarenas
 
Mal Pais, Province of Puntarenas
Mal Pais, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Soda Piedra Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Soda Piedra Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.