We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise with Breathtaking Views!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nido de Aguila

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mal Pais
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nido de Aguila
Save
You added Nido de Aguila to your Saves list
Calle del ICE, Mal Pais 60111, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Mal Pais B&B and Inns
Ocean City, Maryland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Paradise with Breathtaking Views!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

This property is spectacular! The views are breath-taking. The outdoor kitchen/living area and pool are perfect for relaxing after a long day, or just starting your morning with coffee and a book. The property is very clean and private. In the morning and afternoon you will most certainly spot the monkeys in surrounding trees. It's a quick ride to town but I would suggest a 4WD to navigate the driveway. The house is stocked with everything you could possibly need. The sunsets are incredible. The property is perfect for families - we took our three boys and they absolutely loved it - from the pool to the hammocks to the monkeys and birds. We even walked to the beach most days. There is plenty of outdoor space to relax. You will never tire of the views from Nido de Aguila! The outside kitchen is perfect for BBQ, family dinners or gathering with friends. And the caretakers are extremely friendly and helpful. It's a perfect vacation rental for families, couples or large groups!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
saint augustine
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

This was our second visit to Mal Pais so we were familiar with the area. My husband chose Nido de Aguila through VRBO and it turned out to be a true paridise high on the hill. We stayed in Casa Lola and it was even more breatakingly beautiful than the photos can show. Our two sons live to surf and love nature, so they were in heaven cracking coconuts when they weren't surfing or swimming in the pool. The white face monkeys would eat most mornings from the papaya trees on the property. The caretakers were very friendly always making us feel welcome and very accommodatingl. Casa Lola had everything we needed for a comfortable two week stay, the caretakers even did our personal laundry. No need to even lock the doors, safety is not a concern here. We love Mal Pais and Santa Teresa and our stay at Nido de Aguila was such a pleasure. We hope to return someday soon.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
costarican in San José
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

Mal Pais...buffered for many years by unpaved roads, the first settlers to this largerly foreign community were truly pioneers,Today, the world about this quaint, picturesque town nestled in the jungle landscape of the Nicoya Peninsula has spread.Cultures of all over the world have flocked to this special place, giving it an international flavor, the restaurants are no exception. Quality and variety reign when it comes to amenities in the Mal Pais area......an so on....this terrific hotel is a beauty......

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

My husband, our two little boys and I spend a week at Nido de Aguila and we had a fantastic time. The house was the perfect size for a family of four with small children. The accommodations were modern & comfortable, the place was clean and the caretakers were friendly and informative.
The view is amazing. Enjoy a cup of coffee in the morning while you watch the sunrise or a glass of wine in the afternoon as you watch the sunset and you'll feel like you are in paradise.
The view alone is worth the stay. It is BEAUTIFUL!
Nido de Aguila is perfect for little kids as well because of the pool, the trampoline, and the spacious grounds for them to run in. My boys, age 3 and 6, also REALLY enjoyed all the nature around them. Lots of critters to look at. They were constantly amazed by what they saw.
We will definitely choose to stay at Nido de Aguila on our next trip to CR.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2011

You won't be disappointed with the fabulous view and sunsets over the ocean. The open air rancho with hammocks, tables and chairs is perfect for relaxing. And the pool is just steps away. My husband and I spend the month of January there and really loved it. But you probably do need a 4x4 to negotiate the steep road and driveway. Don't let that deter you. Swimming and surfing is just down the road a short way. The hosts were really friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
100 Mile House, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2011

We have been up and down the coast and stayed in many places, Nido de Aquila undoubtably has the best view of the Pacific Ocean we have seen in all of Costa Rica, bar none. This truly amazing property is the ultimate place to relax and enjoy your stay in CR. Beautiful spacious accommodations, inviting pool and an outdoor kitchen and ranchero to die for. The property manager and caretaker are very friendly and attended to all our needs and made us feel at home. Close to the beach, shopping and the best surfing in CR. I would highly recommend Nido de Aquila to anyone, single, couples or families coming to this area in a heartbeat. Pura Vida

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nido de Aguila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nido de Aguila

Address: Calle del ICE, Mal Pais 60111, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Mal Pais
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Mal Pais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Nido de Aguila, in English aerie, are three vacation rental homes in Mal Pais, Costa Rica. The name refers to the prominent location of the houses on top of a hill affording panoramic views of Mal Pais and Santa Teresa, with spectacular sunsets over the ocean.The three houses are spread out on the property and share a swimming pool and large rancho. In front of the rancho is the panorama deck with lounge chairs - a true aerie, as you will see.The rancho is the place for socializing during the day or at night, when you can grill fresh fish or meat on the wood BBQ. There is a wet bar, and a sound system to play your music.At the side of the rancho is the swimming pool with another sun deck and lounge chairs, while children will love to play on the trampolin. El Nido de Aguila is a perfect vacation spot for families with kids, couples, or groups of friends.Casa Lola:Located one story beyond the rancho pavillon, Casa Lola also enjoys panoramic views of Mal Pais from the terrace and all rooms.The apartment is a new, solid building fronted by a covered veranda with table and chairs, a hammock, and lounge chair. From the veranda you enter the kitchen which is fully equipped with large gas stove, fridge, microwave, blender, toaster, and all all kitchen utensils.The two bedrooms are equipped with a king size and a queen size bed and share one bathroom with h/w shower located in the middle of the house.Casa Alfred:Casa Alfred is an apartment on the 2nd floor with a full kitchen in the middle of the screened landing which looks out to the swimming pool, rancho and the coastal scenery of Mal Pais.The kitchen is equipped with a large fridge, gas stove, microwave, toaster, blender and kitchen utensils. One bedroom has a king size bed and the other one is with queen size bed. The bathroom has a hot water shower.Additional bedrooms are available on the first floor: there is one bedroom with a double bed and another bedroom with double bed and contiguous bedroom with single bed, ideal for a family with child. In the middle of the bedrooms is the shared bathroom with hot water shower. Casa Almendro: Casa Almendro is a 2-story house which has a lush jungle at its side, providing great wildlife watching while on the front you have view to the ocean and Mal Pais. On the first floor is a fully equipped kitchen with large gas stove, fridge, blender, toaster, and all kitchen utensils. In front is a terrace with table and chairs, and a few meters further is a private BBQ rancho. The second floor of Casa Almendro contains the master bedroom with queen size bed, fan, table and private bathroom, and another bedroom with 4 bunk beds and bathroom. A wooden veranda runs along the front offering views to the jungle and ocean. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Nido De Aguila Costa Rica/Mal Pais

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nido de Aguila, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.